We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came for key west not to hang out in the room.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Key West NAS - Fly Navy
Ranked #49 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

$75 tax free in key west is awesome. Family of 4 opted for the trailer instead of townhouse. $45 extra to spend on dinners or excursions. It is clean and functional. We came to key west for the beauty. Little plans to hang out in the trailer. They do only have white blinds on the windows. (Bring some thumbtacks to put a towel over the window.). FYI the roosters live by the office, you can barely hear them in the trailers! The pool across the street is closed during the week in the winter months but my kids were drooling over it yesterday.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pwife9819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 149 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

I would definitely recommend the town homes at NAS Key West. They have 3 bedrooms and 1 full bath and one 1/2 bath. Plenty of room for everyone to spread out. When you walk in there is a dining area on your right with a table and four chairs. If you turn right into the dining area, you will find the galley style kitchen on your left. It is a good size kitchen.

The kitchen is equipped with a full size oven, full size dishwasher, full size refrigerator with freezer, microwave, coffee maker and toaster. Our unit had six of the following: regular drinking glasses, juice drinking glasses, coffee cups, entree plates, salad plates, bowls, forks, spoons, butter knives and steak knives. There were also two wine glasses, a cutting board, a dish rack (if you prefer hand washing), a large plastic spoon, a large slotted spoon, and a large pancake turner. The freezer includes an ice tray. They leave supplies to make 1 regular and 1 decaf pot of coffee, they leave 2 dishwasher packets, and a bottle of dishwashing soap (if you prefer the hand wash method).

From the front door if you proceed straight ahead through a hallway you will pass the 1/2 bath and end up in the living room, which is equipped with a sofa (that is a queen pull out couch), 3 club chairs, a television, and a writing desk with a chair. And it wraps back around to the kitchen. There is also a door from the living room to a very large screened in porch off the back. The screened in porch has a round patio table and six chairs.

From the front door if you go left you will go upstairs to the three bedrooms and 1 full bath. The bedrooms are nice size with queen size beds, large sliding door closets, a 4 drawer chest and a 2 drawer night stand. One bedroom is a bit larger than the other two and boasts a walk in closet in addition to the sliding door closet.

The overall feel is not luxurious but very well kept traditional military housing with tile floors throughout. There is not a daily made service, but you are allowed to change out your towels and linens.

On Trumbo, you will find a mini mart that is open from 8:00 am to 5:30 (I think) 7 days a week. (These hours are not exact, but the point is that they are only opened a limited time during the day.) You will find short term supplies there if you don't have time to make it to the market when you arrive. There is also a Navy Inn and Suites on Trumbo, that has a small lounge. There is a pool that you can walk to from the town homes. It is only open limited hours and there is a small charge for retirees ($1.00/person). You can also rent bikes at the rental office. There is supposed to be a continental breakfast available at the Navy Inn & Suites located across the street from the townhomes, but there was construction going on in the lounge while we were there so we never used it.

The commissary is on Sigsbee. About a 10 minute drive away. It is open from 8 am - 6 pm. The base exchange is also there and is open from 8 am - 6 pm. The commissary is small but is cheaper than off base groceries. The base exchange is also small. I would definitely recommend trying to find whatever you need at the commissary and exchange before buying the same items at an off base store. You can rent a boat at the marina but you will need to pass a test in order to do so. Be aware that there are only a limited number of boats available.

In addition to the commissary and base exchange, Sigsbee has a marina, ITT, a campground, and a playground. ITT is great and tickets are cheaper than you will find anywhere else, so I would definitely recommend ITT. Beware: it is closed Sunday and Monday. So if you are coming in on a Saturday, try to get there before they close (which I think is 5:00 or 6:00).

Laundry facilities: Unfortunately your townhome will not have a washer/dryer. In the information book in your room, you will be directed to coin laundry facilities available at the campground on Sigsbee. Be aware that the Navy Inn & Suites on Trumbo offers two laundry facilities with free washer and dryers.

We really enjoyed the town homes. Our kids loved having the room to run around and play. Having the extra 1/2 bath was also handy. The first night we were there we walked from our townhome down to town, along the harbor walk to Duval and back (we had our two little ones in strollers). You can also bike there as well. It was wonderful because you didn't have to worry about finding and paying for parking. There are two garages on Grinnell ($2/hour or $13 for 24 hours for one or $10 for 24 hours for the other.) There is a very small parking lot by Turtle Kraals and it was $2/hour and you prepay for the time using a machine that takes credit cards. If in doubt, I recommend trying to walk wherever you can.

We did drive over to Fort Zachary Taylor State Park because it seemed too far to walk. There is lots of parking on the park grounds. You pay to get in whether you walk or drive into the park. It is within walking distance to the Coast Guard Cutter Ingham and Trumbo Annex Navy Base. If you don't want to pay for the park, you can go to the Trumbo Annex Navy Base and park there for free and use the beach there.

The base is a great location and you cannot beat the price! We had a wonderful time and loved the location, the size of the rental, and all the amenities. I definitely recommend this place!! And I would definitely go there again!

Room Tip: We stayed in 1407 and it was right next to the entrance of the base.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank NiceFLTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

You cannot beat this deal on the island. We walked everywhere. The staff made sure we had everything we needed. The wife liked having two bathrooms. The full kitchen was a plus. We cannot wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tpreinert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Our suite was huge and beautiful, the view was wonderful, the staff were great!...the location was fabulous and it's obviously the safest place to stay in key West ! Great stay.... great price! Loved it!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeeandLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We spent a few days here while in Key West. The mobile homes have 2 bedrooms and 1 bathroom with a combination kitchen, dining room, & living room. The place has towels, linen, and kitchen utensils and appliances. The mobile homes are clean and air conditioned with parking in front. The office is within walking distance and very close. There is no WIFI but the office has a computer for guests to use. There is a convenience store, swimming pool, and self service laundromat with washers and dryers. The place is very close to town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank globeseeker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The bad news first - you can't stay here unless you have some association with the government - military, government employee, etc. The walls are thin and the bathroom is pretty small. You'll also want to put a towel at the foot of the BR door to block the hall light (these look like rooms that were converted into a suite from 2 smaller rooms so you have 1 entry but 2 doors to the hall). There's no pool or gym in the building. Also, you're not in the heart of Duvall.

Now the good news - the price is a pretty sweet deal and the location isn't all that bad. You're about 1 1/2 miles from Duvall and that's pretty good. The location (minus the aforementioned thin walls) is relatively quiet too so you should be able to get a good night's sleep. There's a bar downstairs, an outdoor pool up the street and a mini-mart just past the parking lot (closes early though). The USCG station on the base supposedly has a gym but I never went there to check. The suites have a separate family room but, depending on your room style, there isn't a door separating the two so you really can't lounge in there while someone sleeps in the adjacent BR while you watch TV or whatever without there being noise/light/etc.

Room Tip: Check both online and via phone for rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was great. Super clean, very spacious, beds are so comfy. Staff nice. Its a great price and a great place to stay. I'm very picky when it comes to hotels, and this one I highly recommend. Duval street is about a mile away from the base.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank clovev06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
2.1 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
2,376 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Key West Waterfront
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#35 of 51 in Key West
2,355 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Weatherstation Inn
The Weatherstation Inn
#50 of 77 in Key West
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West NAS - Fly Navy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West NAS - Fly Navy

Address: Palm Ave. Bldg. C2076, Key West, FL 33040-9001
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Key West Nas - Fly Navy Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing