We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is the Best!”

Key West Seaplane Adventures
Ranked #11 of 294 Outdoor Activities in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As the only air-service, we are by far the most exciting and convenient way to reach the Dry Tortugas, one of North America's most inaccessible National Parks. The Park lies in the blue-green waters of the Gulf of Mexico, 70 miles due west of Key West, FL. Low altitude sightseeing flight, great snorkeling, pristine beaches, tour Fort Jefferson & bird watching. Morning, Afternoon & full day tours.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
crestview, florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is the Best!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great trip to Dry Tortugas and we would definetly recommend this to everyone! Take the morning flight!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank cj_richards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    662
    34
    3
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Don't be cheap; just do it!”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We have wanted to see the Dry Tortugas for years. We finally made it down to Key West and we had our chance. The problem was I did not want to spend 5 hours on a boat and end up seasick or at least be around people who were seasick. However, we were hesitant to go on the seaplane due to the cost being higher than the boat. Now that the trip is over we are so glad we didn't cheap out and skip the seaplane. It was definitely one of the best adventurers we have ever had which is saying something figuring we typically do 4-5 national park trips each year. We would not hesitate to do it again and truely loved the experience. The plan ride in itself is a lot of fun as we had never been on a seaplane.

My only criticism would be the time on the island is just a little short. You get 2 1/2 hours (we were shorted to 2 hours 20 minutes). I would have loved an extra half hour. To see the fort and do some snorkeling you really have to move to get it done. We spent the first hour checking out the fort, the second hour snorkeling, and the last 20 minutes walking the moat. I would have liked time to check out more of the shoreline but I guess it gives me a reason to go back!

Thanks for a great experience Key West Seaplane Adventures.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WinstonBub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Its a bit expensive to fly out to Ft. Jefferson in the Dry Tortugas, but is is fantastic. The fort is is great shape and there is a lot to see. You can also take a ferry, but it will take all day to get out and back. You also risk being sea sick on a rough day. The flight howerver only takes about 35 minutes each way. The pilot flies at between 500-1000 feet so you get to see a lot from the air. It is quite a different perspective. Our pilot (Gary) did a great job as pilot and tour guide. All of the staff members were very pleasant and helpful. Well worth the money to make this trip!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LBTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus, tx
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Must see.”
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

An impressive historical site to tour, plus awesome snorkeling. Go for the plane ride, not the boat. Plane was quick and easy. We walked on the boat to use their restroom facilities, and it smelled awful... I would have gotten so seasick. The plane is worth the extra money. If you want time for a lot of snorkeling and hanging on the beach, take the full day trip.

Helpful?
Thank jobejoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A definite must!”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

An amazing experience for my husband and I on our 20th anniversary trip to Key West. Service was outstanding. Everyone was very accomodating. Flight and pilot were great and the recorded information and pilot input as to what we were seeing was really nice. It was a once in a lifetime experience. The snorkeling was first rate with beautiful coral and fish. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Key West.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Seaplane Adventures also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Key West Seaplane Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing