We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem”

The Flaming Buoy Filet Co.
Ranked #21 of 444 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: An "only in Key West" restaurant, The Flaming Buoy Filet Co. makes a statement on the hushed stage of a residential neighborhood. It is one part retro supper club, one part sassy corner bistro, and one part highly personal whim. Fred Isch, self-proclaimed Air Force Brat, grew up in every geographic segment of the country with a mother who loved cooking and collecting recipes. His partner, Scot Forste, grew up on the farm where his mother, bored of city life, spontaneously relocated to get back to the land, breed horses, and grow fresh, healthy food. Every recipe on the Flaming Buoy menu is an interpretation of something Fred or Scot ate at their respective family tables. Local additions, like seafood, tropical fruits, and Cuban flavors reinterpret the nostalgia, and the result grabbed the attention of the New York Times in 2011. Whether from a porch seat next to pots of herbs, or inside a white dining room accented in orange, dining the Flaming Buoy way is delicious and fun.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

The Flaming Buoy Filet is off the beaten path but well worth the short walk from the crowded restaurants on Duval. Alberto was a fantastic waiter, wonderful meal and drink suggestions. The ambiance was quiet with hip decor. You must try the Lobster Mac & Cheese. We recommend the Appetizer Trio and Entree Trio, you will have nice size portions of amazing dishes.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ksmith7509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,080
    250
    112
    33
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place off the beaten path of duval street!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Had a great birthday dinner here. My favorite was the chili. It was probably the best chili I've ever had! Hogfish was fresh and tasty, lobster Thermidor was dry, not much sauce. They only serve beer and wine here as well. Ambience is not much to speak of either.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jbulson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauderhill, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth going off the beaten path”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

This gem of a restaurant is just a few short minutes away from Duval Street by car or about a 30 minute walk. We chose to walk and enjoyed it thoroughly! Even though the restaurant was busy when we arrived the staff was incredibly friendly, the decor was fun and the food was amazing. Alberto who was our bartender/server/Star Wars enthusiast extraordinaire did an amazing job keeping us entertained! All of the staff did an amazing job and though I did not meet the chef he/or she made amazing food! We got the grilled shrimp for an appetizer with the lime chutney. It was so refreshing and like nothing I had tried before. My boyfriend had the trio sampler for dinner which was a sampling of three of their delicious entrees...I believe they rotate which dishes they sample. I had the bacon wrapped scallops with sweet potatoes. All the food was simply amazing and we will DEFINITELY be coming back!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KrissyVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we've ever experienced. AMAZING”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

One of the best meals of our lives. The service was great, friendly, but this guy was an expert waiter. I had the hogfish special with corn on the cob and carrots, both of which were out of this world as was the Hogfish and the Spinach salad was so simple but the dressing (some heavenly elixir that contained real bacon bits usually sprinkled in the salad. It was out of this world. My friend and Lobster Thermidor which was equally mind blowing. I can't say enough about how good the meal, service and environment were. Hands down one of the best meals ever.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Holiday_Maker49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Very small, out of the way, place...looks like a house! Need reservations. Food was delicious! I'd go back if I'm ever in Key West again!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flaming Buoy Filet Co. also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to The Flaming Buoy Filet Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing