We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit bed and breakfast hideaway right on Duval Street”
Review of Tropical Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropical Inn
Ranked #17 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Although you're right on Duval in the heart of the fun in Key West, the seclusion of this tropical paradise is astounding. My wife booked us for my birthday and was only able to do a couple of nights and had to split the stay between the Gecko Garden Cottage and the Pineapple Hideaway Cottage. It was wonderful to have been able to "sample" both cottages for future bookings. The staff moved our belongings seamlessly while we enjoyed getting some sun by the pool, surrounded by lush tropical plants, orchids and trees. It literally oozes romance and really is a must for couples who want to enjoy the "wonders" of Key West and then retreat back to romantic seclusion to recharge. The accommodations are modern and well thought out, the staff is five star and the location couldn't be better. We look forward to visiting regularly.

Room Tip: The Gecko Garden cottage is closer to the pool, has a sunken hot tub in the courtyard and has a king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenPicardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (870)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 870 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our second time staying at this gem on Duvall St! Everyone in this family run B&B is friendly and so very nice. Rooms are great, breakfast is just perfect, pool area comfortable..what more can I say? We rent the bikes available on-site (very convenient!) and ride to the different beaches to kick back and relax...all kinds of lotions and beach towels right there at the Inn! No need to haul your own! They even have a "mini bar" on your honor system (rather on your karma system!)

We will be back! Such an easy place to stay.

Room Tip: A variety of rooms available! Depends on your style...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coopergoblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was a beautiful inn with great service, wonderful breakfasts and relaxing garden. Our only complaint was that we picked the wrong time to go. While we were there, it was spring break for many college students and bike week in Daytona. Needless to say, our sleep was interrupted each night by both groups. I would go back again and highly recommend it just don't go in early March.

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatF680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was my second stay at the Tropical Inn, but this was my first trip with my husband. This is a charming little B&B, and the employees are the friendliest.

The three best features of the property include: the location, the patio/pool area, and the snack/drink bar. The location mid-Duval provides quicker access to each side of the island. The patio/pool area is small but stunning. There were days where we simply laid in the chairs reading under the palm trees! Additionally, the owners thoughtfully provide a small snack (ex. chips, trail mix bars, Famous Amos cookies) and drink bar (ex. water, Coca Cola products, beer, and Sutter Home wine) toward the back of the house. This is so nice for those nights you just want something small without having to run out.

It's a cute, quiet, relaxing place to stay in Key West. We never felt obligated to socialize with other guests, but they often were so friendly that we did anyway! The only downfall is the noise level you experience staying on the bottom floor. I highly recommend getting an upstairs room. That being said though, this is property is a big ol' bang for your buck!

I give it a rating of 4 out of 5 only because we have stayed in a luxury Key West hotel that I'd rate higher. There are a few things that need sprucing in the room, including a couple of in-room paint touch ups (nothing big, think minor luggage scratches), and I understand that it plays into the charm of the home to have original paint on the bathroom door. The only thing that truly bothered me was how dirty the top-of-the-wall air vent was. I'm not sure if it was brown from age or if it needed a good scrubbing. In-room highlights include: fantastic bedding (nice touch with the down pillows) and the door hanger for maid service request.

I cannot overstate what a huge deal this property offers you! This is a sweet little Inn with BIG charm. We'll be back soon!

Room Tip: Select a top floor room (if you're not in one of the charming cottages). The noise of guests com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TennesseeWifey2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spend one night at the Tropical Inn. We stayed in the Gecko's Garden. It was an beautiful private suite with a secluded patio with a jacuzzi tub. It was on Duval street but down on the quiet end so it was nice and relaxing but yet close to all the action. Would love to go again and spend more than one night!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adsimpson82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Despite the record setting cold weather, we had a wonderful time thanks in large part to Brandy, Shelby and all at the Tropical Inn. They helped us get into great restaurants and have us spot-on advice pm activities. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tipteaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This place was a great spot for a homebase for our honeymoon. It is located right on Duval, so it is a short walk to great night life. Also, they had bike rentals right in the B&B, which made daily trips to a perfect beach at Fort Zachary Taylor State Park easy and convenient. Best, when we wanted time alone, there is a wonderful back garden with a pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soma003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.2 mi away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 77 in Key West
1,089 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Paradise Inn
The Paradise Inn
#15 of 77 in Key West
1,515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silver Palms Inn
Silver Palms Inn
#11 of 51 in Key West
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Inn

Address: 812 Duval St, (City Center), Key West, FL 33040-7406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $234 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most romantic bed and breakfast in Old Town Key West. Relax in a tropical garden oasis of tranquility with multiple pools, tucked incongruously away amidst the high energy of legendary Duval Street. This sophisticated yet informal historic inn features comfortable rooms, cottage suites with private outdoor spas, and a delectable, tropical breakfast buffet of healthy choices and delectable temptations. Enhance your Key West vacation with lasting memories -- choose the distinctive ambience of the Tropical Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tropical Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing