We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“true love!”
Review of Cuban Coffee Queen

Cuban Coffee Queen
Ranked #8 of 447 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $7
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Description: We serve up delicious Cuban coffee, breakfast, and lunch fare to a large following of fans here in Key West. Come in the morning for Café con Leche or a Cuban Chocolate Mocha, and make sure to grab some breakfast too. Try favorites such as our Key Wester, which is two eggs, cheese, and your choice of ham, bacon, sausage, or pork roll sandwiched between two delicious pieces of pressed Cuban bread. It’s fantastic!Are you ready for lunch? Try our Famous Tuna Burger, our Turkey Club, or the Havana Rice & Beans. If you want to go lighter, order one of our freshly made salads or one of our delicious smoothies made with sweet tropical fruits.We also deliver! Cuban Coffee Queen is open every day, from 6:30 until sunset. Don’t forget to grab a T-shirt or hat while you’re at Cuban Coffee Queen. You’ll wish you had when you see folks walking around town with our famous memorabilia.
1 review
“true love!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

amazing food and an every morning stop! made the trip
food a little slow but my sandwich was worth it

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pennyfunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marius V, Owner at Cuban Coffee Queen, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We're so glad it's true love! Thanks for supporting our little coffee shack. I'm happy we made your trip even better. We hope to see you back here in the future!

Until then,
Marius, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,731
    406
    97
    21
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
League City, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“JUST GO!!!!!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I cannot believe that I waited so long to try this place. Doesn't look like much from the outside. Basically a walk up stand with a few benches to sit at while you wait. Do not let the appearance fool you. These guys make awesome fresh food! I had the turkey club and was by far the best sandwich I have ever had. EVER! The toasted Cuban bread was so fresh. I am hooked! I did find that it took awhile to get my order. This is not "fast food" but quality, made to order food. Grab a seat in the shade and be patient. It is well worth the wait.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suzybro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marius V, Owner at Cuban Coffee Queen, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We're glad you finally found us! You're right — we don't look like much, but we sure know how to make a sandwich. We always want our customers to have a truly unique experience, so the fact that you're "hooked" is awesome to hear! We look forward to seeing you back here soon.

Be well,
Marius, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I must have gone on an off day”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Wow.
Were to begin....
This place was rated #10 on Tripadvisor so I came with high expectations.
All my Cuban life I've been eating Cuban Sandwiches but I've never had a Cubano experience like this.

First: 5 minutes at a takeout joint counter before I could ask for a sandwich?
Second: nowhere to sit and enjoy my order. It was crowded but 3 benches?? Come on...
Third: To my dismay, there was lettuce and tomatoes with LOTS of mayo and mustard and the sandwich tasted like a Big Mac!!!

Mi Gente, if you put crisp lettuce and ripe tomato on the sandwich and press it as it should be, you end up with a soggy mess!
But I was hungry so I removed the offensive L&T and the sandwich was edible, just not enjoyable.

On the plus side
The bread was good and so was the pork.
The small bag of plantain chips was a nice touch.

My wife's iced coffee received kudos as she thoroughly enjoyed the ice cubes made with coffee.
I should've just had the coffee.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jfivny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marius V, Owner at Cuban Coffee Queen, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thanks for this honest review. It's a shame that you had a disappointing experience with us. We're always looking to put a smile on our customers' faces, so I'll definitely take note of your comments.

I'm sorry you were turned off by the lettuce and tomatoes. We let our customers know what's in each sandwich so that they can make modifications as necessary. We'd never want you to eat something you didn't enjoy!

I do hope you will give us another shot. We're confident we can really "wow" you next time!

Cheers,
Marius, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top turn A rightful queen”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Had the Cuban bagel with some turkey and the best coffee ever !
I will come by when we are here from London next time
A great find !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mangare17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marius V, Owner at Cuban Coffee Queen, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We're so glad you think we are a "rightful queen"! Thanks for this great feedback. Excellent call on our Cuban Bagel — always a crowd favorite. Next time you're back on our side of the pond, we'd love to see you!

Until then,
Marius, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
450 reviews
350 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

For key west this place is pretty good. Coffee was OK (using my judgement based on Miami Cuban coffee) but pricey for what you get.... Then again if you factor that the place is in a heavy tourist area that adds to the cost. Mostly tourist there but a few of us part time conchs there too...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lifesavr65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marius V, Owner at Cuban Coffee Queen, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thanks for your honesty. We're always looking to "wow" our customers, so the fact that you thought our coffee was just "ok" is a little disappointing to hear. In what ways is our Cuban coffee different than what you've tasted in Miami? We'd love any more feedback you have for us. Next time you're back in Key West, we'd love to get the chance to really impress you!

Until then,
Marius, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuban Coffee Queen also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Cuban Coffee Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing