We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good value....good location.....good choice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Palms Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Palms Inn
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value....good location.....good choice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights for our anniversary in May. Overall, a very good place to stay. Just far enough from the hustle and bustle of Duval St, but still within walking distance to everything. Rooms are clean, well equipped, modern. I have only two complaints....the a/c unit blows directly on the side of the bed from less than 5 ft away....a bit close. Also, the housekeeping staff is way too slow on getting the rooms made up in the morning. We went out one morning and got back just before 3 pm, to find our room still a mess. We came back to take a midday nap and escape the heat of the day, so, needless to say, our room never did get made up. This should honestly be done no later than 2pm in my opinion. The breakfast was so-so.....really nothing special at all. Staff was friendly and helpful....free wifi and easy parking rocks! Will definitely come back and would urge you to stay here as well. Great value, as the nicer hotels in KW go.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Truman King suite.....nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobandamy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear bobandamy57:

On behalf of the staff at the Silver Palms Inn, we'd like to wish you a very Happy Anniversary! We are honored that you chose to stay with us for your special occasion. We are delighted to hear that you will come back to stay with us again. When you plan on making reservations, please don't forget to mention our returning guest promotion for a great discount. It's our way of saying 'thank you' to our repeat guests for their business. Also when you come back to visit, please let the Front Desk know if you would like your room serviced at a specific time so it won't interrupt your day. While it is true that we service the stay over rooms later in the day, we will be more than happy to accommodate you! We will be looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    508
    118
    21
    23
See reviews for
326
735
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CHICAGO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

After searching back and forth for hotels, we chose Silver Palms Inn. I must say it was an excellent choice. The hotel met our expectations. The rooms was spacious, clean, updated and most importantly, air conditioned. We had Wifi in our room which was great.
We requested and received a room off of Truman Ave. We didn't get the king bed as requested but we were fine with that. There was noise at the Inn next door while they were in the pool ...but it was durable and not much to complain about. Slim pickings when it comes to parking so we were happy our hotel offered it.

The location was great. Just a few short walks to Duval.
The hotel offered free continental breakfast that we didn't get a chance to make due to our late night excursions (lol) but Denny's was about 2-3 blocks away so it was no biggie for us.
While walking around we got a chance to see some of the other Inns/hotels that we thought about choosing and I must admit, I'm glad we chose SPI and I would recommend.

The drive down from FLL to the Keys was awesome. Very relaxing drive with no traffic delays. We enjoyed the weather, the sceneary, the food and the atmosphere on Duval street.

Indy1Chicago

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank INDY1Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear INDY1Chicago:

We are so happy to hear that you felt you made an excellent choice by staying at the Silver Palms Inn. We love having such passionate travelers such as yourselves staying with us! We could not agree with you more about the beautiful drive down the Overseas Highway that takes you directly to Key West. It's such a wonderful scenic, serene route loaded with awesome photo ops. We appreciate the future recommendations to your friends and family. Just make sure you head on down too to visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel is about 4yrs. old. The place is very clean and spacious. Pool area was nice but we never had a chance to use it. It is within walking distance of most attractions, if you like to walk. Otherwise, I would suggest a cab to the wharf area. Would recommend to friends if going to Key West.

Room Tip: We were on the street side and didn't have a problem with noise. However, all our friends were o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Cathy2408:

Thank you for the splendid review about your stay with us! We love the fact that we can say that we're Key West's newest hotel with our 3 year anniversary coming up in October. We are delighted to hear that you found so many aspects of your stay to your liking. We will truly appreciate the recommendations to your friends! We just hope that you come back and visit us soon too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katonah, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

it was a very nice clean hotel, staff was very friendly and helpful, cell phone service not great inside the rooms, but there is wifi which works. it was close to everything but was still quiet at night. They cleaned the room at an inconvenient time of the early afternoon. Overall nice, clean, simple, friendly, hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deirdre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Deirdre M:

We are glad that you enjoyed your tropical getaway with us at the Silver Palms Inn! Thank you for sharing your experience. Our guests always appreciate how convenient our location is to all the fun that Key West has to offer. We hope that the next time that you plan on visiting Key West, you'll choose to stay with us again. We'll look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Wifi reception was very poor within the room and was therefor cause of some frustration. The room was not serviced until late in the day even though rooms next door were serviced early in the a.m. Continental breakfast was disappointing. Hard boiled eggs were floating in ice water which made them unedible for me and the pastries appeared stale. Probably would not return to stay at this property.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Joseph K:

Thank you for your candid review about your recent stay with us. It is disappointing to hear that your expectations were not met during your stay here at the Silver Palms Inn. We apologize that the breakfast we offer was not to your liking. However, we do want to note that our pastries are delivered fresh daily from one of the local bakeries right here in Key West. It's our own personal touch that we have for the breakfast. We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. Even though it was mentioned that you will not return to our hotel, we hope you have a wonderful stay wherever you choose to go the next time you visit Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We spent one night in the Palm Springs Inn during a quick visit to Key West arriving very early in the morning. Parking the car at the hotel allowed us to take the short walk into the main tourist area of Key West and the opportunity check into the room later in the day. We had initial concerns regarding the very noisy equipment running in the car park but were reassured this was just a test which would be completed shortly. On returning to the inn later in the evening we had a very comfortable and quite night in a Margaret Queen Junior Suite with Balcony room on the second floor. Although this was probably smaller than expected it was well equipped and clean. Breakfast was basic but adequate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Malcolm S:

We're delighted that you had such a comfortable, quiet stay in one of our Margaret Queen Junior Suites. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope that if you plan on visiting Key West again in the future you'll choose to stay at the Silver Palms Inn. We'd love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We recently visited Key West for the first time. A friend of ours who traveled with us recommended that we stay here because of the location and the kid friendly atmosphere.(Some of the B&B's in the area are against kids) Right from the start we were greeted at the front desk with a smile and a layout of the city. Rooms we beautiful! Very up to date eco-friendly room. (had to stick the key into a slot in the wall for the air and lights to work, nice feature!) Bedding was fresh and clean, mattresses unbelievably comfy! Nice big TV. everything about this hotel We LOVED! Beautiful pool area with lots of loungers a plus! Traveling to Key West you definitely must stay here, you wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Angie G:

We're so happy that you chose the Silver Palms Inn for your accommodations for your first trip to Key West! Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review. It was our pleasure serving you and your family. We hope the kids had a blast at the pool! Please come back to vacation with us soon. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,555 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#7 of 48 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,525 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Marker Waterfront  Resort Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Palms Inn

Property: Silver Palms Inn
Address: 830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040-6426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Palms Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Silver Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Palms Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing