We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AAHHHH!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Key West Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“AAHHHH!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Escape to a parallel universe at the Key West Bed and Breakfast where the rooms are elegant (and immaculate) the art work is eclectic and the staff offer sumptuous breakfasts and tips for the best restaurants, beaches and amusements. You can enjoy a book or newspaper on one of several porches, a balcony, or a little nook tucked alongside of the patio. Indulge in a late night hot-tub after a day of walking and delightful food in Key West's marvelous restaurants. Liz and Trish and the rest will see to it that your every need is met! Recommended for those looking for an elegant alternative to the rowdier side of Key West.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    953
    63
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
64
621
82
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

After many trips to Key West, staying with family in private homes, it was time to upgrade this trip, a celebration of a new relationship with a wonderful lady. Since I'd read many reviews about The Popular House on Tripadvisor (and had missed out on many stays by not reserving early enough), this time I made sure that they would have a room for the trip. Of course, if you choose to travel to the Keys in August, reserving early to ensure a room makes it impossible to anticipate the weather conditions for your stay.
No matter. Upon our arrival at EYW, we were greeted by a 42-year local, Cap'n Eddie, who gave us both an "official" Conch Republic Welcome, ending in a resounding blast from a conch horn which could be heard all the way to the beach!
The short taxi ride to the Popular House allowed for some great sights and anticipated good times during our stay. Liz and her staff at the B&B were very welcoming, escorting us to a huge room where we settled in quickly, then walked the three or so blocks to Duval Street to find a snack and liquid refreshment. With no in-room phones nor TVs, we really hadn't noticed that the on-air reporters for the Weather Channel - all of them - had arrived in Key West to report on some storm called Isaac, currently tropical in strength, but threatening to launch northward from Cuba heading for... you guessed it!
When you come to this Inn, you will be sooo pleased with the warmth and hospitality delivered by the staff, but upon our return, it appeared that a sizeable group of guests were negotiating an early departure, apparently worried about this storm to the South. The Inn is actually very cognizant of changing weather in the Keys, and have developed a policy relating to evacuation from storms, etc., which I believe is fair and follows good business practices. BUY TRIP INSURANCE!!
Long story less long, the storm did build to hurricane strength, Liz made the prudent decision to send her staff home to their families, and, with the two of us the only guests left in the place, she went home too, handing us the keys to ride out the storm. So throughout the passage of Isaac, we were in a hammock on the open porch watching palm trees bend and lightning flash. Neither of us will forget this exciting, exhilarating and very special vacation. You must go there!

Room Tip: We'll choose a room with private bath next time, but no issues arose. BUY TRIP INSURANCE! We di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heartlandchaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Everything here is wonderful: the room, the common area, the breakfast. The staff are really helpful and made great recommendations on local food and amenities. Fantastic B&B and we would like to be there again if we had another visit to Keywest.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Plati00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Popular House in June of 2012 and had a wonderful stay. The room was great, the breakfast was very good and the staff couldn’t have been nicer. We arrived a day late after a storm in Atlanta and were travel weary and worn to say the least. The welcome we received made us feel at home as we were lead into the air conditioned kitchen to go over the best places to visit in Key West and places to dine. We decided not to take a car and the B&B had bikes that were available to rent for a really nice price. They even let us use their hammocks to go to the beach. They thought of everything to make our visit with them pleasant. Our room was clean and cool and the shared bathroom was clean and well cared for, this had been a concern for both my husband and me as we don’t usually like to share bathrooms with others. I appreciated the outside areas that they had made so we could enjoy the breeze and eat outside in the morning. If we ever go back to Key West we will stay at the Popular House.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarlaJZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This was a return visit. Exemplary accommodation.The staff are really happy and helpful and the legendary breakfast is still legendary. You can not go wrong with this B and B. I will return again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLBowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This place is perfect for a Key West visit. They were fantastic hosts and you can't beat the location...just a short walk to the hopping-est part of Duval, but nice and quiet when you're ready for bed. We stayed in the King Room, which is an absolutely beautiful room with one of the coolest beds I've ever slept in...one warning, it is across from the front desk, so if you want to sleep really late you might be woken up to the sound of people checking in or out. Breakfast is nothing fancy but they do it well...fresh breads, yummy fruits, we were not left wanting more. We spent our days walking Duval and found their hot tub to be the perfect place to wind down before bed. We'll definitely stay here anytime we come to Key West.

Room Tip: We stayed in the King Room and if we came back we'd definitely request this room again...it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mhuls13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I spent part of the Thanksgiving week in Key West and stayed at the Key West Bed and Breakfast on William Street. From the moment we arrived on Wednesday afternoon until Sunday morning when we departed for home the staff and guests were all so friendly and helpful. The staff had recommendations on places to eat, shop and party along with coupons for many discounts at local restaurants, attractions and bars. Guests who had been there before also had recommendations on places to go and see. Each morning while having breakfast we shared what adventures other guests had the day before and were able to plan out activities, some mornings, from recommendations of the guests at breakfast.

The residence itself is very quaint, exceptionally clean with wonderful art work and the morning breakfast is to die for! Each morning there is a new and different home baked item which is very delicious. While we were there we had a fruit cobbler and a sour cream apple pie was absolutely delicious! Along with the baked goods they serve a variety of fresh fruits, bagels, toast, fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee and an over abundance of hospitality!

The B & B is within walking distance of Duvall Street, Mallory Square and many attractions, restaurants and shops.

We would recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone visiting Key West!

Room Tip: We stayed in the yellow room which was on the back side of the B & B and had its on bathroom and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ycampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.7 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.5 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,650 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#6 of 51 in Key West
1,013 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Bed and Breakfast

Property: Key West Bed and Breakfast
Address: 415 William St, Key West, FL 33040-6853
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Caribbean Casual ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Key West b&b - The Popular House
Key West Bed And Breakfast - The Popular House Hotel Key West
Key West b And b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing