We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious and great deal for the price!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1800 Atlantic Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1800 Atlantic Suites
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Spacious and great deal for the price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Since we were going to be traveling to the keys with another couple, we were hoping to find a place with 2 rooms that was within our price range. We searched for weeks, and finally ended up with an awesome hotwire deal, which landed us at 1800 Atlantic. After reading the reviews, I was a little nervous, but I was just happy we would have 2 rooms and a full kitchen.

We were very pleasantly surprised when we opened the door to our condo! Perhaps there are some units that aren't so up-do-date, but this one was great! The 2bed/2bath set up was perfect for our situation as we were able to put our 3 year old down for naps without having to inconvenience anyone.

We loved having a full kitchen as well, and saved a lot of money by making our own meals. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything we needed to cook our meals, though we could have used a few more knives for prep. Steak knives aren't the most versatile... But we made do. We even cooked up some fish the men caught on our last night there!

The living room was nice and spacious, and featured a couch bed and a flat screen TV with digital cable (the master suite also had a flat screen). We had a nice big dining table that seated 6 comfortably.

One of the complaints I did have was that the king bed in the master suite was a little worse for wear, as were the linens. A little investment on the owners part there could go a long way. Our traveling companions pushed the twin beds together in the other room, and had no complaints that I know of.

The master suite was very large, with an updated bathroom with a separate shower and jacuzzi. The seal on the tub had a pretty slow leak, and I had to add some water every 5 minutes or so. The bathroom door was also coming off it's hinges. I was sure to make note of it in the guest book, though I'm sure the owners are aware of this? Anyway, these were very minor things that didn't interrupt our stay much. These are privately owned condos after all, and not a hotel. If we were staying in a hotel, my expectations and standards would have been much higher.

We had to do the routine clean up as we were leaving, but with 4 adults working on it, it took us less than a half hour to get everything going.

The grounds were also very nice. We played in the nice big, clean pool every day. Sometimes we were the only ones there! There was also a hot tub and sauna, but us ladies are with child, so we passed this time but it looked very nice.

Smathers Beach was just a two minute walk from the grounds. There were times when it smelled pretty terrible. Those traveling to the keys should know that this isn't the big wave, white sand beach. But it was still fun to be by the sea, and we enjoyed the beach under a shady palm tree.

Oh, also important to note, there were no instructions for how to connect to any kind of wi-fi, even though it was advertised that we would have access. This was slightly annoying, as the property manager struggled to find a solution for us, trying to get us to hop onto other connections of nearby units he managed. This was a slight problem as I am a graphic designer and do a lot of work on the go, and need internet.

Overall, for less than $200 a night for a 2 bed, 2 bath condo with a full kitchen, we were more than happy to overlook the little setbacks we experienced. I would definitely stay here again. We could have easily fit 3 or 4 more people comfortably in there. If you are looking for a fancier place where you have your linens changed and fresh towels every day, go to a hotel. But this was totally our style, and an awesome deal to boot.

Room Tip: I believe if you aren't satisfied with your unit, they will help you find another one. They are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liliribs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1800keysgirl, Manager at 1800 Atlantic Suites, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us at 1800 Atlantic.
We will certainly look at the linen situation and post instructions on how to get on line in that unit.

Regards

The Management of All Florida Keys
305-294-8877
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    42
    26
    12
    10
See reviews for
64
23
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed from May 3 to 10th at 1800 Atlantic, in Unit 432C -- 4th floor, quite close to the ocean. The condo itself was pretty nice, tho some updating would be helpful -- bathrooms, some appliances. But the ongoing construction really took away from our trip -- jackhammer noise at 8 a.m., workmen all over the place, and scaffolding, blowing dust, front end loaders driving around, and all sorts of construction noise from 8 - 5 Monday thru Friday. Other than that, it was great! Wait until the work is completely done (the rental agency doesn't really tell you the truth about it . . .) then go. Personally, I don't think any units should be rented until the work is done. It's way behind schedule (what a surprise) so my view is that it probably won't be really done until January 2014. I'd wait til then if you get any hint that it might still be going on. The condo owners will suffer, yes, but the rental agency isn't very ethical, so don't believe them.

Room Tip: Choose a condo as close to the ocean as you can -- the view is great especially from the large decks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MfromCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1800keysgirl, General Manager at 1800 Atlantic Suites, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We are sorry that you had this experience. We have done the absolute best we can to keep our guests informed of the Construction Schedule which is behind but will be done by November 2013. You called me last week and asked for an additional 10% discount under the circumstances. I gave this to you with no hesitation. When you booked you were informed that there would be construction and advised of the hours of the work. You chose to book regardless.
We are updated every Friday as to what work will be done the following week. You were arriving that day so we did not have a chance to let you know at that time.
We hope you enjoyed Key West and had a chance to get out and explore our beautiful Island.

Regards

The Management of All Florida Keys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Do not stay here. The agent said there was construction, but a more accurate description would be demolition. Jackhammer running all day long. It was so noisy the office offered free ear plugs!!!
The office also told me we were the last rentals before a total remodel.The agent neglected to tell me that. The unit was dirty and the bathroom smelled of urine. Did I mention the Jackhammer all day!!

Find another place as Key West was enjoyable.

Paul Schoenle
South Bend, IN

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank n62ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Finding a 4 day rental for 5 people in March in Key West is not easy, so our choices were very limited. I worked with Truman Property Management, and they advised me that the property we were leasing was undergoing outside maintenance. What they didn't tell me was that the unit we were leasing needed considerable interior maintenance. The property had much to recommend (location, spacious interior rooms and exterior balcony, beautiful grounds and well maintained pool area) but it appeared that the unit we were in had not been updated in years. The carpets and the upholstered furniture were stained and torn. The decor was ghastly. Closet doors were falling up the tracks. I suppose for $200/night for 5 people, you get what you pay for, and I expect that it was clean (the bedding, towels, tile floors), but it was difficult to look past all that given the overall poor condition of the unit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maizymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1800keysgirl, Manager at 1800 Atlantic Suites, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
This is not a unit that we manage or are responsible for.
Please try 1800 Atlantic again, there are many lovely units there.

Manager of All Florida Keys Property Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed at this complex in unit C424 this past weekend for the first time. The location of the condo is great - a quick 5 minute drive or scooter ride to downtown key west. Also located directly next door to Smathers Beach. The grounds are very nicely landscaped and we enjoyed using the heated pool and hot tub. Having a secured parking spot which was accessed by a key card was also very nice.

They are doing construction on the outside of the buildings now (which we knew about) The problem of C424 was the cleanliness. This unit looks like it hasn't been cleaned thoroughly in a long time. Both bathrooms were dirty and moldy. The bedrooms were very dusty and you could obviously tell that the cleaning crew does not do a good job. Upon arrival, we found finger nail clippings on one of the bedroom dressers - pretty gross! I'm not sure when and if the bed linens were washed prior to us arriving, but they had a foul smell to them in both bedrooms.

Besides the cleanliness, the unit was good and I would stay again if a cleaning crew goes in there and spends an entire day bleaching everything and doing a deep cleaning of the floors, walls, blinds, etc.

Room Tip: Wait until the construction is done - getting a 8am wake up call to jackhammers is not very pleasant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank tph24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1800keysgirl, Manager at 1800 Atlantic Suites, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
This is concerning and I am sorry you had this experience. The Owners pay a lot of money for Housekeeping and has we known that you were not satisfied we would have absolutely have had the Cleaning crew come and address the issue. We strive to achive higher standards than this. This particular unit has been totally renovated and is one that people request often. Please do not hesitate to contact me when you come again and I would be happy to give you a substantial discount based on availability of course.

Regards

Julia Besson
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed in Unit 428 at 1800 Atlantic Blvd. The grounds of the condominium were beautiful with lots of palm trees and pretty flowers. The pool was huge, crystal blue and the temperature was perfect. The hot tub was quite large too and quite hot! 1800 Atlantic Blvd is a nice property right on the ocean, tucked away in a quiet area away from the busy Duval Street party atmosphere. We liked that! The unit itself was spacious, comfy and nicely decorated, altho the kitchen could use a facelift. It was stocked with all the utensils you would want or need. The unit has a washer & dryer, which was a plus too. The balcony is quite large and offers lovely views of the ocean, the pool and the gardens. We enjoyed our stay there. The only downside was that the condo property is under construction (apparently for the next year - balconies & railings) and the noise from 8AM to 5PM (Mon - Fri) was sometimes deafening and quite annoying. To avoid that we took long walks all around the island (which is 4 miles X 2 miles) during the day. We saw lots of great sights on our walks and enjoyed the shopping and eating along Duval Street. If it wasn't for the construction noise, it would have been a perfect week.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank reynoldszoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
170 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We arrived at noon and was able to check in early, such a pleasure since we did not have a car. It would be nice if when you book your room they would send you the keys since the management company is not near the complex. We had room C339 on the east side. The rooms were very large and comfy, 2 bedrooms and 2 full size baths.The king bed could use some support, sagged in the middle. A deck that wrapped from the living area to the bedrooms was nice. The balcony doors were rusty and didn't close very well, everything else from towels, soap etc. was great. The rooms are decorated in your light colored beachy decor. The only negative I have is that the room is located on the street side. During bike weekend you have bikes, trucks, cars and people screaming from 9pm till 3am. Once I finally fell asleep a dog started barking at 5am till 7am. A cab ride to Mallory square is around $20 bucks. If your active and like to walk it's a beautiful walk. The hotel is next to Smathers Beach and that also is a nice walk. So if you want to be next to all the action and Duval Street this place is not close.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side tend to be very noisy with cars, trucks and motorcycles
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank franci329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#31 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
2.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1800 Atlantic Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1800 Atlantic Suites

Property: 1800 Atlantic Suites
Address: 1800 Atlantic Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-5388
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1800 Atlantic Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Mid-rise Condominium Resort with tasteful furnishings, popular amenities; situated adjacent to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your 1800 Atlantic Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1800 Atlantic Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing