We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thought resort got a distant relatives retirement home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1800 Atlantic Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Well to start...nowhere on booking.com did it mention anything about the construction. Once booked the confirmation email stated the construction and the mess that the property had going on. But by then already charged and no way out of the deal as it states if canceling within 30 days deposit is lost. So I wasn't going to lose over 500 to cancel so we went through with it. When we arrived we expected the worse with the construction but it turned out not too bad, at the end of the day we were off the property while the work was going on so no big deal. The property itself was pretty nice with construction going on and all, great view of the fireworks for the fourth. The apartment has huge potential but an overall disappointment. The c327 we stayed in has a great layout but outdated design, has all the great amenities but not appetizing because of the cleanliness...or lack there of from the coffee maker, microwave all the additional kitchen "gear" was awesome to have available but not appetizing to use because overall dirty. The same goes for the rest of the apartment. Enormous jacuzzi but needs to be redone! I mean to go on vacation and have to use shower shoes to bathe because of the mold on all the jets, and around the sealant not what you call a great inviting stay. This place needs what we call in the military a "field day" and cleaned from top to bottom, excess dust and dirt all over the place really takes away of the great opportunity for a great vacation getaway...I could go on but enough said, ohh and please inform your prospective guests that they are required to clean the sheets before they depart and do the dishes and that there is no house keeping services for the duration of your stay....I mean I'm on vacation I fix my bed everyday at home, looking for a break while I'm away, didn't happen...I'm not mad at the management or the owners for their business I just wish I was informed at what I was getting into, would rather have paid 100 bucks a night for a smaller but cleaner and more vacationer friendly hotel...

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bsuarez1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-RAT1, Manager at 1800 Atlantic Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

We are sorry you had these issues with our property. I wish we had known of this situation when you were here so we could have rectified it.
Booking.com have been fully informed regarding the construction and it listed on their site, however I have asked them several times to make it more visible.
Please try us again. I will give you a discount and free upgrade to compensate you for the problems you had with housekeeping. I am passing this on to our Housekeeping Manager so she can address this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for 1800 Atlantic Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 147 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Shana C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
J-RAT1, Manager at 1800 Atlantic Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our stay at 1800 was enhanced by excellent service from the staff -- including a visit after hours to help fix an internet issue when we arrived. We were forewarned about the construction, but since our stay only included one real construction day (and we were gone most of it) it wasn't an issue. Someone there Mon-Friday and wanting to use the pool etc might have problem with the jack-hammering. Grounds were also a bit torn up. That said, our unit, 238, was just what we were looking for. Though the decor is a bit dated (think early 1980s) it was clean and comfortable, with a large and very well equipped kitchen. Both BR faced the sea, which was a plus. The Master Bath in this unit is a bit odd -- with a tiled jacuzzi/shower (not sure it works) that was literally 10' x 10', but worked fine. 1800 is close to some beaches, but not close to the downtown area, so be forewarned you'll need to drive there. (or bike). We'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Be sure to be on ocean view side, or in building that faces the park. Use birds eye view from googl...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kalpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-RAT1, Manager at 1800 Atlantic Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

We are glad you had a good time in Key West and enjoyed your unit at 1800 Atlantic.
Glad the construction was not too disruptive for your stay. We will be extremely glad when it is completed. At this time July 5th they are completed in the C building.

Hope you do choose to stay with us again. Please call us directly and mention that you took the time to post a review after your last stay. We do have quite a few units that the Owners have totally re-done and I would love for you to see them.

Regards

The Management of All Florida Keys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This property is in an excellent location, just yards from Smathers Beach and right down the street from White Street Pier, the dog park, childrens' park and Higgs Beach. We found it fairly convenient for the purpose of our visit, the 37th Annual Swim Around Key West (6/6-12/13).
I will concede that the property was under massive construction, but the management did not do us right by explaining (nor discounting) the extent of the work and its effect on our stay. Our unit (238) was not very clean with several broken floor tiles and other basic repairs needed... and in great need of updating. The balcony was awesome with a good view of both the pool and the gulf, but that was overshadowed by all of the work going on. Security was excellent and access to Atlantic Ave was good. If you are going to entertain this property, I recommend getting a detailed description of the work versus the location of your rental as well as any photos of the inside of the unit you are looking at.
We will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the gulf side that open to the pool are nicer.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasonparkhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-RAT1, Manager at 1800 Atlantic Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I checked your records for the time you were here. We actually gave you the non-ocean-view rate of $265 per night instead of $315 per night plus tax and then an additional night free. So you did actually receive a $515 discount off our normal rates due to the Construction.

It is a very frustrating time during the weekdays with the work going on as we do not have control over what work they do on what day. Our web-site and our staff have made every attempt to clearly notified all of our guests, given discounts and stressed that it is a good idea to do activities out in Town or on the water during the weekdays. Our confirmation have a big notice right on them also.

We are on the Atlantic side of the Island and the unit you had has a fantastic view of the Atlantic.

This project will be finished by the beginning of November so people will not have an issue with it after this time. The last 2 months of September and October will be taking care of the Walkways in the B building so will not have such an effect on the rest of the Property.

We are sorry you will not be staying with us again.

The Management of All Florida Keys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

First, the good things. Very large pool, plenty of chairs, several grills near gazebo which we used to make lunch, large hot tub, extended hours to use the pool, wandering iguanas,Unit A103 (which was clean, spacious, very near the pool, and everything worked fine), and security constantly keeping an eye on things.

The bad thing was mainly the construction. We were fully informed that it was ongoing, so no surprises there. In fact, since the unit we were originally scheduled to rent was late in being renovated, so they moved us to the more spacious unit near the pool. We could tolerate the noise and jackhammers, since we live in a newly constructed house with units being built around us, so we felt right at home. The construction crews, however, don't feel obligated to meet any schedule, so they were late in completing the unit we were originally scheduled to be in. Then, imagine our surprise when we came back from a boat trip later in the week and found scaffolding all around our unit and workers standing on the balcony (this was supposed to occur the following week). Apparently, the crews do not abide by the schedules they make with the building manager each week. We made the best of it, and management was sympathetic and helpful, but you might wish to postpone your visit until after construction is done (supposedly November, but who knows).

Room Tip: Depending on construction, top floors have best view of the ocean. A103 close to pool, but only a g...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAXGUY_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Since we were going to be traveling to the keys with another couple, we were hoping to find a place with 2 rooms that was within our price range. We searched for weeks, and finally ended up with an awesome hotwire deal, which landed us at 1800 Atlantic. After reading the reviews, I was a little nervous, but I was just happy we would have 2 rooms and a full kitchen.

We were very pleasantly surprised when we opened the door to our condo! Perhaps there are some units that aren't so up-do-date, but this one was great! The 2bed/2bath set up was perfect for our situation as we were able to put our 3 year old down for naps without having to inconvenience anyone.

We loved having a full kitchen as well, and saved a lot of money by making our own meals. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything we needed to cook our meals, though we could have used a few more knives for prep. Steak knives aren't the most versatile... But we made do. We even cooked up some fish the men caught on our last night there!

The living room was nice and spacious, and featured a couch bed and a flat screen TV with digital cable (the master suite also had a flat screen). We had a nice big dining table that seated 6 comfortably.

One of the complaints I did have was that the king bed in the master suite was a little worse for wear, as were the linens. A little investment on the owners part there could go a long way. Our traveling companions pushed the twin beds together in the other room, and had no complaints that I know of.

The master suite was very large, with an updated bathroom with a separate shower and jacuzzi. The seal on the tub had a pretty slow leak, and I had to add some water every 5 minutes or so. The bathroom door was also coming off it's hinges. I was sure to make note of it in the guest book, though I'm sure the owners are aware of this? Anyway, these were very minor things that didn't interrupt our stay much. These are privately owned condos after all, and not a hotel. If we were staying in a hotel, my expectations and standards would have been much higher.

We had to do the routine clean up as we were leaving, but with 4 adults working on it, it took us less than a half hour to get everything going.

The grounds were also very nice. We played in the nice big, clean pool every day. Sometimes we were the only ones there! There was also a hot tub and sauna, but us ladies are with child, so we passed this time but it looked very nice.

Smathers Beach was just a two minute walk from the grounds. There were times when it smelled pretty terrible. Those traveling to the keys should know that this isn't the big wave, white sand beach. But it was still fun to be by the sea, and we enjoyed the beach under a shady palm tree.

Oh, also important to note, there were no instructions for how to connect to any kind of wi-fi, even though it was advertised that we would have access. This was slightly annoying, as the property manager struggled to find a solution for us, trying to get us to hop onto other connections of nearby units he managed. This was a slight problem as I am a graphic designer and do a lot of work on the go, and need internet.

Overall, for less than $200 a night for a 2 bed, 2 bath condo with a full kitchen, we were more than happy to overlook the little setbacks we experienced. I would definitely stay here again. We could have easily fit 3 or 4 more people comfortably in there. If you are looking for a fancier place where you have your linens changed and fresh towels every day, go to a hotel. But this was totally our style, and an awesome deal to boot.

Room Tip: I believe if you aren't satisfied with your unit, they will help you find another one. They are...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liliribs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1800keysgirl, Manager at 1800 Atlantic Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us at 1800 Atlantic.
We will certainly look at the linen situation and post instructions on how to get on line in that unit.

Regards

The Management of All Florida Keys
305-294-8877

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed from May 3 to 10th at 1800 Atlantic, in Unit 432C -- 4th floor, quite close to the ocean. The condo itself was pretty nice, tho some updating would be helpful -- bathrooms, some appliances. But the ongoing construction really took away from our trip -- jackhammer noise at 8 a.m., workmen all over the place, and scaffolding, blowing dust, front end loaders driving around, and all sorts of construction noise from 8 - 5 Monday thru Friday. Other than that, it was great! Wait until the work is completely done (the rental agency doesn't really tell you the truth about it . . .) then go. Personally, I don't think any units should be rented until the work is done. It's way behind schedule (what a surprise) so my view is that it probably won't be really done until January 2014. I'd wait til then if you get any hint that it might still be going on. The condo owners will suffer, yes, but the rental agency isn't very ethical, so don't believe them.

Room Tip: Choose a condo as close to the ocean as you can -- the view is great especially from the large decks...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MfromCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1800keysgirl, General Manager at 1800 Atlantic Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

We are sorry that you had this experience. We have done the absolute best we can to keep our guests informed of the Construction Schedule which is behind but will be done by November 2013. You called me last week and asked for an additional 10% discount under the circumstances. I gave this to you with no hesitation. When you booked you were informed that there would be construction and advised of the hours of the work. You chose to book regardless.
We are updated every Friday as to what work will be done the following week. You were arriving that day so we did not have a chance to let you know at that time.
We hope you enjoyed Key West and had a chance to get out and explore our beautiful Island.

Regards

The Management of All Florida Keys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.9 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#35 of 51 in Key West
2,350 reviews
2.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#44 of 51 in Key West
2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1800 Atlantic Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1800 Atlantic Suites

Address: 1800 Atlantic Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-5388
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Key West
Price Range: $240 - $528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 1800 Atlantic Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Mid-rise Condominium Resort with tasteful furnishings, popular amenities; situated adjacent to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your 1800 Atlantic Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1800 Atlantic Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing