We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Dry Tortugas by seaplane absolutely unbeatable!”

Key West Seaplane Adventures
Ranked #13 of 294 Outdoor Activities in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As the only air-service, we are by far the most exciting and convenient way to reach the Dry Tortugas, one of North America's most inaccessible National Parks. The Park lies in the blue-green waters of the Gulf of Mexico, 70 miles due west of Key West, FL. Low altitude sightseeing flight, great snorkeling, pristine beaches, tour Fort Jefferson & bird watching. Morning, Afternoon & full day tours.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Dry Tortugas by seaplane absolutely unbeatable!”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

A flight in by seaplane is the only way to go if you are thinking about visiting the Dry Tortugas. The flight rewards you with a birds-eye view of numerous shipwrecks and islands that you would otherwise not see. We took the first flight of the day to beat the ferry to the island (You can also take the last flight of the day and the ferry will be leaving when you get there). Having the island and its waters to explore without hundreds of other people made it an unforgettable trip. We did the four hour trip and were disappointed we didn't spend the whole day.

The equipment provided was modern and very nice. Drinks and a small personal cooler were provided also.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank WET-WINGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    665
    34
    3
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
230 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“This is the way to Dry Tortuga!”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Be sure to do the 8:30 flight you will be the only ones on the island with the exception of a few campers, it also got us there and back before the afternoon rain. It is so quiet and wonderful, the fort is something to see, we walked along the moat and could see coral and all sorts of tropical fish outside the wall. We also snorkeled with the gear that was included and they included a cooler of drinks for everyone on the flight. The flight was well narrated and we could see so well, including migrating sea turtles, lots of islands and sunken ships. The trip was about 30 min out and it was so cool to land and take off on the water and to see everything. Do not take the boat, Flying is the way to go well worth the cost!!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Gator58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Getting There is Almost Half the Fun”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

While a lot more expensive than the boat, the trip to the Dry Tortugas by seaplane is far more exciting. We had a 12-year old who got to sit in the cockpit with the pilot in one direction. Moreover, the plane flies low enough you can see sea turtles, outlines of sharks and manta rays--not to mention shipwrecks. We did the day trip, which allows lots of time to snorkel on the colorful reef and view the fort, but even a half day would provide a lot of fun. Be sure to add the word Adventures to your keyword search online, otherwise you get another charter outfit that doesn't do the Dry Tortuga trip.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Claire44881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“You should do this if you go to Key West”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

This was the highlight of our trip to Key West and even impressed our teenage son !
The trip in not cheap at $249 per person but you will not be disappointed.
The boat trip is about 3 hours each way as the Dry Tortugas is approx 70 miles from Key West( I think this costs about $150) so it takes a full day. I would recommend going on the 8am flight, it is an early start to get to the airport for 7.30 but well worth it, the early flight ensures that when you arrive at the Dry Tortugas you have the island to yourself as the boat does not arrive until 11am also there is less cloud in the morning so you can see more from the aircraft. The trip is vey well organised, they provided a drinks, snorkel gear and a cooler.
The views from the plane were great as most of the flying was at 300 feet, the landing and overflying on the Dry Tortugas was magical.
The pilot gave us a guided tour of Fort Jefferson and after this we snorkeled in the clear waters around the fort. You can do a full day tour but this is not really necessary as you can see it on the half day tour.
As a bonus I got to sit next to the pilot on the flight back !

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Cropwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The only way to explore Dry Tortugas”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We flew with Key West Seaplane Adventures to Dry Tortugas. We opted for the morning flight and arrived at the island by 8:30 a.m. The flight out was informative and incredibly scenic. We were provided with all our snorkel gear as well as a cooler with ice and drinks.

Flying to Dry Tortugas means you beat the ferry (and about 100 people) out to the island. We explored the fort and snorkeled and then flew back around noon. The trip went smoothly and the pilot was great. Worth every penny!!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank SweetCarolineTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Seaplane Adventures also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Key West Seaplane Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing