We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food & service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garbo's Grill

Garbo's Grill
Ranked #2 of 443 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great food & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Amazing food from a small rig; we loved the fish tacos & Yum Yum shrimp tacos! Plus, the staff were very polite & helpful. They checked on us several times while eating our food. If you go & like pepper sauces, eat across the street at the pepper sauces store. You can eat there & sample their sauces at the sampling bar.
Just keep in mind, they do not have seats & tables, it's just primitive outdoor dining for lunch, very Key West-ish. Although, they do have.................Awesome tacos!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DandyD55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,618
    441
    119
    38
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“How is this place rated #3 on Trip Advisor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Because of the reviews we went here. When we arrived there was a line. I thought this was a good sign but that's what I get for thinking. As we waiting in line in the 90+ degree weather with no cover we smelled sewage (I later found out the cart is next to some type of small sewage treatment facility). Then I made it to the front of the line and ordered from a very nice lady. We paid (food seems expensive for "cart food") and she told us are food would be up shortly. As we waited my wife needed to use the bathroom. They don't have one. So, we get our food and there is no where to sit (enough seating for maybe 10 people). At this point I throw my food in the garbage and go to the restaurant across the street for a fine meal. With all the fine restaurants in Key West there is no need to stand in the heat, in a place with no bathroom, next to a sewage plant, with minimal seating and horrible atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garbosgrill, Owner at Garbo's Grill, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hello Charlie T,


So this will be my third try at writing a response.. For some odd reason this review has stayed with me, and I have found myself having problems to find the proper wayr to respond to it.

The reason I think I am having a problem is that everything you say it true, other than us being next to a sewage treatment facility ( it is a pump station to remove the flood water when it rains to much )

What I don't get is why would you go through the trouble to make yourself unhappy.. And then go off on us for being what we are. I am just plain confused, but oh-weil that is all I have to say about that.

I think there is a certain romanticism of going to a little fish taco stand in the tropics and relaxing under a beautiful Poinciana tree, walking down to the marina and sitting by the water, or going just to the beach and enjoying a fresh Mahi Mahi taco. Life is to short, so take a deep breath and look at the beauty of the simple things.

But as your review, this is only my opinion:-)

Have great travels and we hope you make your way down to the Keys again.

Sincerely

The Pancamo's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stock Island,Fl
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best food in Key West hands down”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

If you want the best Mahi taco or shrimp taco on the planet this quaint little wagon is a must...all fresh ingredients...freshest mahi, fresh cabbage, cilantro, mango, jalapinos, and a super secret sauce...OMG it just made my mouth water and I told my girlfriend we have to go now and get my Garbo's fix....YUM!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ricksuper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We found this place on our walk back to the Hyatt and we were so pleased. They offer about 4 or 5 tacos or burgers all of which were unique and very flavorful. It was good value and a nice change from the restaurant scene.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lovetravelChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique and delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Loved everything! The mahi mahi tacos were a favorite of ours! Write down the address if you are a tourist...it is easy to miss this little food truck with amazing food!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garbo's Grill also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Garbo's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing