We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Huge Ship With Lots to Do” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vandenberg Wreck

Vandenberg Wreck
Ranked #22 of 160 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
127 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Huge Ship With Lots to Do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My family recently took a dive on the Vandenberg and had a great time. We used Lost Reef Adventures and had a fabulous experience. The dive crew was awesome and shared a lot of helpful information about the VB dive site.

The dive itself had both good and bad points. The vis was limited on our first dive (10-15 feet) and improved but not great on our second (15-20 feet). The ship is enormous and for slower than average divers, it could take a dozen dives to see the whole thing safely. For divers who love photography, even with the limited vis outside the ship, there are several neat places within the ship that provide excellent photo opportunities.

I am definitely looking forward to a return trip but maybe later in the spring or summer to catch better conditions. I am amazed that someone had a 100+ feet of vis during December this year. However, I hope to return at a time that I can have a similar experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank checht96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    48
    13
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miamisburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Must do for divers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I have been lucky because i have heard about the currents and bad vis. at the site at times. Last year I took my wife for only her 3rd or 4th deep dive and the vis. was 90-100 ft. with no currents. this year 100+ vis. no currents. You could see the ship from the surface! We dove with Southpoint divers. First class operation and will dive with them again. The Vandenberg is beautiful. There are so many more fish on the structure this year. It is nice to watch yhe progression.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DiverB0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“exciting dive site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Huge wreck in pristine condition that is so large that i could dive there several times without it being repetitive. the conditions were superb which made the dive experience optimal. Although the dive can be deep - I reached max depth of 130 ft. going between the stern and the ship's huge rudder - there is nothing particularly challenging about this site, unless you decide to explore the ship's innards. The Vandenberg was one of the most enjoyable dive sites in my more than 30 years of diving.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“It will take more than a few dives...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

To see it all. Well worth the trip. Looking forward to seeing more next trip. It has it all, huge groupers, schools of barracuda and the occasional shark. Can get deep too so if ya wanna, break out the trimix!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Wreck to Dive in Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Was taken by the sheer size of this wreck (522' long) and only saw a small portion. Enjoyable trip out to the wreck with other divers. The wreck is easy to descend to. Only down side is that with no decompression, you have 17 minutes max on the wreck. About 26-30 minutes round trip from the surface. Many accessible compartments to swim through. Did 4 dives on the wreck and only scratched the surface.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vandenberg Wreck also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Vandenberg Wreck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing