We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Key West”
Review of Tropical Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tropical Inn
Ranked #13 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, MI
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Best place in Key West”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Unbelievable stay at the perfect play to be in key west. Middle of duval. Amazing owners. Beautiful rooms and pool. Can't wait to go back and recommend to everyone headed to key west. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RestoretheRoar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    116
    21
    6
    8
See reviews for
36
674
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at tropical inn the last week of May and could not of ask for a better place to stay in Key West. The location was awesome the cottage we had was perfect. Breakfast was really good and hit the spot every morning. Owners were very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendywilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My wife picked this Inn out from the many available in Key West. We could not have been more pleased with the accommodations and the staff. We spent three nights there and would recommend the Tropical Inn to everyone. Thanks for making our first visit to Key West a memorable one.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schnecksville, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We recently spent a week at the Tropical Inn. We had a lovely cottage at the rear of the property with our own parking space. When you enter the inn and emerge into the beautiful rear garden, you leave all of the noise and activity on Duval street behind! Shelby greeted us on arrival and made sure we had everything we needed to begin our Key West vacation. She was so helpful in providing us with information about attractions and restaurants. Everyone involved with the inn is friendly and helpful and made us feel right at home. Every morning we enjoyed our breakfast at a table in the garden---a great way to plan our day! With Shelby 's recommendations we enjoyed incredible dinners at Santiago's Bodega, Seven Fish, and Blue Heaven! This inn is in a perfect location, close to restaurants, historical attractions and of course the activities on Duval! We parked our car on arrival and walked everywhere! Our cottage (Pineapple Hideway) was lovely and we enjoyed our own patio and hot tub! What a great place to stay on our first visit to Key West!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Tropical Inn and had our wedding there. Shelby and Brandi were amazing!!!. They treated us like family and made our wedding so special. We stayed in the Pineapple Hideway the first night. This was more like a private bungalow then a room! The room was extremely clean, the bed was very comfortable, and we had a sound sleep. We moved rooms our final night and that room was also very clean and beautifully decorated. The Inn is off of Duaval, which is great because we were close to everything. Once we parked we didn't need our car for the rest of the stay. Even though it was off of a busy street, the Inn was a quite Oasis. I can't say enough great things about the staff and quality of our stay. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrianna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2014

The property is the ideal setting for a honeymoon stay in Key West! It's location is in the middle of everything and easy access to all attractions in Old Town. My wife and I stayed in the Pineapple Hideway cottage and it was wonderful! Very clean and well kept. The staff were wonderful! We will return soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onlyau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, LA, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My husband and I recently enjoyed our second stay at the Tropical Inn. The second time was just as enjoyable as the first, and if we ever visit Key West again, we will stay here a third time. Gecko's Garden room is pure delight with a comfortable king size bed, great bath area, and a wonderful private patio with a dipping pool. The common patio/pool area is a private oasis in the middle of Duval Street. Guests sit here in the morning for a continental breakfast that is perfect to start the day. There is always a freshly made coffee bread or breakfast casserole along with fruit, cereals, bagels, toast, yogurt, eggs(boiled), assorted juices, and coffee. This area is also a great place to read, nap, swim, visit with guests, or just be!! So nice to return to in the heat of the day, and sit in the shaded oasis!!

I can not say enough about the friendliness of the owners, Allan and Jane, their daughter Brandi, and newcomer Shelby. All will assist you with suggestions for restaurants and activities, and will be glad to book and make reservations for you. They truly want you to enjoy your stay at Key West!! Thanks so much for all of your assistance while we just relaxed and vacationed!! The support staff does an excellent job keeping the rooms nice and clean!!

We have rented bikes both times we stayed in Key West. Bikes can be rented on site, and parked each evening in the pool area. Biking is the best way to see Key West!!

I highly recommend the Tropical Inn, and hope to return for another visit!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dkehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,681 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#6 of 51 in Key West
1,032 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Inn

Property: Tropical Inn
Address: 812 Duval St, (City Center), Key West, FL 33040-7406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most romantic bed and breakfast in Old Town Key West. Relax in a tropical garden oasis of tranquility with multiple pools, tucked incongruously away amidst the high energy of legendary Duval Street. This sophisticated yet informal historic inn features comfortable rooms, cottage suites with private outdoor spas, and a delectable, tropical breakfast buffet of healthy choices and delectable temptations. Enhance your Key West vacation with lasting memories -- choose the distinctive ambience of the Tropical Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Tropical Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing