We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Silver Palms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Palms Inn
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed July 8, 2011

The Silver Palms Inn was a very nice and clean place for us to stay. It was located a few blocks away from Duval St., so it was close enough to all the activities, but also far enough away from the action to give you a quiet night's sleep.

The room was spotless, comfortable and spacious. It felt like a little Caribbean getaway.

The pool was small, but clean, and the loungers were comfortable and clean.

The hotel breakfast was nothing special - mostly pastries, fruits, juices, and cereal - but a nice added bonus.

Overall, a very nice stay for its price point.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teeDoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    936
    580
    128
    22
    23
See reviews for
398
870
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed here over the 4th of July weekend, and when we arrived, after a 4 hour airport delay, and not until 1:30 am, we were greeted warmly, and helped promptly. I cannot say I had any bad experience here. The pool was very nice, our room was very spacious, the beds were comfortable, and the room service was good. Actually, our pillows in the second room were too flat for my preference, but the first room we stayed in they were fluffy and perfect.
Pieter, at the front desk, was super! We ended up staying an additional night at Silver Palms, as he offered us a great deal on a single bed room, if we stayed. We appreciated all their hospitality, but especially Pieter who helped us extend our stay, and took care of us when we checked-out making sure anything he could do to help, we received. Free wireless internet and breakfast were both included, but we didn't have the breakfast. It's only 6:30 am to 9:30 am...it just ended too early for this trip. It's location is several blocks off Duval, but by no means too far when walking! Just a nice way to see things away from Duval, Front St. & Whitehead...we found new restaurants on that side, we've never been to before. Very glad we stayed there this time.

Room Tip: Best rooms have a pool view, not sure the view on the standard room is all that great, but the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardinsburg KY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

First time to stay at the Sliver Palms Inn and was not at all disappointed. Is a long walk to Duval St. but the hotel itself is only about 6 months old and rates are great. i did NOT experience any of the bad review situations on this place, in fact, just the opposite. The staff made every effort to accomodate whatever needs we had from calling taxis to recommending places. A shorter walk would be great to the center hub of things but taxi fare within Old Town KW is so cheap it is worth a few bucks to save the tired legs and feet after an all day walk. Also scooter rentals are only $35 for all day so definitely try this out. The Inn is spacious in room size, we booked a 2 Queen bed room and it was perfect. We only requested maid service for one day in a week stay and housekeeping was worried that we weren't being taken care of. (Now where else would you get that service??) But we just wanted privacy and didn't mind our bed not being made etc. Anytime we needed towels etc. they were more than happy to provide clean ones. The Inn offers a light breakfast of pastries, muffins, juices, coffee, every morning which was nice and filling. You can take to your room or eat at the pool. The ONLY con I would have is that they provide more than one ice machine for each floor which from where we were located was a distance away from the room. Other than that I will stay again when I go back to the Keys. They made our trip great.

Room Tip: If available a pool view is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRobbins57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers
2 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Silver Palms is exactly what you see on their website, beautiful! We stayed 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms are good sized, clean & very comfortable bedding. Our room over looked the pool, which we actually made time to enjoy! My husband & I came to really just relax and enjoy quiet time. Most of the guests that we met at the pool seemed to be doing the same. A few reviews were negative regarding the distance to other areas we just walked to wherever we were going to end up for the evening and called a cab to get back, only $5 bucks at the most, less then most drinks. We have always stayed at another hotel in Key West and will now just use that one as our "backup". Our only complaint was that we left for breakfast early came back to relax by the pool and the maid never came to the room even though she saw us leave when she was outside the room next door. We were able to get clean towel later from another maid. The breakfast was your typical toast, cereal, danish etc. can't comment on quality as we didn't try it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msmayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dade City, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2011

rooms new and very clean, pride of Key West. secure parking for cars and bikes,

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tapwatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

On a family trip to Florida we decided to drive down to Key West one day and drive back the next day, so we stayed at Silver Palms Inn for one night. I booked this hotel thinking that it would be in a great location central to Key West attractions, shopping, and eating. It is in a central location, however, it seemed a bit distant from main places like Mallory Square, the southernmost point, and Duval Street. We walked to all of those places from the hotel so it certainly is possible if you are okay with walking. The hotel also offers free breakfast, free parking, internet, and a pool. Those amenities aren't necessarily found (or aren't free) at many of the other hotels throughout Key West. The rooms at Silver Palms are very nice and very spacious for the price. Everything throughout the property was clean. If I were returning to Key West, I would certainly consider the Silver Palms Inn again. I would have to consider the extra price of amenities if I stayed at another location in the city.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zbidwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Please never stay at this hotel if your looking for a nice relaxing vacation it sucks and the staff is a complete joke, they are rude and charge for a little make up stain on a wash cloth.... Exactly I was my face with it obviously it's going to get make up on it. I will never stay at this hotel again for the simple fact that the manager was never there to speak to and no help was ever offered I felt taken advantage of what a joke... Do yourself a favor and book at anothe place anywhere!!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaykay789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverPalms1, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
It is unfortunate that you were not happy with your stay at the Silver Palms Inn. We are a legitimate top-notch property that offers amazing services to all of our guests. There is a manager available 24/7 to speak with guests about any concerns they may have during their stay at the Silver Palms Inn. The Silver Palms Inn does not capriciously charge guests for little stains on wash clothes.
We are very diligent in making sure all legitimate guest concerns are addressed and resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.6 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.4 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,347 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Palms Inn

Property: Silver Palms Inn
Address: 830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040-6426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Palms Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silver Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Palms Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing