We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the sandy and rice and beans”
Review of Sandy's Cafe

Sandy's Cafe
Ranked #26 of 443 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love the sandy and rice and beans”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We discovered Sandy's on our visit last year. There really isn't a lot of seating so we choose to have it delivered. Very sweet delivery person brought our lunch right to to pool of the hotel. The sandy and rice and beans are delicious and the portions are large. My husband and I split a sandy sandwich that comes with French fries and the rice and beans with comes with bread and plantains. Our entire order was $16. And did I say this is all delicious? Really have to try this hidden gem.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    199
    55
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best Cafe con Leche on the island”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This is a great local place that serves their complete menu whenever they are open. Their cafe con leche is without comparison and I made a special trip to get some every day. The Cuban sandwiches and burritos are tasty and large. Bring a friend.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Trippin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Cuban in Key West”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Been coming to Key West for 10 years...I always stop at Sandy's for a Cuban. Can't beat it anywhere!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seward, Nebraska
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The line in front of the shop gives it away...”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

On our way to our lunch spot, we noticed a line of people around this little outdoor joint. Looked interesting, so we looked closer and decided Sandy's Cafe was worth a try. Super glad we did, cuz these were some of the best sandwiches we've ever had! No place to sit, but it was worth it to stand. :) Never had a Cuban sandwich before, and now I'm gonna crave them...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waunakee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cuban sandwich was hastily thrown together”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We've frequented this Cafe for years and enjoyed many of their sandwiches. Today was quite a disappointment. The Cuban sandwich was not well made with the ingredients heaped together in the middle of the Cuban bread. Kim's Kuban sandwiches on Roosevelt is much better. The staff there uses care when assembling the sandwich resulting in a uniform distribution of the ingredients.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherylfarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandy's Cafe also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Sandy's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing