We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss it”

The Flaming Buoy Filet Co.
Ranked #20 of 443 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: An "only in Key West" restaurant, The Flaming Buoy Filet Co. makes a statement on the hushed stage of a residential neighborhood. It is one part retro supper club, one part sassy corner bistro, and one part highly personal whim. Fred Isch, self-proclaimed Air Force Brat, grew up in every geographic segment of the country with a mother who loved cooking and collecting recipes. His partner, Scot Forste, grew up on the farm where his mother, bored of city life, spontaneously relocated to get back to the land, breed horses, and grow fresh, healthy food. Every recipe on the Flaming Buoy menu is an interpretation of something Fred or Scot ate at their respective family tables. Local additions, like seafood, tropical fruits, and Cuban flavors reinterpret the nostalgia, and the result grabbed the attention of the New York Times in 2011. Whether from a porch seat next to pots of herbs, or inside a white dining room accented in orange, dining the Flaming Buoy way is delicious and fun.
framingham, ma
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Off the beaten path but well worth going out of your way. The food is amazing. Brian, Scott and Fred are funny, fun and entertainment unto themselves. You can't go wrong with their food and wine recommendations. We live in Key West and absolutely love this place. You won't regret going there. Highly recommended by locals!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank islandgirlinkeywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,075
    245
    112
    33
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Key West dining!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

My friends and I had dinner here and it was a wonderful experience in this very small but trendy place! Tucked away from the craziness of Duval Street, this haven of deliciousness had a wonderful wine selection, fantastic servers, and great food. The bacon wrapped scallops were amazing and their Lobster Mac and Cheese is one-of-the-best on the island! Our server was Brian. He was attentive and fun. This a must stop when you're in town and one of my new favorites!

Helpful?
Thank Mjm2161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun, delicious meal!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The food here was great and our server Brian made our experience even better. He was funny and attentive - seems to really enjoy his job! The hogfish with banana salsa was fresh and tasty and the chili spaghetti was amazing. The spicy stir fry had just the right blend of spicy and fruity. And the Belgian chocolate chip waffles were to die for! It is very small, so be sure to get reservations.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nwannago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tasty seafood cuisine, but nothing to write home about”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This restaurant is somewhat off the beaten path (away from Duval St.), and has quite a pleasant atmosphere. My mother and I both ordered the black bean soup to start and the grilled catch of the day in lime & butter sauce for the entree. The food arrived quickly and was presented nicely, if a bit simply. The soup was a bit salty with tortilla chips stuck directly into the bowl, which meant soggy chips upon arrival. The fish was grilled perfectly, but lacked much seasoning beyond the lime squeezed onto it. The roasted ear of corn was delicious, but the ginger in the side of carrots was a nice touch, but the carrots themselves were slightly undercooked. My favorite part of the meal was the broccoli cake, which had a bit of spicy zip to it.

The restaurant had a fair wine selection but lacked mixed drinks. Our waiter was attentive and quite personable, which added to the atmosphere. Unfortunately, for the price, the food just wasn't amazing enough to warrant a second visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WasabiDango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
194 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Yum Great Food”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have eaten here before and are ALWAYS happy. Food and atmosphere are amazing. Service is great, except for this last time. Our server was distracted and keep forgetting to check on us. Don't let this stop you, it has been a one time experience. We have always been happy with the food and service. Make reservations as this is a small place with limited hours. You will love it like we do.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michaelkasperski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flaming Buoy Filet Co. also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to The Flaming Buoy Filet Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing