We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location !!”
Review of Tropical Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tropical Inn
Ranked #19 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our son surprised us with a stay in Key West for Christmas !! We have always visited in June or July and didn't know what to expect in December. I would highly recommend this time of the year and the Tropical Inn !! The location was perfect , the Inn Amazing !! Brandy and Shelby were lovely host with just the right amount of attention !! We chose the Gypsy Mermaid Escape and enjoyed the semi private balcony. The room was clean and very comfortable bed and linens. The pool and hottub grounds were beautlful and relaxing. Very convenient to be able to rent bikes from the Tropical Inn and coming in December we completely forgot to bring sunscreen, no problem because the Inn has a nice selection of suncare products that you can use. The breakfast was the best and freshest that we have ever experienced !!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keys2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 873 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed the hospitality of the Tropical Inn and it's gracious staff. Since this is the only property the hosts own it shows. Our room was cozy, quiet, and we loved having a small patio where we could have our continental breakfast in privacy and still enjoy the lovely landscaped pool and spa area.
We will stay at the Tropical Inn as our first choice in Key West from now on.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bamboo Cottage but the other rooms each had their own appeal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daisydew2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed in the Gypsy Mermaid room. It was small, but well kept and having access to the balcony on Duvall Street after 10pm was very nice. Others have mentioned the availabilty of a computer and a small library was very nice was an unexpected bonus.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThurmanLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The Tropical Inn is the perfect choice for couples looking to be close to everything yet feel far away from it all at the same time. Come and go with your house key as you please or stay and enjoy the pool and spa tub with on-site drinks and snacks (honor system) or those you stock in your mini-fridge. The cottage we stayed in was recently renovated with obvious care and nicely insulated to allow is to be close to the crazy without being right in the middle of it. We agreed with fellow guests comments that the B&B was clean and well-cared for. Breakfast was fresh eggs, fruit and baked goods enjoyed at patio tables next to the waterfall pool and surrounded by tropical landscaping. Jane, Allen, Brandi and Shelby provided some great recommendations for what to do and see and were very helpful with any request we made. Another nice surprise was their relationship with the great wine bar next door who provided special wine tastings with a great selection.

Room Tip: Coconut Cabana and it's attached suite are the most updated but you could not choose wrong here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrcisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Tropical Inn and purchased the elopement package and I have to say that we couldn't have picked a better place. What we loved most was the service. The people that work there did everything they could to make us feel like guests of honor. We laughed together, they helped us arrange our itinerary, they even posted a congratulations sign in the breakfast area. Shelby married us and did a great job!! Its close to all the action yet still feels very private and intimate. It is the perfect place to stay for those who want something more special than a chain hotel can offer. I would definitely come back here!

Room Tip: Loved the Tuckaway cottage!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

stay away and find an inn off of Duval street. Nightclub noise was an issue in the back guesthouse where we were. Additionally, though the property was well maintained in general, the mattress was horrific, old and sagging markedly in the middle. Breakfast offerings were very modest at best for the money charged. The chocolate strawberries we had ordered must have languished in the fridge for the better part of a week before being presented. All in all, one could do much better with a choice from a variety of the other B & B's present on the island.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank m r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalInnOwner, Owner at Tropical Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Oh, my. Rarely, but memorably, all hotel owners encounter guests who, for whatever reason that we really cannot possibly comprehend, defile the property to the extent of having to be reprimanded. This one should have incurred damage charges, but we refrained. It is preposterous but predictable that they have chosen to "strike back" with a detrimental TA review.

We trust that those who will matter will read between the lines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Felt at home here
Very friendly helpful hosts who helped with recommendations and resrvations for things to do.
Multiple Ket West coupons availIble in the reception lobby.
Nice central Key West location
Walking distance to almost the entire island

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobCor3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
0.3 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.2 mi away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 77 in Key West
1,112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#9 of 77 in Key West
955 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Paradise Inn
The Paradise Inn
#14 of 77 in Key West
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Inn

Address: 812 Duval St, (City Center), Key West, FL 33040-7406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $260 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most romantic bed and breakfast in Old Town Key West. Relax in a tropical garden oasis of tranquility with multiple pools, tucked incongruously away amidst the high energy of legendary Duval Street. This sophisticated yet informal historic inn features comfortable rooms, cottage suites with private outdoor spas, and a delectable, tropical breakfast buffet of healthy choices and delectable temptations. Enhance your Key West vacation with lasting memories -- choose the distinctive ambience of the Tropical Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Tropical Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing