We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Challenging dive, but well worth it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vandenberg Wreck

Vandenberg Wreck
Ranked #22 of 168 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Challenging dive, but well worth it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

The Vandenberg Wreck is fairly deep and is usually in a good deal of current. This is not a "jump off the back of the boat and swim around" dive, but one that involves tag lines, drop lines, etc.

It is a spectacular sight once you have arrived at the Vandenberg and well worth the trouble, but you should have a large number of logged dives and be prepared.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Polarhq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    49
    13
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Diving the Vandenburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Great conditions in Aug. Little current, ok visibility. 86 degree water temps. Recommend Capt's Corner diving on the corner or elizabeth & green street.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TMCurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“wow !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Spectacular wreck dive - the Disney World of wreck diving! I highly recommend this even for novice divers - just go with a guide. This was my first dive on this wreck and it was even better than I expected. You'll love it !

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dive the Vandenburg - incredible dive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

make a point to dive the Vandenburg - well worth the trip! Incredible sea life, fascinating experience diving a wreck!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JohnV12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Panhandle, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Should be on every diver's bucket list!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

This dive was the best dive my sons and I have ever had! The visibility was perfect, the water calm. My youngest and I stayed between 60-79 feet with our dive guide, and had plenty to see and experience. My oldest was able to penetrate the wreck with two other advanced divers and a guide and both my boys said it was the best day of their life! :) If you dive the Vandenberg, call Finz Dive Center. One of their guides has over 1200 dives on the Vandenberg alone! You also need a camera! The fish you will see are amazing, and the wreck is absolutely unreal.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vandenberg Wreck also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Vandenberg Wreck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing