We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day on the water.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dolphin Safari

Dolphin Safari
Ranked #27 of 294 Outdoor Activities in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
167 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great day on the water.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Had a great morning out with Gary and saw more dolphins than we could count. Great snorkeling over at Archer Key also. One of the best trips I've ever done in KW.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ingram75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    46
    14
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Royalton
1 review
“Wish Katie could have joined us!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

You can tell from the beginning of the trip that Captain Gary loves what he is doing and has a connection with the dolphins. Wonderful experience...dolphins everywhere (he has names for them)! Captain Gary is extremely professional and vigilant with the snorkelers, and is all personality!! So enjoyable and safe if you want your children to have an adventure and learn about dolphins. A very memorable trip!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Had a great 3.5 hour ride, saw 5 dolphins playing around the boat for more that a half Hour. Great guy, Captain Gary.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Special Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Captain Gary and his dog Katie took us on an incredible dolphin watch. We saw lots of groups of dolphins, many of whom were very frisky. They were jumping and dog Katie joined them for a memorable frolic. We went snorkeling and ended the evening with a gorgeous sunset. This trip exceeded my expectations and I would highly recommend for the truly personalized, courteous, and knowledgable host.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Capt Gary, dolphin whisperer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This boat ride/dolphin view/snorkeling experience is great for everyone - solo, couples, family, even casual business get-together. So much fun! My mother and I went and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Captain Gary was at ease with folks in their 20s, 30s, 40s and 60s. That kind of natural comfort attracts the same apparently because we shared the journey with two delightful couples - one from Germany and one from Canada. We were the United Nations in a boat. Katie, the beautiful and well trained Rhodesian Ridgeback and First Mate, was a fun addition to the group. I took more photos of her than the dolphins and scenery! She was HILARIOUS and watching her interact with the dolphins and dog-pal-on-shore as we went past in the boat was an extra treat. The dolphins appeared as soon as Cpt Gary pulled into the harbor, like they know his boat. They came right up to the boat and seemed to enjoy Katie, who was hanging over the boat watching the water intently for her friends. Gary respected the dolphins (and the coral reef where we snorkeled) and worked in concert with the other boat captain so that everyone got to visit these amazing creatures without scaring or disrespecting them. The dolphins must have known this because they thanked us by jumping out of the water right near us! Gary says that doesn't happen very often. It was a beautiful experience to be with the dolphins on their terms. I saw the film "Blackfish" and cried through most of it so it was extremely important to me (and my mother) that we choose the right kind of dolphin adventure. We are very happy we found these folks. A+

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kpmccurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Safari also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Dolphin Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing