We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Tropical Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tropical Inn
Ranked #18 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed there for 6 days in June in the Key Lime Loft which is a little small but has a nice outside deck. Our son stayed in the Bamboo room which had a larger room and bathroom. Owners are wonderful, friendly and accommodating. The housekeeping staff are very pleasant too. Delicious breakfast was different each day. The pool area is shaded by the palms and an great respite from the heat. Great location on Duval Street close to everything.

Room Tip: Would recommend you really read all of the room descriptions which all have their own "perks&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (872)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 872 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

We just got back home from our stay at the Tropical Inn in Key West and what a relaxing stay it was! We booked the Key Lime Loft for 5 nights and really enjoyed it!
Things we loved:
- The location of the Inn is perfect, being half way down the main drag in town, it was a convenient walk to the pier or the beach and we returned back to our room several times a day to drop off purchased items, cool down, etc.
- The room and Inn was kept perfectly. The temperature was always comfortable and our room has a ceiling fan for some extra coolness if necessary (August can be very hot down there!). Our room was cleaned by housekeeping daily and they always provided plenty of towels, we never had to ask for anything.
- The outdoor spaces were awesome! We picked to Key Lime Loft for the private outdoor space and loved having our own porch to hang wet stuff out on or just spend some time privately outside. Also, the common pool area was amazing! We spent quite a bit of time by the pool, which had shaded areas all day long so I didn't have to wear lots of sunblock while just relaxing. Also, there were nooks to sit in that made spending time in the common pool space still a more private experience.
- The decor was very tasteful and not over the top. When looking for a B&B in a tropical area, the decor can quickly become tacky shells and brightly colored fish, but the Inn kept the color bright, but the theme minimal, which we appreciated.
- The owners and employees there are very friendly and helpful, but not in your face. They match your level of neediness and since we didn't need much, they pretty much left us to ourselves.
- They provided what we needed and then some. They had a selection of beach reads, a computer to print out our boarding passes, restaurant guides, maps, taxi cab numbers, limeade near the pool, noodles to float on in the pool, etc. Very thoughtful.
- NO KIDS!

Our only "criticisms" that kept it from a perfect score:
- Although not a big deal, when we flushed the toilet in our bathroom, it made a weird loud sounds when refilling the tank. Next time, we will probably stay in another room that is a little bigger with a nicer bathroom (and do not mistake, we WILL stay here again).
- The breakfast was definitely standard continental. We appreciated the spread of fresh, ripe fruit each day that varied a little, the baked good that varied a little, but we thought there could have been a little more of a variance from day-to-day. Ultimately, this was really not a big deal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sauce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My wife and I picked a great week to stay in Key West, the annual singer and songwriters festival. However that made available rooms hard to find. Jane was WONDERFUL in planning our stay with her at the Inn by arranging the Tropical Inn Sampler. We stayed in 4 different rooms during our 7 nights there. They each had something that made them unique and special. One had it's own entrance to a back street and a private jacuzzi. Another was right off the garden. Yet another had a wonderful 2nd floor outdoor deck that we did not even realise was there until we stayed in the room! For being in the center of Duvall it was very quiet in the garden and we never heard much music when we were in our rooms. We always had breakfast there as the main dish changes daily. We liked the quiche so much we asked for it again on our last day there and Jane delivered! Brandi helped get reservations to a sunset cruise while we were walking to the boat, that's service! Don't bring or rent a car while you are in Key West. Rent bikes directly at the Inn and come and go thru the back gate, it couldn't be easier to get around. Also out the back gate and steps away is the best dessert at Better Than Sex. Our first trip to Key West could not have been better. This is our first choice on any return trip to Key West.

Room Tip: Pineapple Hideway has it's own entrance outside of the Inn and private jacuzzi. Banyantree suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike_Zap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

In spite of the Intense summer heat, we still had a fabulous honeymoon in Key West, mostly because we decided to stay in the Pineapple Hideaway at the Tropical Inn. We both very much enjoyed our stay there. Jane and Allen were friendly, accommodating innkeepers who, while always willing to respond to our requests, also respected our need for privacy. The cottage is so charming and comfortable with a separate kitchen, porch with spa and private parking space; the continental breakfasts were healthy and delicious and healthy; the location is perfect for people who prefer to walk to explore Key West. We locked a lovelock on the birdcage in the lovely garden, and hope someday to return to this very special place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We just spent our 10th anniversary at the Tropical Inn in the Gecko's Garden room. It was cozy, roomy, with a large private patio and jacuzzi. We also had a wet bar, fridge and microwave. The bathroom was large with two sinks. It was just perfect. The grounds are wonderful: lush, tropical, private with a nice sized pool and hot tub. They had bike rentals available right on the property. Breakfasts were tasty with a hot dish every morning. The owners, Brandi, Jane and Allan are friendly, available and very accomondating. They surprised us with a complimentary bottle of champagne waiting in a silver bucket...nice touch! It's a perfect romantic getaway, and I highly recommend it for honeymooners or celebrating an anniversary. They have started a tradition of attaching "Love Locks" to a large cage with colorful flying pigs, so we got to permanently place our Love Locks to celebrate our 10th anniversary.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiana1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We traveled to KW in June 2012 and stayed at The Tropical Inn for a week. We stayed in the Mango Room. We liked the privacy of the inn as well as the helpful staff. In addition, the beautiful gardens and pool make this inn a nice place to spend time away from the hustle and bustle that is right out the front door. It's nice to be on Duval St. for location, however, it gets very busy and this inn offers a quiet alternative to the action. We will tell our friends about The Tropical Inn!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This was our first trip to Key West and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay at! We stayed in the Pineapple Hideaway which was very nice! It has a private entrance, your own little kitchenette and a fridge! It also has a private patio and your very own hot tub! Very nice! The rest of the property is also very beautiful and the gardens are well kept. It is surprisingly very quiet and relaxing for being located right on Duval St. The staff was very accomodating too! Thank you for a nice stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.4 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 77 in Key West
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#15 of 77 in Key West
947 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#23 of 77 in Key West
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Inn

Address: 812 Duval St, (City Center), Key West, FL 33040-7406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $230 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most romantic bed and breakfast in Old Town Key West. Relax in a tropical garden oasis of tranquility with multiple pools, tucked incongruously away amidst the high energy of legendary Duval Street. This sophisticated yet informal historic inn features comfortable rooms, cottage suites with private outdoor spas, and a delectable, tropical breakfast buffet of healthy choices and delectable temptations. Enhance your Key West vacation with lasting memories -- choose the distinctive ambience of the Tropical Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Tropical Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing