We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful paradise!”
5.0 of 5 stars
Sundance spa on private back deck with lounge chairs, hammock, dining table, BBQ
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sundance spa on private back deck with lounge chairs, hammock, dining table, BBQ
Enjoy the friendly lane from the front porch swing. Welcome to the Seashell Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 stars
Excellent
22 reviews
Sundance spa on private back deck with lounge chairs, hammock, dining table, BBQ
Enjoy the friendly lane from the front porch swing.
Welcome to the Seashell Cottage
Comfy recliner chair and sleeper sofa (1 person).  Local artwork throughout the cottage.
Desk in living room with phone, answering machine, DSL connection
Free Wi-Fi and WiFi TV with BluRay player
Sit-down table and breakfast bar, frig has ice-maker, ceramic top stove. French doors to bedroom.
French doors open to private back deck and dining table
Bathroom with tub/shower - 3 doors to bedroom, kitchen, outdoor shower
King Bed, large flat screen TV, and door to the bathroom.
The white armoire houses a 27' TV and DVD player.
Outside shower and sink, both with hot water - a favorite with our guests.
Kitchen opens to deck with BBQ, hammock, dining table, lounge chairs
Relax at the Seashell Cottage
Enjoy a cup of coffee or cocktail on the porch swing; savor the neighborhood offerings.
That's me, Carolyn, on Whitmarsh Lane aka Lazy Lane, home of Seashell Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Key West, Florida Keys, Florida

Reviews from our community

 of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
EcogirlSt...
SE WI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

After a day of the hustle and bustle of Duval Street, what a wonderful place to come "home" to. It was home, but so much better. Seashell Cottage has everything you need for a comfortable stay. We enjoyed the hot tub almost nightly. We only used the indoor shower once. Why shower indoors when you can shower outside with palm trees overhead? Carolyn and Wendi forgot nothing. The cottage is very well appointed and the bed was like laying on a cloud. We went to Fausto's and bought groceries, wine and beer, so we could have some downtime and just hang out in our little paradise. We grilled steaks and tilapia one night and another night we grilled some cheeseburgers (in paradise). I forgot to bring a book to read, but no worries! There are many to choose from at the cottage. Kitties stopped over to greet us as we rocked on the porch swing. So many nice touches. I would not think of staying anywhere else on future trips to Key West. This is THE BEST!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The decor
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Seashell Cottage.

All of the things you mentioned are my personal favorites, especially having coffee on the front porch swing and being entertained by the feline residents of the lane.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fun review.

Looking forward to your return!

Carolyn and Wendi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A TripAdvisor Member
“We miss it already!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This is our third time staying with Lazy Lane Cottages, but our first time in the Seashell Cottage. All I can say is that the pictures on the website are amazing...but they don't do this place justice! It is beautiful! First of all, I love working with Carolyn. She is sweet, and she answers any questions you might have very quickly. That means a lot when you are spending time researching a place to stay. Upon arriving we were lucky enough to meet Wendi, who takes care of the place. You can tell she loves it there, and puts all of her energy into making sure you are comfortable and happy.

You can't beat the location of "The Lane". It's quiet, filled with friendly locals and it is close to all of our favorite places. The cottage is very clean, and it has anything you need to get through a week or even a month! Love that outdoor shower...now that's something you can't get away with living in the cold Midwest! I wish we had more than a week to fully enjoy everything it had to offer. I can go on and on, but the other reviews say it all. The only problem is that it's so popular, you might find it hard to book the week you want. I think that's a good thing!

Renting from Lazy Lane embodies everything we love about Key West, and it breaks my heart to leave every time. The good part is looking forward to the next trip.

Thanks again for a truly memorable vacation (again)!

Mike & Tara

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2013
...and we miss you already!

You have definitely discovered the magic of "the lane" and expressed it so passionately. It is such a unique setting in a special part of Key West. We do our best to exemplify that feeling in the Seashell Cottage and Poinciana Place accommodations. We want our guests to enjoy being here as much as we do!

Wendi and I so appreciate that you have taken the time to write this sweet review and we will look forward to your return.

Carolyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Boyce and Brenda
Georgia
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2013
What a sweet love note regarding the Seashell Cottage and Key West.

Your enthusiasm makes our efforts worthwhile and we always look forward to your return.

Thank you for taking the time to submit this beautifully written and thoughtful review.

Warm regards,

Carolyn and Wendi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
farmersb0...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“1 Month's Stay In Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

This our 2nd visit to Seashell - this time for one month. we found this excellent value Italian Restaurant - Abbondanza on Simonton St- worth a visit.
If you like rum you should try Speakeasy Inn and Rum Bar on Duval St.We went on a couple of sails Schooner America 2 & Party Cat both good value - but totally different

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Quiet location but one block from Duval St
Liked least: Having to go home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2013
Thanks for sharing the tips and your enjoyment of Key West offerings.

Wendi and I will look forward to your return!

Warm regards,

Carolyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Robbiewil...
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A beautiful oasis off of Duval offering everything that you could want.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 for a stay in June 2012

My wife and I have stayed twice at the Seashell Cottage and both times were incredible. It is a wonderfull home away from home that offers you an oasis right in the middle of everything going on in Key West. Although it's only a stone's throw away from Duval, it is like having a peaceful secluded paradise all to yourself. A fully equiped one bedroom home, featuring such novelties as a full deck with bbq, spa, hammock and outdoor shower. The home is immaculate, well furnished and stocked with every possible item you can think of. Although we won't be going this year, we will certainly try and visit "our" little cottage in the near future. Thank you Carolyn and Wendi for ALWAYS taking such great care of us.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The way that it felt like you were at home and the backyard! Heaven!!!!
Liked least: That we had to leave!!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2013
Wendi and I are so pleased that you enjoy and appreciate the amenities and location of the Seashell.

Thank you for being such great guests and taking the time to write this lovely review.

We will look forward to your return!

Warm regards,

Carolyn and Wendi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Green Bay
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 4, 2013
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We enjoyed having you as guests.

Thank you taking such good care of the cottage and for taking the time to write this review!

Warm regards,

Carolyn and Wendi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
PaulShan
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location, close to the action but very quiet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

My husband & I loved this place. Wonderful place to stay. Very close to all the action but very quiet. Great price for everything offered. Very clean & well maintained. The owner & rep Wendi were very helpful with anything we needed or asked. Outdoor shower was great, very private. Never even used the inside shower. The jacuzzi was a great bonus to have.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location, location, location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2012
Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay at the Seashell Cottage and why!

And, we so appreciate that you took good care of the cottage!

Carolyn and Wendi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Enter dates for more accurate prices
Any
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing