We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Best Mahi Mahi in Key West”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Garbo's Grill

Garbo's Grill
Ranked #3 of 443 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My Best Mahi Mahi in Key West”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Located about 150 yards from the Pier on Green st., not far from our hotel shuttle's DT stop.

Garbo served up the best Mahi Mahi taco's. Nicely seasonned and not overcooked as in other fancy Key West restaurants (read Duval street tourist traps...) with a fresh garnish of red cabbage, mango, cilantro and a spicy mayo.

Perfect even when you're stuck their standing under a small dark green umbrella during a heavy 20minute Key West downpore.

I'll have to go back to try out more of the tasty menu.

Cheers to Garbo's Grill!
Thanks for keepin'it Real.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,670
    446
    123
    38
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best food ever!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a small cart where a husband and wife cook food to order. They catch their fish daily, so it is always fresh. We had the best fish tacos I have ever had. The only thing I did not like was the fact there is very little seating, but that is a small price to pay for such a delicious menu!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lcubbage1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of my favs in Key West!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Eli & Kenna are so friendly and personable and their food is amazing! This trip I had the shrimp tacos which were overflowing with shrimp! Hubby had the mango dog and brother had the fish tacos and brie quesadilla which was to die for! Garbo's never lets us down and is a must visit every time!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank York_PASathrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I love food trucks!!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Young couple celebrating 2 years running this delightful truck. Mahi Mahi taco was fresh, and overflowing with fish. Short ribs taco was lightly spicy and again fresh and filling. People were wonderfully friendly and seems to really enjoy their work. Will be returning again!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tripping58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Clean. Great service. Delicious food. I am tempted to eat there for lunch and supper until our trip is over! Super fresh food from a cart in a parking lot. Highly ironic. :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KristanEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garbo's Grill also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Garbo's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing