We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Floridays

Floridays
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Sail with us to experience the best of Key West. Enjoy the luxury of personalized attention on a beautiful sailing yacht. Join us for a snorkeling trip or for a spectacular Key West sunset sail. All your gear is provided for the snorkeling trip along with water, soda, wine, margaritas and a section of national and regional craft beers Just bring a bathing suit, towel and a camera. Floridays is the finest way to see the world famous Key West sunset, all beverages are included along with champagne for a toast to the setting sun. After motoring away from the dock we hoist sail and turn off the engine.If you're looking for a sunset sail that really sails, look no further than Floridays. And, you can count on us for small groups on a big boat. Floridays is also available for private charter. Let us help you plan your perfect on the water excursion.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I have been on many cruises and were very disappointed with this. It was a LONG 1 1/2 hours. 95% of captain Mike's interaction with the guests was with one couple who live in the same state where he had previously lived -boring for the rest of us. There was no dialogue about Key West, except some negative gossip about a "millionaire" who passed us in his boat.
Luckily the sunset was beautiful, water calm and weather was nice.

Thank dunergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sailcaptain, Owner at Floridays, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Wow, that was really personal. We are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your evening on Floridays. We obviously want everyone to be happy. Mike is a super nice family man who always tries to make people happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

301 - 305 of 480 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband Mike and I always take a sunset cruise when we visit Key West. This trip we sailed on the Floridays, a gorgeous ketch-rigged Irwin yacht. The two-woman crew — Captain Alexis and First Mate Shannon — was a delight: professional, friendly and very laid back.

Easily accessible, we boarded Floridays at the end of the dock at the Hyatt Resort Hotel in downtown Key West and were warmly welcomed aboard. Then we were off! The wind was strong all week and the night we sailed was no different. The ketch zipped along smoothly.

We shared our evening with the two other couples who had also booked the sunset sail. Truth to tell? It was like having the boat to ourselves: 60 foot yacht + 2 woman crew + 6 guests = 1 heavenly sail; we felt like we had chartered our own personal cruise! With wine (for me) and beer (for Mike) in hand, we sat back and enjoyed the motion of the ocean and the view of the horizon.

We would recommend both boat and crew highly. The yacht is recently refurbished and very beautiful. The crew is well trained, confident and capable...and also very beautiful.

For additional information, videos and photos, you can read my recent blog post on Floridays at http://wp.me/p1sg3T-2kN

3  Thank DarleneMAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sailcaptain, Owner at Floridays, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thanks for your wonderful review. Your pictures are beautiful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I chose the Floridays sunset cruise based on positive tripadvisor reviews. When we arrived at the dock we were surprised to hear that we were the only reservation for the sunset cruise. Mike and his co-captain welcomed us aboard and made the evening truly spectacular. What a memorable experience!!. They shared the history of key west as well as some wonderful dining suggestions. Thank you for making this a highlight of our first visit to Key West.
A special thank you to the owner/operator of the Floridays for honoring our reservation!

3  Thank 4palmtrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sailcaptain, Owner at Floridays, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thanks for the great review. It was fun for our crew to spend time with you too. Hope you had a good time on the rest of your Key West vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I just spent one week in Key West with my wife and two daughters (ages 19 and 21). We went out on the morning snorkeling trip on the Floridays and had the time of our lives. It is a beautiful sailboat with an incredibly friendly and knowledgeable staff. (Capt Alexis and First Mate Jen were great!). The fish we saw were some of the most beautiful I have seen anywhere in the world and they were literally everywhere around us. Jen even got in the water with us and took an underwater picture of our family for us. While sailing back from the reef Jen was always there with a fresh drink and she and Capt Alexis shared their vast knowledge of Key West, the reef and the fish we saw with everyone on the sailboat. We had such an amazing time on this trip that we decided to go out on the Sunset Sail the following evening. Capt Mike and First Mate Charla were equally knowledgeable and accommodating. I can't even begin to describe how awesome it was to watch a Key West sunset while feeling a nice breeze, drinking a glass of champagne and hearing the relaxing sound of sails lightly slapping in the breeze. Two years ago we went to Key West and went out on another companies snorkel and sunset sails. We had fun, but the experience we had with the Floriday's was second to none! This is a MUST do in Key West and if I could give the Floriday's more "stars" I would. We can't wait for our next trip to Key West so we can go out on the Floridays again.

2  Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful sailing experience. We chose this cruise b/c it seemed more intimate & also for the price. We didn't want to be on a party boat. Seeing Mallory Square & Sunset Key from out on the water was cool. We had good winds, the sails were hoisted & flapped in the breeze as we sailed along on our sunset cruise. Capt. Alexis & Charla, the first mate, are adorable, friendly & professional. Charla kept our beverages filled. It was a good time.

3  Thank weluvdoxies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Floridays also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Floridays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing