We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The specials were exactly that... Special!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Flaming Buoy Filet Co.

The Flaming Buoy Filet Co.
Ranked #20 of 438 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: An "only in Key West" restaurant, The Flaming Buoy Filet Co. makes a statement on the hushed stage of a residential neighborhood. It is one part retro supper club, one part sassy corner bistro, and one part highly personal whim. Fred Isch, self-proclaimed Air Force Brat, grew up in every geographic segment of the country with a mother who loved cooking and collecting recipes. His partner, Scot Forste, grew up on the farm where his mother, bored of city life, spontaneously relocated to get back to the land, breed horses, and grow fresh, healthy food. Every recipe on the Flaming Buoy menu is an interpretation of something Fred or Scot ate at their respective family tables. Local additions, like seafood, tropical fruits, and Cuban flavors reinterpret the nostalgia, and the result grabbed the attention of the New York Times in 2011. Whether from a porch seat next to pots of herbs, or inside a white dining room accented in orange, dining the Flaming Buoy way is delicious and fun.
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The specials were exactly that... Special!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Had the trio of fish to start ... The macaroni and lobster is delicious and then the ribs which were tasty too.... Great service off the beaten track but busy and worth finding...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fi17penguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,022
    233
    108
    31
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Hits and misses but worth the visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is an upscale version of Grunts. At our table two of us liked FB meal and 2 liked Grunts better. The trio appetizer is solid for the lobster Mac (Grunts with the truffle oil is a cut above) and the shrimp over a very tasty chutney. The key west ceviche concept of serving with fruit just does not work for me. The watermellon overpowers the fish. Ceviche should be as simple a fish dish as they come. Fish lime and cilantro and stop there. I had the grilled Mahi with lime butter sauce. Very fresh and clean taste. Love the grilled corn and mashed. Also try a side of the maple sweet mashed. The disappointment for us was the bacon wrapped scallops with maple glaze. What the chef called carmalized I would call burnt. Gritty charcoal taste just not appetizing. To their credit the owner came out and graciously took off our bill and was very accommodating.

Wine list and beer list excellent. I would go back for the Canadian ale alone. Nice and spicy and paired well with the food. Also very inventive and tasty desert menu. Atmosphere also very cozy. Located on a quiet residential street away for the Key West craziness.

Helpful?
Thank Chicagosouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
“A little bit of paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

If you are looking for an upscale experience with a unique menu, you will truly enjoy The Flaming Buoy. We had a wonderful meal that was well presented, filling, and extremely tasty. Our server, Amy, was outstanding, and the owners were so friendly. The restaurant is small, so make a reservation. It is worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosanne34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
168 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Spicy stir fry was unexpectedly good but bring milk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon the Flaming Buoy by searching for gluten free options. This is our third trip to Key West and we had yet to dine here. The place is very small but nice. The service was fine. Not overly friendly but not rude. The meals came out quickly. I had the bacon wrapped scallops and while the dish was tasty the whole plate was sweet. I had no mix of salty/savory. It was too sweet for my palette so I shared with my table. My husband had the catch of the day and he described it as "ok." My son had Mac and cheese and it was homemade and looked really good. My parents both had the stir fry with shrimp and chicken. It was super HOT like 5 alarm hot. Not mentioned in the description my mom could barely eat it. It's a nice option but make sure you know what you order :)

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mstarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester, uk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If you can find it you're in for a real treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The taster trio, as some other reviewers have commented on, is superb. Lobster mac & cheese really should not be good but this is simply delicious. As are the shrimp with lime chutney and the tuna & watermelon ceviche. The fresh-catch of the day was either mahi or yellow-tail snapper, both superb, made even better by the sides they come with. I'll not spoil your surprise, try for yourself. Not especially family orientated but offered to change any meal to accommodate our 11yr old. Not that she needed any changes to the chilli she had. Was too full to finish it and disappointed because she wanted to eat more.
The waiting staff were incredibly helpful, courteous and attentive, exceptional standard of service. If you go, dine early as the place is small and fills up quickly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VW2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flaming Buoy Filet Co. also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to The Flaming Buoy Filet Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing