We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet Key West Gem”
Welcome to the Seashell Cottage, quiet lane, one block to Duval Street, free onsite parking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the Seashell Cottage, quiet lane, one block to Duval Street, free onsite parking
Enjoy the friendly lane from the front porch swing. Front porch swing and bench, great for coffee or cocktail
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Welcome to the Seashell Cottage, quiet lane, one block to Duval Street, free onsite parking
Enjoy the friendly lane from the front porch swing.
Front porch swing and bench, great for coffee or cocktail
Sundance spa on private back deck with lounge chairs, hammock, dining table, BBQ
Hammock, BBQ, outdoor dining
The white armoire houses a 27' TV and DVD player. Lots of storage with chest of drawers, armoire.
Kitchen with sit-down table opens out to the private back deck with BBQ and additional dining table.
Fully equipped kitchen with full size major and small appliances.
Computer desk/chair, large WiFi TV, Blue Ray DVD player. Local artwork adorns the entire cottage.
LazyBoy recliner and comfy sofa.
Bathroom offers tub and shower and is accessible from kitchen and bathroom as well as back deck.
Bathroom opens to back deck with outdoor shower and sink.
Outside shower and sink, both with hot water - a favorite with our guests.
Relax at the Seashell Cottage
That's me, Carolyn, on Whitmarsh Lane aka Lazy Lane, home of Seashell Cottage
Original painting by McMullen.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Key West, Florida Keys, Florida

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Frank V
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet Key West Gem”
Reviewed February 20, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We decided to get away from mid-Atlantic cold and repair to the Keys for two weeks this winter. We took the ground-floor unit of Poinciana Place and it's been perfect. Bruce, the owner, is friendly, helpful, and thorough in addressing all needs. The bedroom is comfortable, the kitchen efficient and the deck with hot tub marvelously restorative. The patio in back has a fine gas grill, washer and dryer, and two friendly resident cats.

We brought our computers to do some work, and the wifi while not lightning-fast, was perfectly adequate for e-mail and basic web searches.

We got into a pattern of having one meal (L or D) out and one in each day and there are many really good restaurants within easy walking distance.

The last two days of our stay turned cool (it was frigid back home!) but the place is equipeed with a nice space heater that took the chill off and made us comfortable.

This is a great place and we hope to return in the future.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 25, 2015
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay so much at Poinciana Place and have shared your thoughts with this lovely descriptive review.

We'll look forward to your return!

Carolyn Baker
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tearbearc...
Lockport, IL
Level 6 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Once Again!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This was our second 4th of July in the Seashell Cottage (our fourth stay with Lazy Lane), and staying on “The Lane” gets better and better every time!

We arrived to find Cindy working her tail off to get the place ready for us, even though our flight landed before noon! AND IT’S CLEAN!! Now that’s excellent service. It’s great that they are able to accommodate early flights. It’s a wonderful feeling to start your vacation as soon as you land, and not worrying about where your bags are.

You can tell Carolyn really loves this house because of all the wonderful touches she puts into the place. I’m not exaggerating when I say you can stay here for a week and never leave. It’s Key West, so you don’t really want to stay in all the time, but if you feel like lying low for an evening (which we did), this place is perfect. You have a full kitchen with any utensil you could think of and a gas grill right outside your door! One of my favorite amenities that doesn’t really get mentioned is the filtered water pitcher that’s in the fridge. Yes, sometimes you need to drink water in Key West! Don’t get me started on the outdoor shower. I think everyone should have one of these!

The location is what makes it. I never, ever get tired of daily visits from Mr. Gloria, Princess and a couple of new felines in the neighborhood. The employees at the inn across the lane are very friendly, and are great to have morning conversations with. Bruce, who owns Poinciana Place next door (another treasure), is sometimes outside ready to have a great Key West conversation. The locals who live in the area are just the nicest people you could come across. Whenever we go to Key West, we always like to feel that we are part of the life there and not “just” tourists. Staying here makes us feel just that.

I always enjoy making my annual reservations and getting to chat with Carolyn. She is really a sweetheart. People like this are what make Key West visiting again (and again). Thanks again for another memorable vacation. We will see you again soon.

Oh, and when Carolyn suggests making your reservation for next year before you leave…do it! We didn’t, and someone got to it before we did. Good thing there are other Lazy Lane properties to reserve! ;)

Mike & Tara

Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2014
Your love of the Seashell Cottage, Lazy Lane, and Key West is apparent in this glowing review.

It's so satisfying to have guests like you who not only enjoy the ambiance and appreciate finer points of our neighborhood, but also blend right in.

Thank you so much for the exquisite review; and, as always, we will all look forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Carolyn
Cindy
Mr. Gloria, Princess, Ms. Midnight
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schottsea
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Sea Shell Cottage to celebrate our 40th anniversary. It was our first stay at the Sea Shell and we could not have made a better choice. Everything is there that you will need. So private yet so convenient. We are looking forward to a return stay. Carolyn and Wendy were great!

Steve and Carol

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Seashell Cottage and took the time to write such a nice review.

You, two, are 5 star guests, leaving the cottage spotless. We'll so look forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Carolyn and Wendi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jccjets
Jackson, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy Cottage”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed at Seashell Cotage for four years. It is in a very quiet location less than two blocks from Duvall Street. The cottage is extremely well equipped and maintained. It accomodates four persons but is much better for two. A completely private back deck with a hot tub is a great place to spend the day or evening.. The owner and manager are absolutely wonderful to deal with. We highly recommend it as a vacation rental.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 6, 2014
You have been 5 star guests for years and we so appreciate your lovely review.

We hope to see you again!

Warm regards,

Carolyn and Wendi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sippygirl
Ormond Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location-Feel like a local!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
7
people found this review helpful

We have been traveling to Key West 1-2 times a year for about 15 years and have stayed everywhere from the most economical to the high end resorts and will confidently say this was one of the best places we have ever been. What a delight! It exceeded our expectations. Very private and quiet which is hard to find so close to the action. Great private back deck with a grill to cook local seafood and relax in the hot tub while stargazing at the Key West sky. Big master bedroom, nice sized bathroom with unique and private outdoor shower. Great layout. Relax on the front porch swing and you might get a visit from one of the local cats. We recommend this location and cottage without any hesitation to anyone looking for a place that you can unwind, settle in and truly feel like a local.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsey J
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The most amazing honeymoon EVER!!!!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
6
people found this review helpful

First of all, I must say that I never even considered staying in a rental house on a vacation. But I am so glad that I did, because it was absolutely wonderful! My husband and I just got married and decided to honeymoon in Key West, and we are so excited to have found the Seashell Cottage. I almost don't want to write a review because I don't want people to find out just how wonderful it is, we want it all to ourselves lol. But seriously, Carolyn and Wendi did a great job of making sure every last detail was tended to, down to fresh flowers and a congratulatory card on our marriage to welcome us to this paradise. We were blocks away from Duval Street and from a grocery store, so on the nights that we didn't feel like going out, we just grilled on the propane grill that was provided at the cottage. We would relax at night in the hot tub, and were even provided beach towels. The outdoor shower is the greatest thing ever, and came in handy after swimming in the salty ocean. If you are traveling to Key West, you will not be sorry if you decide to stay here, I promise! We are actually planning on returning each year to celebrate our wedding anniversary!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy and exclusivity
Liked least: nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your joy and enthusiasm about your Seashell honeymoon stay.

You were also a delight as guests and Wendi and I will look forward to your return anniversary celebration!

Warm regards,

Carolyn Baker
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcogirlSt...
SE WI
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful paradise!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

After a day of the hustle and bustle of Duval Street, what a wonderful place to come "home" to. It was home, but so much better. Seashell Cottage has everything you need for a comfortable stay. We enjoyed the hot tub almost nightly. We only used the indoor shower once. Why shower indoors when you can shower outside with palm trees overhead? Carolyn and Wendi forgot nothing. The cottage is very well appointed and the bed was like laying on a cloud. We went to Fausto's and bought groceries, wine and beer, so we could have some downtime and just hang out in our little paradise. We grilled steaks and tilapia one night and another night we grilled some cheeseburgers (in paradise). I forgot to bring a book to read, but no worries! There are many to choose from at the cottage. Kitties stopped over to greet us as we rocked on the porch swing. So many nice touches. I would not think of staying anywhere else on future trips to Key West. This is THE BEST!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Seashell Cottage.

All of the things you mentioned are my personal favorites, especially having coffee on the front porch swing and being entertained by the feline residents of the lane.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fun review.

Looking forward to your return!

Carolyn and Wendi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing