We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wreck Dive”
Review of Vandenberg Wreck

Vandenberg Wreck
Ranked #21 of 168 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wreck Dive”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I have been diving the Vandenberg since they sank it. I find that each year it is cool to see the changes and new life. However it is starting to become very crowded. I personal don't like that some of the people are spear fishing during the dive. I find it to be very dangerous with the amount of people diving the wreck. I personally don't want to be speared by a reckless diver just trying to prove his manhood.
I am looking forward to my next trip

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LannieMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    51
    13
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good dive”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

this was a good dive with a cool history behind it, very big and alot of fish everywhere. would really recommend for anyone who is looking for a key west dive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank fishinfool2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Awesome wreck!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Not much growth yet, but I was absolutely surprised by the 100+ viz that we had on our dives. This wreck has incredible swim-throughs and a beautiful goliath grouper living near the bow section. This wreck has yet to have seen a hurricane, but at current it's radar dishes are still in tact and is a surreal dive.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stewart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiscasset, Maine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dive the wreck!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Fabulous tour through the passageways and up to the parabolic antenna! Book with the lady at the kiosk before you get to Schooner Wharf-ask for Duane to lead you!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cphd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome wreck dive”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is an enormous ship, teaming with life. The ship is in excellent condition, and no matter how many times you see the ginormous flag on the bow, it never looses it's affect. This is a must see for divers advanced and novice alike!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AvisReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vandenberg Wreck also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Vandenberg Wreck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing