We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best find ever !!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Flaming Buoy Filet Co.

The Flaming Buoy Filet Co.
Ranked #17 of 443 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: An "only in Key West" restaurant, The Flaming Buoy Filet Co. makes a statement on the hushed stage of a residential neighborhood. It is one part retro supper club, one part sassy corner bistro, and one part highly personal whim. Fred Isch, self-proclaimed Air Force Brat, grew up in every geographic segment of the country with a mother who loved cooking and collecting recipes. His partner, Scot Forste, grew up on the farm where his mother, bored of city life, spontaneously relocated to get back to the land, breed horses, and grow fresh, healthy food. Every recipe on the Flaming Buoy menu is an interpretation of something Fred or Scot ate at their respective family tables. Local additions, like seafood, tropical fruits, and Cuban flavors reinterpret the nostalgia, and the result grabbed the attention of the New York Times in 2011. Whether from a porch seat next to pots of herbs, or inside a white dining room accented in orange, dining the Flaming Buoy way is delicious and fun.
Sauble Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best find ever !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Off the beat but worth the find. Fabulous menu , service , excellent wine selections in the middle of a residential area

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,068
    242
    109
    32
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
87 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Ate dinner at the Flaming Buoy with another couple during a week in Key West. Food is very good, as was the service. Fairly diverse menu with some unique choices. Most meals come with grilled corn on the cob, which was very good. This is a small restaurant with a Key West atmosphere - nothing outstanding but very comfortable. The meals weren't the best that we had in Key West but the restaurant is favored by many of the locals and some rave about it. One local told us that the best meal they ever ate was at the Flaming Buoy. So, I have to assume that some meals may be better than others. Food was good enough that we would eat there again, but only after trying some of the other highly rated Key West spots.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank infrequentcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“disappointed, food and service just okay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have to say, I had high expectations after reading the reviews. I found the atmosphere to be fairly bland, the service was somewhat slow, and the food overall was average. Yes, the lobster mac and cheese app was delicious but it's hard to go wrong with anything drenched in yummy melty cheese. My friend's entree came with onion rings and he asked the waiter 3 times! for some ketchup, he never got it. Maybe they were offended by the request or perhaps they think its tacky to serve ketchup at such a "fine" establishment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank just_sayin97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Must Do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Awesome, Awesome, Awesome. A must do when in the Keys. Great food, great wine, great atmosphere and wonderful staff. We ate here 3 times durning our stay and was never disappointed. Must try lobster Mac and cheese, it's to die for. Salads fresh and great tasting and entrees are well portioned. If you don't try, you may be missing your best meal ever.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bjluther52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We enjoyed this restaurant so much that we went to it twice and took a group of friends the second go round! There was a wait upon arrival our first night and the bartender offered great service allowing us to try a couple of wines before settling on a bottle for dinner. Both times we visited the Flaming Bouy, the service was appropriate ~ not too intrusive, but there when you need them. The food was very well presented and fresh. From the tuna and watermelon ceviche, to the lobster mac and cheese, to the scallops ... fantastic! The wine pairings were always perfect! We will go back to this restaurant when we are in KW in 2013!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stac410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flaming Buoy Filet Co. also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to The Flaming Buoy Filet Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing