We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dive!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vandenberg Wreck

Vandenberg Wreck
Ranked #23 of 160 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Jasper, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent dive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We dove the Vandenburg a couple years ago and it was fabulous with great vis and no current. We just returned from Key West and dove 2 trips. There were 4-6 waves the first time and the current was pretty stiff. On our second trip down the waves were only 1' but there was a very strong current. We stayed on the guide lines down and hung around the starboard side to keep away from the current. If you let go and went with the current, you would be swept off site pretty quickly. Still, we enjoyed the dive. By the way, on our first trip, as soon as you put your head under the water, you could see the ship. The swim throughs and huge satellite dishes are alot of fun. We would have enjoyed it more without the current but I would still say excellent!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank belindajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    48
    13
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parkland, FL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bucket List Dive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Vandenberg is a must for all divers with the right skill set. The dive can be anywhere from 65 to 130 feet. The dishes are very interesting and fun to dive around. There are swim throughs that have been clearly planned and make the risk of an overhead environment very well mitigated. Going into the ship should not be a risk taken by anyone other than experts in the area and have all the right equipment. The ship is huge. It will take many dives to even see all of the outside of this ship. Its a very memorable experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Hornsounder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Huge Wreck, but Poor Visability and Strong Currents”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Unfortunately for us, the visibility when we visited was only about 45 feet. The dive had pretty strong currents as well. We have heard from other divers that they have been there with 80-90 feet of visibility.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jamie34288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“super wreck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

did this wreck at least 20x and it never seems to bore me,a must
do dive when in key west. Its big and use 1 dive for the bow and use 1 dive for the stern I would say :-)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulExports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great wreck....BUT CAN BE CHALLENGING !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Very large wreck, in deep waters and strong currents!!
On a good day this is a FANTASTIC dive, but on not so good days....THIS CAN BE AREAL CHALLANGE !!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Northportdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vandenberg Wreck also viewed

 

Been to Vandenberg Wreck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing