We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal on a bike rental, but won't go back.”
Review of Blue Sky Rentals

Blue Sky Rentals
Ranked #113 of 295 Outdoor Activities in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Denver
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great deal on a bike rental, but won't go back.”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were in town for a month and shopped around at a few bike rental shops for a good price on 2 cruisers for February. Maria gave us a very good deal on two bikes and told us to check back weekly to ensure that our bikes were working ok. We even brought some friends over to rent more bikes when our friends were in town visiting.

But after a week or two, our tires needed some air and when we went back to Blue Sky Rentals, the woman (not Maria) wouldn't let us fill up. She told us our bike tires didn't need air and wouldn't let us top them off.

Uhhh...what? I ride almost daily and I know when my bike tires are getting low. Why deny us air?

So after the 3rd week our tires were even lower and we went back again. Same story - the same woman told us we could not have more air in our tires!

Thanks to Maria for the good deal but we'll never rent bikes here again. We just had another friend come to visit for a few days and we took her directly to a different rental shop. They were super-friendly and probably would have let us had air in our tires if we had asked!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank scotrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    7
    2
    1
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Highly recommend Blue Sky Rentals. We flew in to the general aviation terminal. Mark picked us up at the airport and took us to the company we rented a house from. House was not ready, so we left bags at office. He then took us to pick scooters. Since it was difficult to carry bags on scooters, he then went back to office and delivered our bags to our house when it was ready. They definitely go above and beyond for the customer. Scooters are scooters - what separates Blue Sky from the rest is the friendly customer service they provide. They also took us back to the airport on our day of departure. Highly recommend this family run company.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, OH
Level Contributor
156 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Inexpensive bicycles and great customer service”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We rented bicycles for four people for the afternoon and only paid $40. The location on Duval street made it easy to ride our bikes to the beach and then to Fort Taylor. It was less than a mile to get to the beach and it was a beautiful bike ride. Since we had to make it back to the cruise port, we dropped our bikes off and they offered us a ride back to the port free of charge. It was a great service and would use this company again when we are in Key West.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Local Scooter Rental and Great People”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed a week in Key West and decided to rent a scooter for one day. We went right down the street and were lucky enough to get Lily to help us. She has a great personality and was a real local treasure. She did a good job explaining how to operate the scooter (it had been a LONG time) and we had a great time exploring the city. We came back and she even took pictures of us on the scooter. I would very highly recommend this company and Lily and Billy to anyone visiting Key West.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect Bicycle Rental Experience”
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

We rented from Blue Sky Rentals for a day and Jessie let us keep the overnight for 5.00 more. He did give us headlights for the bikes and then made many wonderful suggestions of places to go, things to see, places to eat! We particularly like his off the beaten track reccommendations! So great to get away from the touristy traps around Duval!

On a side note, Jessie told us to call if we wanted to keep the bikes overnight, so I called the number. A not so friendly woman said she would relay the message to Jessie. We went back to get our headlights and Jessie never got the message. Jessie is really an asset to the people working this plate. They should show him respect and allow him to communicate directly with customers.

Other than that, it was a fine experience. We'd rent again from Jessie in a heartbeat... But probably shop around if he is gone.

Helpful?
Thank loves2ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Sky Rentals also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Blue Sky Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing