We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Silver Palms Inn
Nearby Hotels
$338
$306
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$248
$201
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$299
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$286
$269
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$299
$239
The Marker
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$348
$297
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$329
$263
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$188
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Havana Cabana at Key West(Key West)
$242
$161
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Key Cottages(Key West)
$923
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,817)
Filter reviews
1,817 results
Traveler rating
1,014
618
136
24
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,014
618
136
24
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsduval streetcovered parkingcontinental breakfastwithin walking distancetruman avenuepool areasmall balconymodern hotelbagelsthree blocksfew blockshard boiled eggsnice poolon site parkingrooms were very cleanwould definitely stay here againbike rentals
Filter
Updating list...
1,176 - 1,181 of 1,817 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We came down to Key West on the beautiful Ferry from Fort Myers which was GREAT ! We checked into the Silver Palms Inn and were guided to an elevator. When we arrived on the 3rd floor with all our luggage we had to walk about 25 yards through an open space over to our room where we arrived completely soaked from the strong rain. Later we discovered that we were pointed to the wrong direction - an outside elevator would have brought us directly to our half of the 3rd floor.

The room was lovely, the room service was also great. Everything was very well kept and clean.

But the air conditioner could not be regulated. It went by itself to 74, strongly blowing cold air - or had to be turned off which was terrible in this climate. We came home with a cold because the bed is right besides the AC.
The continental breakfast was OK. There was no fresh fruit, cut up, just black, frozen bananas. Lots of sugary pastries, coffee tasted good.

With the threat of an upcoming Tropical Storm (which started Saturday afternoon and did a lot of flooding and took down branches of trees and is still going on for the 3rd day now !) we told the young lady at the desk on Thursday that we needed to shorten our stay one day (staying 4 days instead of 5) and depart on Saturday instead of Sunday. She disappeared into an office telling us that she needed to talk to the General Manager. Then she came back with an attitude to let us know that we should have told her 72 hours ahead and we missed that for 5 hours - $ 231 !! ..... She then said she would get back to us, but never did and as we checked out they did not take off the last day. The "General Manager" never found it necessary to come out of the office.

I will not recommend this hotel to our friends. Several told us they would like to do the same trip - and hopefully not have every day a rainstorm as we did. But nevertheless: Key West is a very interesting and lovely island. We visited many of the sights and enjoyed very much the beautiful plants in the gardens of the lovely historic houses. We walked every day about 3 hours, sometimes in the rain.

Room Tip: if you don't mind the air conditioner blowing with cold air besides your bed the hotel would be good.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2012

Dear Ruth K,

Thank you for your candid review about your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apology that your stay did not exceed your expectations. We strive to ensure that every one of our guests have a wonderful experience and it is disappointing to hear that you were unhappy. We contacted you directly after your stay and we were glad that the outcome of our conversation was pleasing for both parties. We hope that the next time you come to Key West on they Ferry from Fort Myers you might give us another chance to accommodate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Since our Caribbean cruise was beginning and ending in Miami, to which we drove from our home in the Atlanta area, we decided to drive down to Key West for a couple of days after we returned from the cruise. We picked this hotel randomly from the internet prior to our cruise and weren't sure what to expect except what we had seen from the pictures on its website. We wanted something close enough to most of the sights so that we could walk and Silver Palms Inn seemed perfect since it is located on Truman Ave. just a couple of blocks from Duval St. We also wanted something with a king-sized bed, free wi-fi and a free continental breakfast as well. Again, Silver Palms Inn met these requirements.

It was easily located and seemed small and unassuming from Truman Ave. on which it fronts. However, the covered (under the building), free parking is easily accessed from either Truman Ave. or the side street just prior to the front entrance to the hotel. This covered parking was a nice surprise, too! The hotel is rectangular-shaped around and looks down upon a large parking/courtyard area where the adequately-sized swimming pool is located.

Check-in was quick and easy and our room was ready and waiting, even though we had arrived early and were expecting to have to wait. The hotel staff was friendly and courteous. We were directed to an elevator that took us up to our room.

I normally prefer more traditional furnishings, but when we entered our room and saw the modern furnishings and how beautiful, comfortable and clean it was, we were quite pleasantly surprised! There was no carpeting, but laminate flooring. There was a king-sized bed, desk with rolling chair, one easy/arm chair with ottoman, and a large dresser-type piece on which the large flat-screen TV was located. Inside this dresser was a mini-frig, a microwave and a safe as well as a couple of drawers for storage. To the left of the TV was a nook with a floor-length mirror and a closet equipped with an iron and ironing board. Just past that was a door that opened to a small balcony that overlooked the courtyard/parking/pool area. To the right of the TV was another nook with a large inserted cabinet with the sink, sample toiletries, coffee pot and wall-mounted hairdryer. On the shelf under the sink, there were two beach towels to be used at the pool. To the right of the sink was the door to the bathroom with a toilet and large step-in glass shower.

The room was cooled by a thermostat-controlled wall unit located under the large window that also looked down on the pool. It kept the room somewhere between comfortable to cold. We did not think much about it until the middle of the night our first night when we were often wakened by the A/C unit making an awful racket every time it cut on and off. The following morning, my husband complained to the front desk when we went down for breakfast and was told that they would send someone up right away. We finished our breakfast and returned to the room and immediately two men arrived to check it out. They said that it has a loose or broken fan and that it needed to be replaced. This they did rather quickly and courteously and it sounded and felt much better after that.

As for the aforementioned breakfast...it did leave much to be desired. It was adequate, I supposed, but all carbs. So, if you are looking for a low-carb breakfast, this is not the place. Also, the orange juice had an old, sharp, almost fermented taste.

We went out walking around and touring Key West that morning and returned to swim and relax in the pool during the middle, hottest part of the day. Then we returned to the Mallory Square area that evening for the sunset celebration.

All-in-all, we had a very enjoyable, albeit short, stay at the Silver Palms Inn and would stay there again. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fsu78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Dear fsu78:
Thank you for your wonderful review about your recent stay with us. We are truly happy that you chose the Silver Palms Inn for your ‘extended’ vacation after your cruise. We only wish you could have stayed longer! We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My family drove down to Key West for 1 night. I was looking for a place that was within walking distance to Duval Street, free parking, and complimentary breakfast within a reasonable price. I booked the Silver Palms Inn online and was very pleased when we drove into the parking lot. The staff was very friendly upon check-in. Our room for 2 kids and 2 adults was great! It was very clean and the queen beds were very comfortable. We were able to walk to Mallory Square that evening and felt safe walking back at night. The complimentary breakfast was good. High in carbs, but the pastries were delicious! We left our car while we toured Key West that day. We had a great experience...would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asouthcarolinagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Dear asouthcarolinagirl:
Thank you very much for your kind review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad to hear that you were pleased with the amenities our hotel has to offer. Please don’t hesitate to contact us the next time you are in Key West for making reservations. We’d love for you have another great experience at the Silver Palms Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This hotel was extremely clean, that part I was impressed with. It offers continental breakfast which was great as that was one meal we did not have to buy every day. We had four people in our room and it was tight but the main complaint would be the balcony only seats two. Why would you have a room for four and a balcony for two ???? We had to pay extra for a "pool" view which was bogus as the parking lot is around the pool so you mainly see parked cars before you see the pool. Definetly not worth extra money. Employees are not overly friendly at all. The decor is blah...like I said very clean but no decoration around the pool or outside area, just white walls. One morning we went down for tea and coffee (supposed to be available 24 hours) and the tea water was lukewarm so we asked the front desk "kid" to heat it up. I think we woke him up, he actually had a pillow in the back room so he was not pleasant about it at all.....
I would not stay here again tho overall it is not a bad hotel.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for "pool" view....definetly not worth the money.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerRon19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Dear TerRon19:
Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are one of the few hotels on the island to be able to offer a private balcony in each of our guest rooms. It is disappointing to hear that you were unhappy. Regarding the comment about your early morning experience with the staff, I have personally addressed the issue to prevent a future similar occurrence. Please accept our sincere apology. We hope that the next time you are in Key West you will give us another chance to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here for one night as part of our holiday to Florida. The hotel was easy to find using our Sat Nav, and there was ample FREE parking. Check-in was fine, and we were soon allocated our room.

The room was modern, immaculately clean and spacious with a small balcony that overlooked the pool area. If I was to criticise anything in the room, it would be the ‘lotions and potions’ that were provided. In my opinion and for the price of the rooms, I would have liked something a bit better than generic ‘made in China’ soap etc.

The hotel is a short walk to Duval Street where all the action is, there is absolutely no need to use your car if all you plan to do is explore the main sites, shops and restaurants of Key West.

Unfortunately, breakfast was rather disappointing. There was a small buffet consisting mainly of baked goods, cereal and a bit of fruit. The seating area was a bit small and crowed. Rather using proper plates and cutlery, you had to use horrible polystyrene plates and cups, with cheap, bendy plastic cutlery. The breakfast experience reminded me of a cheap chain motel, rather than a property marketing itself as something above that.

Overall, despite the breakfast scenario, the stay was perfectly pleasant, this hotel did have some nice touches such as lemonade and coffee freely available in reception, free car parking and wi-fi, however, this wasn’t a cheap night, and the breakfast did let this place down a bit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DarrenTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Dear djmatthews,

It pleases to hear that your overall stay with us was a memorable one. We are glad that you found our location here in old town Key West easy to find. It's also wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful rooms and decor. As a boutique hotel we are consistently looking at ways to improve our hotel for the future and we appreciate your comments regarding our amenities as well as our delicious continental breakfast. We hope that when you return next time you see the improvements we have made here at the Silver Palms Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews