We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Condo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1800 Atlantic Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Toledo, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awesome Condo”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed in Unit A109, from 9/18-9/22, which was not the unit we rented. Upon arrival we were told we were being moved to a different unit, which alarmed me at first, but once we were in the unit, I couldn't have been happier with it, as it was much nicer than the unit I had expected! The condo was beautifully decorated, and exceeded our expectations. Every thing we needed was there including several beach towels (a couple days worth, and then some)! We were a little leary due to the construction that was going on, but actually only heard it one morning. I have stayed here previously, and once again, everything about our stay was perfect! We traveled with our good friends who have never been to Key West before. She owns a cleaning company, so I was worried that it wouldn't meet her high standards, but she had no complaints other than one ceiling fan needed dusting. She liked it so much that she told me when she returns to KW, this is where she wants to stay next time, which surprised me since there are sooo many choices for lodging. She loved everything about it! We had a great time here, an especially enjoyed the balconies and pool area. Also, the location is away from the craziness of Duval street, so it's nice to have some peace and quiet when you return back to your room. Security is really on the ball here as well, making sure no one is disturbed by loud guests. I love being able to walk to the beaches also.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darkkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    42
    27
    13
    11
See reviews for
67
26
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Catasauqua, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

From reading reviews, we were aware of the construction. It was mainly on the west side of the complex during the hours of 8am to approximately 4:30pm. It didn't really bother us. During the day we were out and about either in Old Town or on the beach. We returned to the pool area in the afternoon, and it was somewhat loud at times, but we were having too much fun to notice. The pool is very nice, clean, and sizeable. We enjoyed the extra large hot tub, too. The restrooms by the pool featured a shower and sauna. Our unit 417 was modern, clean, with a roomy balcony patio with a view of the ocean and the pool/gardens. The kitchen was recently remodeled and had all the amenities. The floor plan was spacious with an open concept.
The only hiccup in our stay was when workmen showed up one morning at our unit to finish trim work on our balcony sliding doors. We should had been notified when we checked in that they would be entering our unit. However, they were friendly and efficient, but we should have been notified since we were getting ourselves ready to go to the beach. Smathers Beach is very close; a 5-minute walk, and a very nice beach with access to kayaks, sailboats, etc. We also walked to Old Town (about 2.5 miles). The Overseas Heritage Trail runs right by 1800. It's very easy to rent bikes & scooters. We used WECycle.

Room Tip: 3rd & 4th Floors are the best for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieDeb50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-RAT1, Manager at 1800 Atlantic Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review of our property. Sorry to hear that you were disrupted during your stay. The communication with the construction work could be improved and we were not notified that they needed to enter your unit, we would most definitely have contacted you.
Glad you had a great time in Key West. We are very much looking forward to the end of this project.
Please try us again.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Well to start...nowhere on booking.com did it mention anything about the construction. Once booked the confirmation email stated the construction and the mess that the property had going on. But by then already charged and no way out of the deal as it states if canceling within 30 days deposit is lost. So I wasn't going to lose over 500 to cancel so we went through with it. When we arrived we expected the worse with the construction but it turned out not too bad, at the end of the day we were off the property while the work was going on so no big deal. The property itself was pretty nice with construction going on and all, great view of the fireworks for the fourth. The apartment has huge potential but an overall disappointment. The c327 we stayed in has a great layout but outdated design, has all the great amenities but not appetizing because of the cleanliness...or lack there of from the coffee maker, microwave all the additional kitchen "gear" was awesome to have available but not appetizing to use because overall dirty. The same goes for the rest of the apartment. Enormous jacuzzi but needs to be redone! I mean to go on vacation and have to use shower shoes to bathe because of the mold on all the jets, and around the sealant not what you call a great inviting stay. This place needs what we call in the military a "field day" and cleaned from top to bottom, excess dust and dirt all over the place really takes away of the great opportunity for a great vacation getaway...I could go on but enough said, ohh and please inform your prospective guests that they are required to clean the sheets before they depart and do the dishes and that there is no house keeping services for the duration of your stay....I mean I'm on vacation I fix my bed everyday at home, looking for a break while I'm away, didn't happen...I'm not mad at the management or the owners for their business I just wish I was informed at what I was getting into, would rather have paid 100 bucks a night for a smaller but cleaner and more vacationer friendly hotel...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bsuarez1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-RAT1, Manager at 1800 Atlantic Suites, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We are sorry you had these issues with our property. I wish we had known of this situation when you were here so we could have rectified it.
Booking.com have been fully informed regarding the construction and it listed on their site, however I have asked them several times to make it more visible.
Please try us again. I will give you a discount and free upgrade to compensate you for the problems you had with housekeeping. I am passing this on to our Housekeeping Manager so she can address this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our stay at 1800 was enhanced by excellent service from the staff -- including a visit after hours to help fix an internet issue when we arrived. We were forewarned about the construction, but since our stay only included one real construction day (and we were gone most of it) it wasn't an issue. Someone there Mon-Friday and wanting to use the pool etc might have problem with the jack-hammering. Grounds were also a bit torn up. That said, our unit, 238, was just what we were looking for. Though the decor is a bit dated (think early 1980s) it was clean and comfortable, with a large and very well equipped kitchen. Both BR faced the sea, which was a plus. The Master Bath in this unit is a bit odd -- with a tiled jacuzzi/shower (not sure it works) that was literally 10' x 10', but worked fine. 1800 is close to some beaches, but not close to the downtown area, so be forewarned you'll need to drive there. (or bike). We'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Be sure to be on ocean view side, or in building that faces the park. Use birds eye view from googl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-RAT1, Manager at 1800 Atlantic Suites, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We are glad you had a good time in Key West and enjoyed your unit at 1800 Atlantic.
Glad the construction was not too disruptive for your stay. We will be extremely glad when it is completed. At this time July 5th they are completed in the C building.

Hope you do choose to stay with us again. Please call us directly and mention that you took the time to post a review after your last stay. We do have quite a few units that the Owners have totally re-done and I would love for you to see them.

Regards

The Management of All Florida Keys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This property is in an excellent location, just yards from Smathers Beach and right down the street from White Street Pier, the dog park, childrens' park and Higgs Beach. We found it fairly convenient for the purpose of our visit, the 37th Annual Swim Around Key West (6/6-12/13).
I will concede that the property was under massive construction, but the management did not do us right by explaining (nor discounting) the extent of the work and its effect on our stay. Our unit (238) was not very clean with several broken floor tiles and other basic repairs needed... and in great need of updating. The balcony was awesome with a good view of both the pool and the gulf, but that was overshadowed by all of the work going on. Security was excellent and access to Atlantic Ave was good. If you are going to entertain this property, I recommend getting a detailed description of the work versus the location of your rental as well as any photos of the inside of the unit you are looking at.
We will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the gulf side that open to the pool are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasonparkhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-RAT1, Manager at 1800 Atlantic Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I checked your records for the time you were here. We actually gave you the non-ocean-view rate of $265 per night instead of $315 per night plus tax and then an additional night free. So you did actually receive a $515 discount off our normal rates due to the Construction.

It is a very frustrating time during the weekdays with the work going on as we do not have control over what work they do on what day. Our web-site and our staff have made every attempt to clearly notified all of our guests, given discounts and stressed that it is a good idea to do activities out in Town or on the water during the weekdays. Our confirmation have a big notice right on them also.

We are on the Atlantic side of the Island and the unit you had has a fantastic view of the Atlantic.

This project will be finished by the beginning of November so people will not have an issue with it after this time. The last 2 months of September and October will be taking care of the Walkways in the B building so will not have such an effect on the rest of the Property.

We are sorry you will not be staying with us again.

The Management of All Florida Keys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

First, the good things. Very large pool, plenty of chairs, several grills near gazebo which we used to make lunch, large hot tub, extended hours to use the pool, wandering iguanas,Unit A103 (which was clean, spacious, very near the pool, and everything worked fine), and security constantly keeping an eye on things.

The bad thing was mainly the construction. We were fully informed that it was ongoing, so no surprises there. In fact, since the unit we were originally scheduled to rent was late in being renovated, so they moved us to the more spacious unit near the pool. We could tolerate the noise and jackhammers, since we live in a newly constructed house with units being built around us, so we felt right at home. The construction crews, however, don't feel obligated to meet any schedule, so they were late in completing the unit we were originally scheduled to be in. Then, imagine our surprise when we came back from a boat trip later in the week and found scaffolding all around our unit and workers standing on the balcony (this was supposed to occur the following week). Apparently, the crews do not abide by the schedules they make with the building manager each week. We made the best of it, and management was sympathetic and helpful, but you might wish to postpone your visit until after construction is done (supposedly November, but who knows).

Room Tip: Depending on construction, top floors have best view of the ocean. A103 close to pool, but only a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAXGUY_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.8 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#35 of 51 in Key West
2,314 reviews
2.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1800 Atlantic Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1800 Atlantic Suites

Property: 1800 Atlantic Suites
Address: 1800 Atlantic Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-5388
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1800 Atlantic Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Mid-rise Condominium Resort with tasteful furnishings, popular amenities; situated adjacent to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your 1800 Atlantic Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1800 Atlantic Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing