We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel. Excellent value! Good location clsoe to Duval St. Modern clean spacious updated hotel”
Review of Silver Palms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Palms Inn
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Big , clean, and had updated decor and furniture! Flat screen TV and iHome, free internet. The rooms are also bigger and newer than most Key West locations. Great modern colors in the room. All tile which makes the room cool and comfortable, and make the room look great. Sink area was a little small for my wife, but you know how women take over the whole sink. Within walking distance to Duval Street. Staff was nice and knew a lot about the area. The pool was nice, salt system, eco friendly. Breakfast was OK. Maybe so so, but if you really want a good breakfast, plenty of restaurants in Key West.. Could be a little better. The most important Free parking. Others hotels charge you for parking.
Staff is friendly and courteous. good service, good location, and value! If you do not mind a little walk, 4 or 5 blocks to get to Duval St, I believe you will enjoy this Hotel. You will probably end up renting a scooter anyway so distance really does not matter

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericucho n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear ericucho n:

We at the silver Palms Inn are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. When designing the hotel, we took the guest experience into full consideration. We think everyone was satisfied with the finished product! We hope the next time you visit Key West we'll see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,082 - 1,088 of 1,774 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel is pretty new and has everything we needed. Clean, modern room and bathroom, free intrenet, and breakfast, and a nice pool. Pool is not too big, but has nice chairs and lounges and it did it's job. Hotel is close to Duval street and all the attractions in KW.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimoSparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear SimoSparky:

Thank you for leaving a great review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted you were able to soak up the sun in our cushioned lounge chairs out at the pool. Please feel free to contact us for your return visit to Key West. We will be more than happy to accommodate you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Only stayed for 1 night whilst travelling around Florida, hotel very clean and well presented, rooms excellent but they should be for the price, expensive for what it is.
Excellent location for Duval street whilst being in a quieter area, as with other guests baffled why they take $100 for incidentals as there are none.
Did not like poor plastic cutlery for breakfast.
Would put up with negatives to see the Key West sunset again!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear S G:

On behalf of the Silver Palms Inn, we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay on Tripadvisor. It is disappointing to hear that you felt as though our rates were a bit expensive. Our prices are very competitive with other lodging establishments in the old town area of Key West. We hope you come back to enjoy one of our beautiful sunsets with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Positives: the staff was very pleasant to deal with, bed was very comfortable, room very clean and nicely arranged and hotel is within walking/biking distance to the main attractions
Cons: room was across the street from a laundrymat and was noisy in the early a.m. hours with workers outsidebeing loud. Not helpful after a long night out (not many rooms face this direction so it's a non issue for most). For whatever reason, a rooster must have lived outside as each morning at 6:40 it made a lot of noise. Not the hotel's fault as this is common in KW, but hasn't happened at other properties on previous stays. Last, when renting a bike it took approx 40 mins for bike rep to get there. Seems like for the extra $15 fee on top of room rate, then it should include bikes. waiting 40 mins to rent a bike for $18 is unacceptable.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Greg K:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied overall with the hotel and the staff. However, it is disappointing to hear that certain factors not associated with the hotel affected your stay. We appreciate your feedback and we would like you to know that we spoke to the company who rents the bicycles to ensure a future similar occurrence does not happen again. We hope you do not let the tardiness of the bicycle company reflect on the hotel and that the next time you visit Key West, you might give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Clean, comfortbale, modern hotel within walking distance to Duval Street. Staff was nice and kew a lot about the area. The pool was nice. Breakfast was so-so, but that was ok, that was not why we were there. I had a really hard time getting 3G and WiFi (although free for guests) in my room.We were here for 5 nights- it was a really good value! Looking forward to staying again.

Room Tip: I could hear people walking above our room occasionally. May want to get a room on 3rd floor. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelly1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Nelly1202:

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your five night getaway here with us at the Silver Palms Inn! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. Please don't hesitate to contact us the next time you visit the Island. We'll be more than happy to make your reservations for the room of your choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I consider this a "motel" as the room doors open to the outside. New accomodations w/ plantation shades. Nicely decorated & clean! Thought it was interesting they offered "ear plugs" in a basket with shampoo/conditioner & soap. After 5 nights, I know why! The "fitted bottom sheets" are horrible. So full of pills and very uncomfortable! After the first night, (left a note for housekeeping) to change the bottom sheet, only to find the same sheet on the bed that evening. Went down to the front desk to ask for another sheet so I could change and was given a new set of sheets. Only to find the same issue with the fitted sheet, so I made the bed using both flat sheets. End of pills until the last night when housekeeping changed the bottom sheet. Other issues, although disclosed when checking in, had already booked room through Expedia, so they have you between a rock and a hard place are the excessive fees on top of the nightly rate. $15 +tax per day, also they debit your credit card up-front for $100 for incidentals they say you will receive back if you don't use at check-out. I have stayed at many hotels and have never been charged this fee up-front, only at check-out if used.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaye11D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear Jaye11D:

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated however, it is disappointing to hear that your stay did not fully meet your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies. I am personally addressing the issues you had with the bed linens to prevent a similar future occurrence. As for the the authorization for $100 for incidentals, please understand that this is a hotel policy and many hotels in Key West also have the same policy in effect. We also make it a priority to promptly release the deposit upon checkout. I hope your experience here has not left a bad taste in your mouth about Key West. Please come back to visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. Rooms are superb. Comfy beds, clean and modern decor.
Small pool within hotel grounds again attir is up to date and modern. Hotel staff were alway willing and helpful. Located just off the main strip which was nice. Only a 5 min walk to Duval street and all the attractions. Definitely stay again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rue14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear Rue14:

On behalf of the staff at the Silver Palms Inn, we would like to to thank you for your superb review about your recent stay with us. We are always pleased to hear how satisfied our guests are about our proximity to Duval Street. Being only three blocks away, it is close enough to all the action but still quiet enough to rest and relax. We look forward to seeing you again. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
3.6 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#8 of 51 in Key West
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,831 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#32 of 51 in Key West
2,423 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Palms Inn

Address: 830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040-6426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: $268 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Palms Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silver Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Palms Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing