We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing honeymoon”
Review of Tropical Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tropical Inn
Ranked #19 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This was the perfect honeymoon B&B. We stayed at the pineapple hideaway cottage which had an entrance off of shaver street. It was a wonderful room with microwave and full fridge plus therapeutic spa for two! They have bikes on premise to rent which was extremely convenient and a must to tour the island. The breakfast is a cold breakfast but had plenty of options and there are also many terrific restaurants within walking distance. The B&B office actually is on Duval street. The caretakers are wonderful and will make recommendations and accommodations for you to make your stay amazing. We also purchased the love lock to put on their cage and cannot wait to return for future anniversaries.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliet_44144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 873 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have stayed at numerous B&B's throughout the country and the Tropical Inn is one of our favorites. The location on Duval is perfect being almost dead center. It is away from the large night crowds but only a few blocks walking or biking from Key West establishments like Blue Heaven, The Green Parrott and many others. Next door is a great little wine shop and a bakery is on the other side. Our room, Gecko's Garden, was a great selection to celebrate our 20 year anniversary with a large bathroom, a great private patio to enjoy a few drinks and just off an area next to the tropical courtyard and pool. The service staff was very cordial. Brandi and Shelby made excellent recommendations on food and activities and were extremely helpful in answering any questions. The owners, Tom and Jane, were great as well. If traveling up the Keys back to Miami, ask for Jane's Keys travel guide on recommendations on places to eat and visit. It made our anniversary getaway one of our best trips ever.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Tropical Inn is a great B&B, well appointed and the grounds are landscaped very well. the pool area is delightful for breakfast as a backdrop - or in the evening for poolside cocktails. The room was nice and comfortable and is on par with many B&B's we have stayed at in the past - nothing extraordinary. What sets Tropical inn apart from many other properties in Key West is location. The B&B is right in the middle of Duval Street, almost equal distance from Mallory Square or Southern Most Point. That made the experience excellent. So if your goal is to find a nice B&B, but be right in the middle of the Duvall Street action, and don't mind paying a bit of a premium for it - then Tropical Inn is for you. The staff was also helpful and easy to work with.

Room Tip: Our room faced the pool (rear of the building) and we did not have any issues with noise off of Duva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spruije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Tropical Inn: Absolutely great. We enjoyed every detail from accommodation, breakfast, help with scheduling local attraction. We especially liked relaxing at the pool after a day in and about the town.

Room Tip: Some at every price point; all private and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brokids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have visited Key West annually for several years and we very pleased with the Tropical Inn. It's location is central to all of the fun Duval Street has to offer while offering a quiet, relaxing place to retreat too after a full day of fun. The grounds are lovely and tropical, with a central pool and jacuzzi. The inn was very clean, comfortable and the staff was like being with family. We highly recommend the Tropical Inn for anyone that is looking for a quiet, restful location in the heart of Key West.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sun4shore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I had stayed in Key West several times over the years, but my shiny new husband had never been so I wanted to have a memorable experience for our Honeymoon. It was our first stay at the Tropical Inn - which we picked for the cottage with the hot tub (well worth the splurge). Brandy couldn't have been more helpful - booking us reservations and helping us with reservations we had already made. It was perfect. Highly recommend to anyone looking for a good getaway in the middle of everything (but still quiet and tranquil).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KGoetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We went with another couple who has stayed at the Tropical Inn during previous trips to Key West. We wanted to be on Duval St but also wanted a quieter, more private inn. This place is the absolute best of both worlds. You can walk to everything yet the garden courtyard in the back has a very private and surprisingly quiet pool. Innkeepers are so friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
0.3 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.2 mi away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 77 in Key West
1,113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#11 of 77 in Key West
960 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Paradise Inn
The Paradise Inn
#14 of 77 in Key West
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Inn

Address: 812 Duval St, (City Center), Key West, FL 33040-7406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $257 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most romantic bed and breakfast in Old Town Key West. Relax in a tropical garden oasis of tranquility with multiple pools, tucked incongruously away amidst the high energy of legendary Duval Street. This sophisticated yet informal historic inn features comfortable rooms, cottage suites with private outdoor spas, and a delectable, tropical breakfast buffet of healthy choices and delectable temptations. Enhance your Key West vacation with lasting memories -- choose the distinctive ambience of the Tropical Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Tropical Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing