We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Arrived on Christmas to meet Ms. Grinch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seascape Tropical Inn
Ranked #62 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Haverhill, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Arrived on Christmas to meet Ms. Grinch”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

After driving all morning down to KW from FTL, I was delighted to find a parking spot on Olivia in close proximity to the Guesthouse. There is no on site parking and you get lucky or you don't. Since I was in the neighborhood, I decided to drop in use the bathroom, having drove quite a while before arriving. This was several hours before check in time so consider the merits of this for yourself. I was told "No" and this was one of the 2 words that were "in common" for experiences going forward. Was booked through Expedia and could not escape the reservation or would have told the unhelpful host at the desk to cancel. No need to beat a dead horse. Breakfast should start at 7 but that also is their business. Another guest's question about breakfast at about 8:00 AM was untranscribable to the host and when reduced to the word "food" was answered with "No". Food was out at 9:00AM when I went in. There is absolutely nothing wrong with the property, its upkeep or ammenities based on reasonable sensibilities. It is beautiful and I hope the the normal staff was enjoying the holiday. But can you turn away travelers who need a comfort break because it is an inconvenience and can lack the necessary communication skills to answer simple questions fly? Later, back at the Baiha Mar in FTL, I thought, "way to wreck it".

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BearsinMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
420Service, Guest Relations Manager at Seascape Tropical Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Sir, Thank-you for staying with us . After reviewing your comments, it appears that your experience was a bit mixed. We wish that your time with us had yielded a better impression, but we will certainly take your comments regarding our parking and breakfast times into consideration and aim to be clearer on these topics as we move forward. Thank-you for leaving such detailed feedback. We hope to have another opportunity to earn your business next time your're looking to get away.

All the best,
Seascape Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    82
    28
    9
    7
See reviews for
40
347
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I was so looking forward to my second stay at The Seascape and I was not disappointed - I had a wonderful time and Lyn was the most fantastic hostess! I feel that The Seascape has been excellent value in a perfect location, with a delicious breakfast to boot! When I was staying there (Dec 6 - 10), I learned that the inn had been sold and the new owners had taken over about 2 weeks previously. I had the chance to meet the new owner, who seemed very nice, and I told him not to change a thing - The Seascape is perfect the way it is! I hope he'll listen, and take note of the Tripadvisor reviews.....although I noticed on the website that the prices have already been raised.....

Room Tip: The front porch room is the largest, with Dade County pine walls and a queen bed. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArielQuick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
420Service, Manager at Seascape Tropical Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Glad to hear that we didn't disappoint! Thank you for the wonderful review, and for staying with us last December. We look forward to welcoming you back!

All the best,
Seascape Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We love The Seascape and have already made reservations for a return in March. Marcia, Dave and Lynn all very helpful and location great. Rooms are a bit snug, but we don't go to Key West to sit in our room. Looking forward to returning in March.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bannyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
420Service, Manager at Seascape Tropical Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
The team will be delighted to hear your kind words! Thank you for the excellent review.

Warm regards,
Seascape Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
214 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed in the Havana Suite, which has a king bed in the living room, a king bed in a loft, and a kitchenette. Note - The spiral steps up to the loft might be difficult for older people to negotiate. The inn had a large jacuzzi, several lounge chairs, and a breakfast area. The breakfast was good, featuring several kinds of rolls, bagels, fruit and mimosas. I thought the room was clean and the daily maid service was good. The inn is less than a block from Duval, so it was a great location. We were far enough down Duval that it was very quiet at the inn, but a short walk to the bars. All of the people we encountered were very friendly. I also like the friendly cat that lived on the property, since I was missing my dogs. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank advonefin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Nothing exceptional given the price paid. Location great, right off Duvall. For us everything seemed cramped. we understand this a B and B. Given that, rooms still seemed small. Sleep quality not the best - pillows hard and flat plus sheets were pilling. Breakfast seemed skimpy, compared with previous reviews. Best feature nice soaking pool with secluded deck in back. No off street parking. Hostess Lynne great. Like honor wine bar. Street roosters interesting wake up calls.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1947res
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
420Service, Guest Relations Manager at Seascape Tropical Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
We appreciate your candid remarks. We really havent had any complaints about our Breakfast. Our aim is to please and we have taken all your remarks seriously. We haope you will consider us on a future trip to Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cokato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a lovely B&B about 1/2 block south of Duval St, where much of the entertainment happens. The hosts Marcia and Dave, along with thier assistant Lynn, were very friendly. The weather was quite hot, so the pool was refreshing.This is a true Key West type B&B, so much nicer than staying in a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjluhmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2012

What a great place to stay in Key West! Close to everything, Very quiet, clean location off of Duval Street. Great value. Our hosts were very friendly, informative and always there when we needed something. Great to wake up and have a fresh cup of coffee and breakfast waiting for us. Lynn, Marcia and Dave were great and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liza Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Casablanca at Bogart's
Casablanca at Bogart's
#46 of 77 in Key West
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wicker Guesthouse
Wicker Guesthouse
#57 of 77 in Key West
626 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Duval House
The Duval House
#47 of 77 in Key West
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#10 of 77 in Key West
844 reviews
0.0 mi away
Andrews Inn and Garden Cottages
0.3 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#21 of 77 in Key West
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seascape Tropical Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seascape Tropical Inn

Property: Seascape Tropical Inn
Address: 420 Olivia St, Key West, FL 33040-7411
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Seascape Tropical Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from the everyday at the Seascape Tropical Inn. Enjoy one our seven tropically appointed rooms or our spacious Havana Suite. Secluded sundecks, in-ground heated pool/spa and lush tropical gardens surround you in quiet serenity. Seascape Tropical Inn, one of Key Wests best kept secrets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Seascape Tropical Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seascape Tropical Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing