We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good location in Key West”
Review of Tropical Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tropical Inn
Ranked #17 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We enjoyed our 4 night stay at the Tropical Inn. It is quiet haven on Duval Street and a great location for visiting this charming town. The staff was very welcoming and helped us with good suggestions and dinner reservations. It was nice to be able to rent bikes from the Inn, making it easier to get around the town. Breakfasts were varied and very tasty. The garden setting was very peaceful. The only negative is that our room was very small and cramped, a disappointment given the cost.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VoyageursUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (870)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 870 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had a fabulous stay at the Tropical Inn! It was our 1st trip to Key West and we so hoped we had made a good choice for our stay. Well, I must say,it was magical. We loved the feeling of the gardens with the lush tropical plants. palm trees and water features. Whenever we were at the Inn it felt like we were truly on a tropical island. The Inn itself felt like a "destination". We stayed in the Pineapple Hideaway for 3 nights and then moved to the Gecko's Garden for the last 3 nights. I had specifically wanted to stay in the Gecko's Garden after studying the website and falling in love with that suite. And indeed, we loved the Gecko's Garden. However, we loved the Pineapple Hideaway too!! The Pineapple was like having our own private cottage at Key West! We would sit on the front porch, come and go as we liked on our little street and never even have to go through the main Inn or gardens to enter and exit. The Gecko's Garden did have a more "luxury" feel, with its king bed, large bath with 2 sinks and its little private garden with the absolute best hot tub ever. (It was more like a little private tiny warm pool.) We rented onsite bikes (so easy) and rode all over the island including all the beaches with instructions given by the staff. The breakfast was just perfect for us with a beautiful presentation, fresh fruits, yogurt, assorted breads, and a different surprise "special" item each morning. Sometimes it was quiche (our personal favorite), other times a pastry, etc. The staff was quite helpful for suggestions, bookings, special arrangements for pick-up for adventures, etc as needed. We absolutely had a delightful stay. I hope to be able to return to Key West and will definitely be back to the Tropical Inn.

Room Tip: The Gecko's Garden is quieter than the Pineapple Hideaway as it is farther away from the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoTravelAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Recently returned from first visit to Key West and a great stay at the Tropical Inn. Quiet oasis on Duval Street. Walking distance to everything.Staff were wonderful.Inn was spotless and had lovely pool/garden area where we enjoyed a good breakfast every day. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cantrav2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We spent three nights in the key lime loft. The room is small but functional and very lovely. But the private deck was perfect. We sat in the mornings drinking coffee listening to the roosters. Relaxed in the afternoon under the palms. Even went out on the deck before bedtime to look at the stars and listen to the breezes. The hosts were always helpful and friendly. Breakfast was fresh and light...good fit for us. Location is great and with our room on the back we rarely heard any sounds from duval street. Wish we were there!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank KathyinKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I can't say how much I enjoyed our stay an the Tropical Inn. My husband & I stayed in the Conch Courtyard for four nights on March 8th and couldn't have loved the room more. Being right on Duval you would think you would have the noise, but once you walk inside it is wonderfully tranquil. We loved our room & especially our private patio. We used it daily to eat our great breakfast. I can't say enough about Brandi and Shelby and how helpful they are. They gave wonderful recommendations and scheduled a very fun and relaxing sunset wine cruise for us on Mallory Square. Having bicycles right on the property is also such a plus. As I said, we loved our room and can't wait to come back to visit...the wine bar next door is the best!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We only stayed for one night in the Ponciana Patio and enjoyed our stay very much. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was clean and tastefully decorated. Unfortunately due to an early morning tour we did not get breakfast as it is not available until 8.30am.
The hot tub was lovely and hot though the pool was very cold and very shaded. The garden is lovely and private and very quiet concidering it is on the main street, you would never know. I would say it was a touch expencive, but then everywhere in Key West is. I would recommend it over a hotel any day.
My only issue was due to the lush gardens there were a lot of mosquittos and I do not react well to bites, so this was a shame as there was no screen on our door so had to keep it closed, this is not the fault of the Tropical Inn though ;-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CWAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Our visit to the Tropical Inn was like experiencing heaven on earth.
The location is perfect. We stayed in the Gecko Suite which was beautiful. The gardens, room, food and hospitality of the staff were all exceptional. Plan on rebooking next year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janet d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.2 mi away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 77 in Key West
1,089 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Paradise Inn
The Paradise Inn
#15 of 77 in Key West
1,514 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silver Palms Inn
Silver Palms Inn
#11 of 51 in Key West
1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Inn

Address: 812 Duval St, (City Center), Key West, FL 33040-7406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $232 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most romantic bed and breakfast in Old Town Key West. Relax in a tropical garden oasis of tranquility with multiple pools, tucked incongruously away amidst the high energy of legendary Duval Street. This sophisticated yet informal historic inn features comfortable rooms, cottage suites with private outdoor spas, and a delectable, tropical breakfast buffet of healthy choices and delectable temptations. Enhance your Key West vacation with lasting memories -- choose the distinctive ambience of the Tropical Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tropical Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing