We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right In the Middle Of Things”
Review of Tropical Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tropical Inn
Ranked #11 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Right In the Middle Of Things”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We flew into Key West this time, no car hassle, cab right to the door. Neat place, great hosts, great maid service, garden and pool so private, iguana was friendly too. We spent more time doing what we like because everything was close. The cigar guy down the way always had something different everyday. The wine bar next door was real cozy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    116
    21
    6
    8
See reviews for
36
667
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at Tropical Inn for 1 night at the Mango room. Room was clean with nice deco but on the small size. Check in staff was friendly and we enjoyed the free wine tasting coupon for the wine bar next door. The pool and jacuzzi area was nice. Breakfast however was disappointing with the lack of choice, would be much better if cooked breakfast were to be available. The best thing about the hotel was the location and its proximity to everything and yet surprisingly quiet in the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hpoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I spent three nights in luxury in the Gecko's Garden. The hot tub was amazing! The bed was very comfortable and I actually want to try and buy the same pillows for home. The room was always clean upon our return, ample towels as well. The inn keeper was very friendly and always available if needed. We rented bikes from the property- very convenient. The only negative was the almost 24hour music coming from a neighboring hotel pool off Duval. From our room and the hotel pool it was easy to hear. The proximity to Duval- if you have ever been there before, this is pretty much expected. I will recommend to friends and family, great spot and cared for with love. Why ever choose a hotel?

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HLKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My husband and I had a couple of days in Key West before heading back to Miami. We loved the Tropical and were really happy that we chose to be there. The inn is located directly on Duval, so we were a bit hesitant at first because we thought it may bee too noisy as it was right on Duval. This is not the case! Once inside the inn, it is quiet and comfortable. The gardens at the back are quiet as well and that is where the breakfast is served and there are tables around the pool area. We booked the last available room and stayed in the Bamboo room. It was cozy just right for the two of us. Breakfast was easy and enough for us to start the day: cold cuts, cold boiled eggs, banana bread, fruit, yogurt, cereal, coffee and juice. There is no hot breakfast but were were fine with this. The staff are wonderful and welcoming. They made reservations for us at restaurants and suggested things to do. The only suggestion I have is to have breakfast start a bit earlier as we are early risers and tend to get out early. This was an easy work around, though. We will be back and enjoyed our stay. Thanks to the team!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Piffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Worth every dollar. The garden is full of lush beautiful tropical plants and very peaceful. You don't feel at all like you are on a major tourist street but are on a tropical island. Beautiful pool and spa for your use. Breakfast was delicious they make the absolute best quiche room we chose was small but very pleasant and quality furnishings and bathroom fixtures. Location was perfect, shopping,restaurants ,art galleries, tourist attractions and beach just steps or a few short blocks away. Easily walkable to anything you want to see and do.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingartist2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Just got back from a 10 day stay in beautiful Key West. We rented a condo with another couple in Truman Annex for 7 nights, but since we were staying an extra 2 nights by ourselves we wanted to stay somewhere special. Luckily a friend of mine that is a local told my emphatically to stay at the Tropical Inn, and since I trust her opinion implicitly and this is where they stayed on their wedding night I booked without hesitation and I'm thrilled that I did. The pool & courtyard are beautiful & so peaceful. We had a lovely room called the Conch Courtyard and it was spectacular! Cute little private patio behind a picket fence by the beautiful pool, darling room with maybe the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in! Wonderful breakfast & enjoyed being next to Vino's on Duval for obvious reasons. The Tropical Inn "Love Lock" really made it that much more special. Loved it from the moment we walked in and were greeted by Brandi & Shelby to the sad moment we left. This is my 12th visit to KW, "our" 1st trip to KW together, our 1st stay at the Tropical Inn but it won't be our last! Already planning our next trip which will include a stay at this wonderful Inn. Thanks for making our first trip to KW so very special!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floridafanohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My wife & I spent ages trying to find the "right" Inn to stay during our time in Key West - and we're so glad we finally decided on the Tropical Inn. We had booked the Key Lime loft, and although its a small room, we had a truly memorable time here. We were very warmly greeted by Brandi at check in and she made sure we were settled into the room & ensured we knew where everything was on the property. The pool area is so cute - again, not the largest pool - but absolutely perfect after a day in the Key West sunshine.
The breakfast laid on everyday was ideal for the location & perfect for our needs.
A big thanks to all at the Tropical Inn for making our trip such a memorable one!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Si-and-Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,130 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,737 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#5 of 51 in Key West
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Inn

Property: Tropical Inn
Address: 812 Duval St, (City Center), Key West, FL 33040-7406
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most romantic bed and breakfast in Old Town Key West. Relax in a tropical garden oasis of tranquility with multiple pools, tucked incongruously away amidst the high energy of legendary Duval Street. This sophisticated yet informal historic inn features comfortable rooms, cottage suites with private outdoor spas, and a delectable, tropical breakfast buffet of healthy choices and delectable temptations. Enhance your Key West vacation with lasting memories -- choose the distinctive ambience of the Tropical Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tropical Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing