We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“glass bottom kayak tour in Key West” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clearly Unique Charters

Clearly Unique Charters
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We have the only glass bottom Kayaks in Key West. Take a quick boat ride out to the National Wildlife Refuge for a guided tour around and through one of the many untouched mangrove islands. We often see such things as: a variety of birds, sharks, rays, turtles, lobster, crabs etc. Kayaking is followed by snorkeling in either a natural sponge garden, small boat wreck or coral reefs not visited by the larger companies. All ages are welcome. We love what we do and enjoy sharing it with others! *Private charters available.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“glass bottom kayak tour in Key West”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent a week in Key West in May and we spent every day taking in the beauty and interesting attractions Key West had to offer. We loved it all: the charm, the history, the culture, the nature, the food and drink --- but our absolute favorite adventure was our trip with Clearly Unique Charters. The guys running the tour were outstanding. The ride in the Beachcat out to the refuge was amazing and we had such a good time kayaking around and exploring the mangroves. While snorkeling, we saw a sea turtle and a large ray or skate, as well as fish. Great highlight of Key West stay.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank breezygirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    58
    13
    8
    19
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chris and Sam provided a friendly and interesting trip to a beautiful location in a relaxing and safe environment.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We loved that they customized the trip based on weather. The water was glass so they extended the kayaking instead of rushing into snorkeling. We saw sharks, turtles, sting ray, baracuda, crab, and birds from the clear kayaks. They stopped boat on return trip when they spotted dolphins - which swam right up to us. Highly recommend this!

Helpful?
2 Thank hviolette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
158 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

First off wanted to say the crew of the boat was awesome. I don't know if it was due to time of year for the location they took us snorkeling. However much better snorkeling exists in the area. We didn't see much of anything. I've snorkeled the reef here before and enjoyed it much more than this. The clear kayaks are neat though.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ingram75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captmatth, Owner at Clearly Unique Charters, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing Clearly Unique Charters. We're very glad you were happy with our boat, crew and enjoyed using our clear kayaks. Sorry the snorkeling wasn't up to your expectations, however we are a back country kayak eco-tour with snorkeling included. The clear kayaking accounts for 2/3 of the trip (about 1 1/2 hrs) with snorkeling a smaller portion (about 45 mins). We do have a variety locations for snorkeling that include coral heads, patch coral, sponge gardens and a small boat wreck. These sites depend on wind, weather and tides. We choose the best location for the day, where it is calm, peaceful and never crowded.(our less than 20 passengers are the only snorkelers at our locations) No back country kayak eco- tour goes out to the main "reef". It's located in a completely different area. We hope you enjoyed the peace and tranquility of the mangrove island and the wildlife in the water and trees while kayaking and hope you will join us again on your next Key West vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Captain Matt and Sam were wonderful guides. My favorite was kayaking through the mangroves. We saw two sea turtles as well as several kinds of birds and fish.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Raystown33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had a really great time with Captain Matt and Sam. It was an incredibly relaxing experience and the snorkeling and kayaking was a lot of fun. I highly recommend this to anyone in Key West particularly families.

Helpful?
Thank Coolman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clearly Unique Charters also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Clearly Unique Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing