We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern decor, very Euro!”
Review of Silver Palms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silver Palms Inn
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Well located, quiet, tidy and very Euro in taste we loved this place! The interior had been redecorated and the fixtures were modern.
Do ask for a separate room key to use to keep the room electricity on even when the room is not occupied so that the air conditioner continues to cool the room. The pool was clean and inviting as was the small fitness center.
The staff were so very accommodating. They gave directions, offered suggestions, helped print boarding passes and even stored our luggage on the last morning of our stay.
A nice continental breakfast was offered in the front lobby. Coffee, tea, lemonade & ice water was available throughout the day.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VaporK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear VaporK8:

Thank you for your wonderful review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate all of your compliments about the hotel and the decor we have here. We take pride in being one of Key West's newest hotels. The staff also enjoys making every guest's stay a memorable one by being as accommodating as possible. Please feel free to contact us the next time you plan on visiting Key West. We'll be more than happy to accommodate you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,740)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

998 - 1,004 of 1,740 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

Let me start off by saying this is a very new hotel with a great location to everything you need to do in Key West. Its very clean without the typical hotel odors and stains in the room.Modern comfy queen beds and large shower which is important after a long day there. Also very energy efficient from lighting in rooms to airconditioner that automaticly shuts off when balcony door opens. Only bad thing thing about air conditioning is the temp range. It would shut off at 73 but wouldn't come on till it was very warm in the room. The continental breakfast was just OK. I have had better at places half the cost. Overall none of these things are a deal breaker and we did book at peak seasons prices. I would recomend it and stay there again although probably not for that rate.

Room Tip: We had a balcony / pool view which was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Joe S:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Silver Palms Inn. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Being that we are located in Old Town Key West, we find that our prices are competitive with the other establishments in the area. As you had mentioned, it is true that you stayed with us during peak season. Our rates tend to be at their lowest during August and September when the island is a little bit quieter. Perhaps you can come back and visit us again during that time? We'd really like for you to come back and see us. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

DON’T STAY AT THIS HOTEL – unless they guarantee you a room that faces towards the pool (half their rooms) or you can sleep through the sounds of rooster crowing ALL NIGHT LONG! We called over a month ahead to ensure we were getting the room types we needed and to request pool facing rooms; alas we were not given them. I hope for two things on vacation – SLEEP and a decent shower. I got neither at this hotel. The rooms come with foam ear plugs (although they are not even the tapered style that every Home Depot carries), which are not enough to completely muffle the rooster crowing. After only a few hours of sleep the first night, we visited the front desk the first morning, but there was no manager on duty (Christmas Day). Throw in their internet/wi-fi being down for two days, the very low water pressure, with the four nights of disturbed sleep – needless to say we did not have a great stay. And here comes the second reason I would find another place to stay. The Silver Palms Inn is not a chain hotel, and I like to support small, local businesses. In return for my support, I look for small businesses that value their customers and perhaps provide better, more personalized customer service. On that front, the Silver Palms Inn fails miserably. Hotel management appeared unsympathetic to our plight, saying they had not been informed of our complaint (which means their staff doesn’t reliably record information, or that you have to make a big enough “scene” at the front desk for them to do so). Further, the hotel ownership was not prepared to provide any meaningful response, not even to compensate for my additional out-of-pocket expense for two days of wi-fi I had to purchase elsewhere. So, if your going to support a local business, find one that values its customers more.

Room Tip: Don't stay unless they Guarantee you a room facing the pool -- and only then if you can't fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We initially booked 5 nights via Hotwire having read the review on TA, then extended our stay by a further 4 nights directly with the hotel as we liked both the accomodation and Key West so much. Got a good deal of about £575 in total for all 9 nights. Booking direct with the hotel meant not paying the "resort fee" of $15 (not sure what this is for exactly)

It would appear that Silver Palms is a newly refurbished place and was previously called El Rancho (see certificate in the lift) they have done an excellent job. I didn't even bother taking photo's as our room was exactly as per the hotel website.

So whats very good, in my opinion:

Location: prime spot on Truman, easy walking distance from all of old / downtown Key West, we hardly used our jeep and didn't bother hiring bicycles as found it so convenient to get about on our own two legs. We had a room facing the next property and it was quiet most of the time. Other guests in the parking area made some noise at night now and again but the road was not an issue.

Rooms: layout is well thought out giving plenty of space for clothing and bags and for two people. There is additional seating and a small balcony with chairs. They have also separated the toilet and shower from the sink which makes it easier for two of you. All decor is modern, plenty of lighting and there is a TV, safe, fridge and microwave. Free Wifi om rooms. Pool towels provided. Aircon was very cold, I did have to turn it off after an hour or so in the room but my husband thought it good. It was quite loud but it didn't disturb my sleep.

Extras: Free tea, coffee, water and lemonade in lobby (useful when you are around the pool). Laptops for hire.

Service: Room was kept spotless. When we booked the extra 4 nights, the receptionist checked the internet for the best rate. Reception manned at all times with helpful pleasant staff. Pool and pool area kept clean, comfy sun loungers.

What stopped me giving it an "excellent" rating:

Aircraft noise - regular flights from local airport passed over hotel, not big planes but still noisy.
Pool area - very sheltered and becomes very hot, started to be an issue on a couple of afternoons when trying to read!

We had breakfast included. It is self service though there are staff on hand to tidy, replenish etc.. and it was on until quite late. Selection of bread, pastries, cereals, yoghurts and enough to keep you going until lunch.

Very mixed guests, couples, families and groups.

This would definitely be somewhere I would recomend for a mid price range hotel in Key West.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PorkpieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear PorkpieUk:

We're delighted that you chose to extend your Key West Vacation with us at the Silver Palms Inn. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. We truly appreciate the compliment about how accurate our photos on our website are. Photos are a driving factor when it comes to someone choosing a location for their accommodations. Therefore, we know it is a necessity to showcase our property in an honest light. We hope you come back to Key West again soon. We'd love to have you as our guests again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised when arriving; the hotel seemed brand new and is only 1/4 mile from the eating/shopping district on Duval St. Our room was spacious and had a little balcony looking to the street. It got a bit noisy overnight being close to the road, but they provide earplugs in the room so it wasn't really an issue. Everything was extremely clean and the staff were friendly. Breakfast had a good selection of pastries, cereal,and the like so we were satisfied with it as well. The pool area was very nice with some comfortable lounge chairs, but unfortunately they allow smoking so we couldn't enjoy it as much as we would have liked. All considered, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccdugga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear ccdugga:

We're glad you were pleasantly surprised with our spacious accommodations. Thank you for your kind review. We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed about the smoking allowed by the pool. Being that all of our guest rooms including the balconies are non-smoking, we have to have a designated area for our guests who smoke. Given this one issue, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay overall. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Silver Palms on Truman is very modern, with great decor and close to Duval. We stayed on the third floor and we we got back to our room from dinner the sewer was backing up into the drain in the bathroom floor and the sink was not draining. We called the front desk and we were asked if we wanted to use air fresher or change rooms, the night manager did not return with a new room nor was our rate discounted even after we complained once we checked out the next morning. The rates were very expensive and the service was not conducive to what we paid.
It's a beautiful hotel but the language barrier (miminal English) might be a problem.
Roosters start calling at 5am so use the ear plugs provided.

Room Tip: Roosters can be heard from every room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Indy P:

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us on TripAdvisor. We apologize for the inconvenience that you encountered during your stay with us. Upon speaking with the staff, it was noted that we did try to accommodate you by switching you to a different room or cleaning the room that you were in. Both efforts to help rectify the situation were declined. We also offered a discount on an additional night as you had expressed thoughts of extending your stay for an extra day. When you had decided not to stay the additional night, we then also offered you a discount on a future stay . That offer still stands if you plan on visiting Key West again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

If you are headed to Key West and are looking for a solid mid to slighlty upper range hotel, this property is worth considering. Located on the left side of Rt 1. 4 or 5 blocks from Duval Street, it has on site parking which is very nice. Rooms are modern and well furnished; and breakfast is included. Knowledgable and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoamerUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear RoamerUSA:

Thank you for the solid review about your experience at our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the amenities we offer to our guests. We often receive much praise about the convenience of our ample amount of parking. We all know Key West is very limited when it comes to parking. We hope you come back to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
3.6 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#7 of 51 in Key West
213 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#34 of 51 in Key West
2,377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,796 reviews
0.4 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Palms Inn

Address: 830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040-6426
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: $210 - $573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Palms Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silver Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Palms Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing