We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“save your money”
Review of Tropical Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropical Inn
Ranked #17 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2013

stay away and find an inn off of Duval street. Nightclub noise was an issue in the back guesthouse where we were. Additionally, though the property was well maintained in general, the mattress was horrific, old and sagging markedly in the middle. Breakfast offerings were very modest at best for the money charged. The chocolate strawberries we had ordered must have languished in the fridge for the better part of a week before being presented. All in all, one could do much better with a choice from a variety of the other B & B's present on the island.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank m r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalInnOwner, Owner at Tropical Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Oh, my. Rarely, but memorably, all hotel owners encounter guests who, for whatever reason that we really cannot possibly comprehend, defile the property to the extent of having to be reprimanded. This one should have incurred damage charges, but we refrained. It is preposterous but predictable that they have chosen to "strike back" with a detrimental TA review.

We trust that those who will matter will read between the lines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (870)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 870 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

Felt at home here
Very friendly helpful hosts who helped with recommendations and resrvations for things to do.
Multiple Ket West coupons availIble in the reception lobby.
Nice central Key West location
Walking distance to almost the entire island

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobCor3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The Tropical Inn was a Tropical Dream for us. Brandi was most accommodating and helpful to us. the Pineapple Hideway was tucked away in the back with an outside hot tub and a kitchen with a private entrance to the street.We had our breakfast on our porch in the mornings. The room was beautifully decorated-bamboo ceiling and décor. The breakfast in the mornings included fruits, juices, breads and each morning a surprise dish like quiche, or casserole or strudel with good coffee. The pool area is lush and beautiful with a large hot tub to the side. Very tranquil,We also stayed in the Coconut Cabana which is a nice room with pretty shower and the vanity sink and faucet were unique. Again another pretty ceiling-this one of pickled wood. We rode our bikes every day for most of the day and it's easy to get everywhere from here. We enjoyed it very much and want to go back and live in the Pineapple Hideaway! The Bourgeois

Room Tip: We thought the outside rooms seem a little more private and possibly more quiet than the main house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brrhonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Property is very well maintained and staff is extremely helpful and go out of their way to make you feel at home. The location is central to Duval Street but at the quieter end of the street. With the location you can skip renting a car and always worrying about parking. Cab fare from airport is regulated and is about 8 per person at the time of our trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

First stay here was short but memorable. Tastefully decorated and comfortable. Helpful and friendly hosts. Great breakfast. Beautiful pool and garden. Amazing location. Good value. Highly recommended. Will be back.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kimberly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Tropical Inn was wonderful. The people were so friendly. The gardens and the pool/hot tub are so beautiful and relaxing. We loved the Conch Courtyard room. It was small but very pretty and the bed was comfortable. I love that they have an honor system for drinks. The inn is right in the middle of all the action on Duval Street. There is some noise from bands that we could hear at night so take some earplugs. (Surprisingly, the sound was not too bad with all the windows/doors closed). You can rent bikes on the property and use this for your main transportation while on the island!

Room Tip: Conch Courtyard has a private outside sitting area-very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sbrew52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Hotel location was excellent, right in the middle of Duval street. The room was great, if a little pricey. The host and hostess were great, guiding us to things to do on the island. The major disappointment was the breakfast. It was called enhanced continental, that was stretching it quite a bit. Breakfast consisted of cereal, hard boiled eggs and cheese with cold cuts left out in the heat and humidity, and fresh fruits. Nice homemade cakes. This is the first time in over 30 years of staying at B & B's that we did not have a hot prepared breakfast. This took away a lot from the ambience of the inn. Additionally, the parking situation is horrible. Stay ended with the Zombie bike ride which is now an island tradition, it was fun to watch. We were disappointed because of the bf and parking and doubt if we would be back to this B & B.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brnpoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalInnOwner, Owner at Tropical Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

It is so disheartening as an Innkeeper when, try as you might to live up to every guests' expectation of an exceptional stay, your goal is not attained. It is especially frustrating when a guest reports dissatisfaction with not receiving something that has been specifically stated as not available.

We strive to portray our property exactly as it is, including an entire page on our website entitled "Breakfast", detailing what we serve -- and why (no commercial kitchen; therefore, no "hot prepared" options, owing to Health Department regulations -- as is the case with the majority of B&Bs in Key West). We regret that this guest apparently overlooked it.

And, while we are delighted that he found our central location, accommodations, and hospitality to be excellent, we are surprised that he mentioned parking to be so troublesome. There is a commercial lot directly across the street from the inn and free curbside parking within a half-block. However, neither was an issue for him, owing to his handicapped tag, which enabled him to park directly on Duval Street, within steps of the inn's front door.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.2 mi away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 77 in Key West
1,089 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Paradise Inn
The Paradise Inn
#15 of 77 in Key West
1,515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silver Palms Inn
Silver Palms Inn
#11 of 51 in Key West
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Inn

Address: 812 Duval St, (City Center), Key West, FL 33040-7406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $232 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most romantic bed and breakfast in Old Town Key West. Relax in a tropical garden oasis of tranquility with multiple pools, tucked incongruously away amidst the high energy of legendary Duval Street. This sophisticated yet informal historic inn features comfortable rooms, cottage suites with private outdoor spas, and a delectable, tropical breakfast buffet of healthy choices and delectable temptations. Enhance your Key West vacation with lasting memories -- choose the distinctive ambience of the Tropical Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tropical Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing