We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flaming Buoy - What a great find!”

The Flaming Buoy Filet Co.
Ranked #20 of 448 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: An "only in Key West" restaurant, The Flaming Buoy Filet Co. makes a statement on the hushed stage of a residential neighborhood. It is one part retro supper club, one part sassy corner bistro, and one part highly personal whim. Fred Isch, self-proclaimed Air Force Brat, grew up in every geographic segment of the country with a mother who loved cooking and collecting recipes. His partner, Scot Forste, grew up on the farm where his mother, bored of city life, spontaneously relocated to get back to the land, breed horses, and grow fresh, healthy food. Every recipe on the Flaming Buoy menu is an interpretation of something Fred or Scot ate at their respective family tables. Local additions, like seafood, tropical fruits, and Cuban flavors reinterpret the nostalgia, and the result grabbed the attention of the New York Times in 2011. Whether from a porch seat next to pots of herbs, or inside a white dining room accented in orange, dining the Flaming Buoy way is delicious and fun.
Eastchester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Flaming Buoy - What a great find!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is a great place off the beaten path in a residential neighborhood of Key West. It is a small place with a lot of charm. The menu offers unique twists on some classic dishes. This is a very welcoming place with very friendly service and staff. The outdoor seating on the porch was great. We were a family of 5, including 3 teenagers. Everyone loved their meals and all agreed it was the best meal of our trip. The dishes we loved: the tropical stir fry, the two different fish of the day dinners (hog fish and mahi mahi, which both came with the best grilled corn on the cob you will ever have), and our youngest loved the deep fried chicken and spicy waffles. Make a reservation, get on your bicycle and ride over for dinner!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,112
    255
    112
    34
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Local feel and excellent cuisine.”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

A friend of mine who lives in Key West strongly recommended this restaurant. His quote was "mostly locals, few tourists and GOOD food". Brian, Mica and Alberto could not have been kinder and more professional. We had the fresh catch grilled with lime-butter sauce, spicy tropical stir fry, chicken and waffles and baby back ribs. All were outstanding. Tall, cold drafts took the edge off of the evening heat. Don't be dissuaded by the very modest dining facility, this place is very cool.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“caught me off guard”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I was expecting the typical vacation destination town packaged parade of "local" foods. This is totally NOT what this restaurant is. The menu was very eclectic, tremendously well thought out, and the ambiance was cozy if not down right homey in a hip sense of the word. In fact its in a house in a residential area. The server's were refreshingly passionate about their food. Of all the places I visited in Key West, this and Louie's are the only two I would revisit. If you want flashing lights, ruddy faced tourists, and fruity drinks--this ain't your place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Morris48230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
2 reviews
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The food was amazing. And the service was outstanding. Our Server, Brian, was awesome with an adorable personality.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMcDavitt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path, but worth the journey”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is located in a more residential neighborhood, away from the hustle of Duval. The decor and setup of the restaurant is very unique. We had made a reservation for a Monday evening, which was recommended when I called there. When we arrived there were a few tables still available. We ordered the lobster mac entree as well as the hogfish entree. The lobster mac was AMAZING, the best mac I have ever had. Large chunks of lobster and a great combination of cheeses. It was served with 2 crostini type pieces of bread as well as broccoli and carrots. Highly recommended! My husband ordered the hogfish which left much to be desired. If you haven't had hogfish try it elsewhere-there's much better out there. The corn and broccoli cakes served with the hogfish were quite good though. The broccoli cakes were unique and spicy. I would have given it a 5, but the hogfish just wasn't that great. The service here was very good. I would return and recommend this place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravelusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flaming Buoy Filet Co. also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to The Flaming Buoy Filet Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing