We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“It's like home !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Key West Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Key West Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It's like home !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2004

It was our second time there. Last year for 2 weeks and this year for another two weeks. The place is great. Good food, cool atmosphere. Always clean. Everyone who works there makes sure your having a wonderfull stay.

Guess where we'll go next year...

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BernardMarcheterre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    61
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
61
587
79
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2004

We have come to Key West every year for the last fifteen years. Each year we pick a different place to stay.
Key West has so many beautiful old mansions that have been turned into wonderful guest houses and most of them are in old town. We have always enjoyed trying out the different guest houses and enjoy seeing how each one is renovated and remodeled.

Our friends told us about the Key West Bed and Breakfast and, as we hadn't stayed there we decided to choose it for our vacation this year. I am so glad we found this place!

We were greeted at the door by the cutest little dog and the owner was right behind. We were showed to our room by her manager Liz who could not have been more charming. Our room was on the second floor and had double doors that brought us out to our own small private deck that overlooked beautiful orchids in an orange tree in the back garden.

Liz spent several minutes with us showing us a map of Key West and pointing out many interesting things. Even after coming down for so many years she showed us things we did'nt even know about like The Butterfly Conservancy and Nancy's secret garden. (both wonderful) Everything she told us about was great, she even mentioned some of our favorite restaurants.

This B&B is decorated with fabulous art and is whimsical throughout. The kitchen is vibrant with color and we enjoyed the fresh fruit and great cakes and breads. We even made our own fresh squeezed o.j.! Music is piped through all the common areas and the staff picked the tone for the time of day.

The lack of t.v.'s in the house made for an even more relaxing stay. We couldn't have been happier to get away from all the dreadful news that seems to be everywhere today.

My husband and I agree that we will be returning to the Key West Bed and Breakfast. Our search is over. There are many great B&B's in Key West, this place offered it all, location, relaxation, charm,a great staff and wonderful dogs.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2004

I am so happy to have discovered Key West B&B. The house is lovely, our room was large, well ventilated, and had an extremely comfortable bed. The surroundings are very pretty especially the orchids all around the deck and cooling pool. The breakfast provided consists for fresh, fresh fruit and delicious home-made baked goods. Best of all is the staff! They are unbelievably friendly and helpful. We were given great tips on things to do and restaurants, all close to the house. And they are eager and open to just having a friendly conversation. It was as if we were staying at the home of close friends or relatives. A truly lovely place to stay in Key West.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2004

The Key West Bed and Breakfast provides it's guests with a welcoming atmosphere. The employees are very pleasant and friendly. Our third floor room was perfect overlooking the skyline of Key West. The room was very clean and neat. Breakfast consisted of delicious fruits and homemade breads that were out of this world! We can't wait to return!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2004

The Key West Bed and Breakfast was picked from the internet site unseen. Everything was superb. It exceeded our expectations. Our room was extreemly neat, clean and very quaint. As we sat on the lovely shaded patio meeting new friends we enjoyed a delicious breakfast consisting of an assortment of fruits, homemade breads, fresh orange juice, and bagels. Thanks to Key West Bed and Breakfast, our trip to Key West was truly a memorable one!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2004

We stayed at Popular House after a referral from a friend over the 4th of July weekend and were more than thrilled! The staff was excellent and met our every need from useful information, bike rentals and reservations to taking pictures in the beautiful garden! The breakfast was tropical and sumptuous, and we had no problems with the shared bath accomodations. The second floor balcony was the perfect setting for a surprise engagement! We're planning our wedding in Key West and will definitely be staying at the Popular House during the festivities.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Edge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2004

My best friend and and I were looking for a relaxing, sun filled trip and we settled on Key West and the Key West Bed & Breakfast. What an AMAZING find!! We returned on 7/21/04 from a 4 night stay and it was the first B&B experience for both of us. Frankly I will avoid resorts and large hotels as often as I can in the future, perhaps FOREVER.

Our first experience with Popular House is a testament to their service. We were late driving in from Ft. Lauderdale and called to find out what the after hours check-in procedure was. Liz explained it and then asked what we drank in the morning -- coffee with milk and sweet-n-low for me and tea with milk and sugar for my friend. Liz made sure that even if we arrived too late to be personally greeted (which thankfully didn't happen) our morning beverage would feel like home.

The Popular House is like staying at a rich aunt's Caribbean hideway . . . she gives you the inside info to checking out the sites and sounds; calls local vendors and tours to get you the best rates and excursions; she gives you a key to the front door so you can let yourself in on your own time. We recommend trying not to misplace your keys or you might need a little help from fellow guests :-). (Thanks Craig.)

The fresh baked cakes and breads every morning will keep me a regular guest of Popular House for a long time to come. Enjoying them with bagels and fresh fruit on the patio amidst a lush garden of tropical plants and flowers was amazing, as was the morning visit from the local geckos scampering throughout the gardens.

We stayed in one of the 3rd floor rooms which had a cozy nook with daybed and a queen size bed which has french doors at the bottom opening up to a small patio where we enjoyed cocktails in the evening and the glorious sun in the morning. The room was SPOTLESS. Sheets were light and soft like in high end boutique hotels, extra blankets were available if we needed them (we didn’t).

Bathroom was also clean clean clean and though amenities you might find in large hotel chains are not part of the B&B experience, my friend and I both remarked how wonderful smelling the liquid soap was. We were pleasantly surprised to find a hair dryer under the sink (though in the tropics who needs that?). Towels were soft and plentiful and the shower had great water pressure. We could have used a few more hangars in the closet.

Beach towels and chairs were at our disposal, and each of the 3 members of Jody's staff that we encountered offered a local perspective on what to see and do and where eat (very important). A huge thanks to Liz, Jerry and Natalie for all your wonderful suggestions.

We were two single women looking to relax, drink fruity cocktails, soak in the UNBELIEVABLE hottub (more like a plunge pool) and catch some rays snorkeling. Our expectations for this last minute getaway were more than exceeded and we both plan to return sooner than later!

Helpful?
5 Thank slyons29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.8 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 50 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 50 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#5 of 50 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Marker Waterfront  Resort Key West
0.1 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Bed and Breakfast

Property: Key West Bed and Breakfast
Address: 415 William St, Key West, FL 33040-6853
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Caribbean Casual ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Key West Bed And Breakfast - The Popular House Hotel Key West
Key West b&b - The Popular House
Key West b And b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing