We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis on Duval”
Review of Tropical Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropical Inn
Ranked #17 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Tropical Inn was the perfect place for a couples get-away to Key West. We stayed for 3 nights, and I would definitely go back if we ever return to the area! When booking the trip, we knew we wanted someplace on Duval Street (to be in walking distance to all of the action). The location was perfect; while we could easily walk to the "bar" scene, we felt we were on the "quieter" end of Duval, which was exactly what we were looking for.

They have bikes on-site, which we rented one afternoon to ride around the town. The pool and hot-tub area is so relaxing and we usually ended-up there for a pre-dinner "dip." Speaking of dinner, we walked every night to some fabulous nearby places, and visited the wine bar right next door on more than one occasion.

The inn keepers were friendly and helpful, and the continental breakfast exceeded my expectations. Absolutely a fantastic place to stay!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Gypsy Mermaid Room, upstairs. It was a little small, but perfectly adequate for 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kendra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (870)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 870 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

the friendliest owners and staff we ever came across, and we do travel often, the Tropical Inn is supberb in every way. Convenient to everything but peaceful,even during busy event nights.

We absolutely love it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cavanme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

this is the first time that the pictures of the hotel meet expectations. great setting, calm atmosphere and pleasing environment
the sleeping arrangements were great and the room very clean. the nose level was bad as there were many motorcycles in the area but then again that is what we went for. the breakfast was very well presented and the eating area was even better.
i would have liked the hot tub to be hotter but it was adequate for my wife. the location could not be better and the ammenities were also close by. the staff was pleasent as well as helpful when it came to advice.

Room Tip: the rooms with a balcony are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Charmin, romantic, peaceful, private, yet in the middle of all the action. The rooms are clean, spacious, and ever so lovely. We stayed at the most economical and yet we had every thing we needed, pool, hot top, back yard. The continental breakfast is not only delicious, you can sit by the pool at the lovely tables for as long as you like.

Room Tip: From the least expensive to the most expensive all rooms hold it's own charm. Check their websit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyolaMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We are locals from MM10. We wanted to be in town for our wedding night since we were getting married on the Schooner Western Union and having a party at Grand Vin later. We stayed at Gecko's Garden and enjoyed the spacious king suite and the private inground jetted dip pool. It was a most wonderful, luxurious experience. For that reason, we will return to Tropical Inn for a weekend staycation. Jane and family are nothing short of fabulous folks. Tropical Inn is luxury in tropical, Key West fashion.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaDnna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was a great place for my wife and I to stay. We had never done a bed and breakfast and werent sure what to expect. The staff at Tropical Inn really lets you control their input into your stay. They recommended places to go, and offered to make all reservations for us. We had a great time enjoying the recreational water sports, dining, shopping, and just overall essence that is Key West. We really got lucky with making the reservations at Tropical Inn, because as I stated we had never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast and we had never even been to Key West. The staff at Tropical Inn definitely made us want to come back. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We spent August 1-5 at the Tropical Inn for my wifes 50th birthday, very relaxing and a great time. Brandi met us at the Tropical Inn upon arrival near 5 pm on Wednesday, As you may have heard parking is very tight in Key West, She directed me to a secluded spot right around the corner from the Hotel after we checked in. The accomodations were very comfortable and the Orchid that I had ordered for my wife's birthday matched the decor of the room. We also met Jane and Allan and actually had quite a bit of interaction with them. They helped us out with bike rentals (on the property which was new), directions, reservations, you name it. Staying here is like finding a gem of a local restaurant in town versus a chain. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit, the location is perfect!. We have been to the Caribbean several times and I have commented to my wife and friends that I had more fun in Key West that any resort in the Caribbean. The Fort Jefferson trip is a must and Jane hooked us up with a reservation there as well. We will definately go back and stay there again. It was like being treated like family ( in the good sense, lol haha) Thanks Jane, Allan and Brandi for all that you do!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bob2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.2 mi away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 77 in Key West
1,089 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Paradise Inn
The Paradise Inn
#15 of 77 in Key West
1,515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silver Palms Inn
Silver Palms Inn
#11 of 51 in Key West
1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Inn

Address: 812 Duval St, (City Center), Key West, FL 33040-7406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $232 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most romantic bed and breakfast in Old Town Key West. Relax in a tropical garden oasis of tranquility with multiple pools, tucked incongruously away amidst the high energy of legendary Duval Street. This sophisticated yet informal historic inn features comfortable rooms, cottage suites with private outdoor spas, and a delectable, tropical breakfast buffet of healthy choices and delectable temptations. Enhance your Key West vacation with lasting memories -- choose the distinctive ambience of the Tropical Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tropical Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing