We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveler rating
60
48
28
13
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
48
28
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboth bedroomssmathers beachliving roomhot tubthe security guardpool areabarbecue areagreat pool and spatennis courtswasher and dryershort cabduval streetnice condolarge poolpatio doorsa great ocean viewparking garage
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 160 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We were two couples traveling together and thought it would be great to share a place.
This condo unit needs refurbishment (#111). The bed in the master bedroom is falling apart. Getting the drawers open is an adventure. The master bath has a HUGE dated discolored sunken bathtub which doesn't drain properly.The carpets are tacky. It probably was clean but somehow didn't feel it. Everything is past its shelf life. It has a garden view which is okay. The balcony was a good place to spend time and the kitchen is useable. The washer/dryer was nice to have - on the downside we were told we would be penalized if we didn't wash our own sheets and towels (lol).
The facility is okay - the pool is nice (heated), and the ocean is always good.
Its a bit of a hike to where you want to be on Key West. I'd go for something more central if possible. We enjoyed Key West but could have had a better time if we'd stayed in a better unit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-RAT1, General Manager at 1800 Atlantic Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Sorry to hear you had this experience. All the units are individually owned although we have standards that we require each unit to meet. An uncomfortable bed is not acceptable.

We wish you had contacted us while you were here. We would most definitely been able to re-locate you to another unit in the complex.

If you come to Key West again please call us directly and we will make sure to give you a free upgrade and a newly renovated unit.

Warm Regards Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Was subjected to paint fumes, paint and concrete dust, being secluded to one end of the pool area, limited use of the pool during work hours due to dust and paint fumes, no use of the hot tub from Monday through Thursday, Only thing we were told when we checked in at their off-site third party management company was that the hot tub would be shut down for maintenance starting Monday - but they didn't know for how long. Being boat race week we felt we had no other options but to grin and bear it as Key West was filled to capacity. Tried to follow-up afterwards to seek compensation for deplorable conditions with both the management company AARP/Expedia with no response (Expediate stated they will respond within 24 hours on their website )from either until I followed-up again; and then was basically treated like a piece of dirt. Will never use Expedia or stay at 1800 Atlantic again.

Room Tip: While a unique apartment it was in dire need of a a face lift. For instance, kitchen cabinets were disintegrating and falling off the walls and large hot tub was inoperable.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fredned1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-RAT1, General Manager at 1800 Atlantic Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Let me first say that We do not like to have unhappy customers. We strive to ensure that all our guests are happy. However this guest did not contact us once while he was here. We did not hear a word from him until 2 weeks after he left and he demanded a full refund. At this point we had already paid the Owner of this unit for his stay. I did offer him a discount or upgrade on a future stay.

This is a residential Condominium Complex and maintenenace has to be done. We informed all of our guests ahead of time and discounted accordingly. Some weeks were worse than others. We gave free nights, we upgraded people, we let people cancel with no penalty.
I would like to assure all of our future guests that this construction was completed in Nov 2011.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Our family stayed in unit #206 over the Christmas holiday and had a perfectly nice stay. The building itself isn't terribly remarkable at first sight, but it's clean and well kept and the residents we encountered were lovely and very friendly. I can't speak for other units, but ours was neat, clean and tidy - even if the decor was circa 1980. I won't say it was a fabulous retreat, but it was perfectly suitable for our holiday.

Things we liked:
--The views from our condo
--The pool area is nice, though tends to get crowded in the afternoon.
--The tennis area is nice and well kept.
--The location was fairly central and easy to navigate from.

Things we didn't like:
--The beds were uncomfortable. Really uncomfortable.
--The decor and furniture was outdated. The unit has a lot of potential if it were updated.

Overall, the apartment had everything we needed - but I think we may look to a more full-service option (i.e., resort or hotel) for the entire family our next vacation.

Room Tip: Unit #206 was clean and tidy, even if the decor was outdated. The rental process was easy and straightforward and the owners were friendly.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WallStreet10005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I traveled with a party of 6 and we had booked a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom condo designed to sleep 6 (2 in the master bedroom which had a king sized bed, 2 in the two twin beds in another bedroom, and 2 in a sleep sofa in the living room). The matress on the twin bed was wrapped in plastic and was very noisy to sleep on. It was like sleeping on a giant diaper. As a light sleeper, I woke up constantly due to the noise and then the ceiling between the living room and bedroom are open so there is no privacy. The fold out sleeper sofa was a so old that the springs were coming through the matress. By the end of the trip, people were sleeping in lawn chairs. Many of the reviews said that the complex and the units were outdated which was definately my experience. The ocean view and the hot tub were the only redeeming qualities.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Unhappy_camper55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-RAT1, General Manager at 1800 Atlantic Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Sorry you had this experience. Did you call us while you were here? I do not recall hearing from you.

If you are not happy and have valid complaints we will do everything within our power to satisfy you. If you wait until you get home to complain it has not given us the opportunity to try and make you more comfortable.

If the decor is outdated that is up to our individual Owners but we want to ensure that all the units are fully equipped, confortable and most importantly clean.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

The outside of the building is not attractive, nor is the faded carpet in the hallways. Don't lose hope, though, it gets better. The landscaping is beautiful and well-maintained, even in the parking area. There is a wonderful 25-yard (or meter?) heated pool overlooking the ocean and a large jacuzzi. The beach area is narrow and has some broken glass, so don't expect to play on it, but it's still pretty. Behind the pool are a couple of attractive shelters with lots of picnic tables. There is also an unmanned lending library in a small building in the lush garden area with lots of books.

Our apartment was spacious and, although there were lingering aspects of the 1980's (mirrored walls, the kitchen, vertical blinds), it had been somewhat updated in good taste. The master bedroom had a wonderful bathroom with a jacuzzi and a large walk-in shower. There was also a big balcony that went past the living room and both bedrooms. Everything looked clean, but judging from how fast our bare feet got dirty, the floor could have been mopped better.

We went over Christmas break, so it was a little pricey, but just about everything else was even more expensive.

Pros: Beautiful grounds, pool, jacuzzi, great view, quiet and family-friendly, spacious, great balcony.
Cons: Exterior of building, hallways, location is a little far from the action (but within biking distance), uncomfortable sofa-bed mattress.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room overlooking the water.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-RAT1, General Manager at 1800 Atlantic Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our property. We are glad you had a good time and hope you choose to return one day.

Warm Wishes

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews