We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The staff of life” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Town Bakery

Old Town Bakery
Ranked #2 of 32 Dessert in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: All baked goods, soups, sandwiches are made from scratch on premises. We are take out only, we have no seats. Artisan breads, fresh croissants, danish, etc. WE DO NOT HAVE A SEATING AREA. All roasted meats for sandwiches and all soups are made in house. No seats (alright, we have a little bench outside BUT THAT IS IT!!) Real home cooking and baking. This bakery is takeout only. There is no seating area in this restaurant. We do have cheeses from all around the world but we don't have seats.
WPB, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The staff of life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

No trip to Key West for us is complete without at least one stop by Old Town Bakery. More if we can squeeze it in.

Fresh baguettes and pastries daily, plus daily bread specials, and sandwiches to die for, the French Dip is a particular favourite. This past visit we tried the curried chicken salad sandwich and oatmeal raisin cookies, neither of which disappointed.

If you're planning a picnic, they also have a great selection of cheeses and so many more wonderful treats.

Well worth a visit the enjoy the visual treat, but they do offer delivery with any purchase over $8.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank adoola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    800
    251
    54
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corning, New York
1 review
“delicious find!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

who'd a thunk-it,... a down home feel as soon as you walk in, greeted as if you'd been there for years, warm and comfortable with delicious aromas permeating your senses,... we loved this place as soon as we walked in 4 days prior to turkey day!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Khris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Such delicious food no joke!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

The girls who work there are so friendly and know so much about the island and let me tell you the chocolate and the duck sandwich are to die for!!!! Really amazing place, every time I head to key west I need to stop in and see Agnes and Jess and then you'll definitely want to go back to OTB

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Xcountrytravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Bakery was a little stale”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Not what we expected based on the reviews. We bought three bakery items and all seemed as if they'd been sitting out for a bit. Iced coffee drink wasnt all that great either. We'll try other places before we come back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank laweber28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall B, Owner at Old Town Bakery, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Glad you came in! Everything in our shop is fresh every day at 7am. That's a rule here. We don't sell day old product ever. Sorry you thought the things you tried weren't fresh. They were. Sorry you rated our shop as 'average'. Actually I'm sorry you rated every place you reviewed in Key West but one as 'average'. By all means you should try other places, there are some really great bakeries in Key West. I hope your stay in Key West gets better. It would be a shame if after all you went through to get here, you ended up with an 'average' vacation. Come back and see us some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Morning Stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Everything in the Old Town Bakery is fresh and tasty. Highly recommend it for early morning pastry run.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Town Bakery also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Old Town Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing