We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, quiet, and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Heron House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heron House
Ranked #55 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Groton, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet, and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Our room was very nice. The pool is small, but nice for a dip to cool off. The staff was not overly friendly but they were accommodating. Don't stay here if wild, noisy parties are in your plans.
They have a no cell phone rule in the public areas which explains the dirty looks, when I was on the phone during breakfast. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RhondaD718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    120
    70
    29
    25
See reviews for
16
298
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

What happened!?! We first stayed here 3 years ago and fell in love with this little inn with its private grounds and lush landscaping and great location, (2 blocks off Duval). However, it is visibly apparent that the Heron House needs some TLC. Rooms needs some serious updating, (worn out towels, wall paper peeling, lumpy mattress, dripping faucet, TV that would NOT go off, blinds that had to be closed by hand, (one slat at a time), etc).

What was even more apparent is lack of service there now and how "unhappy" the staff and even the Owners seem to be. No warm welcome, no smiles, no "warm" moments at all. Even when we were checking out, no” thanks for staying”, instead we got, "Just leave your keys".

Sadly, we will be checking out different Inn’s upon on next visit to Key West.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mizhaughty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Nice grounds, friendly staff.
We stayed in a garden room the faucets dripped and the trim in bathroom needed to be finished.
The location is nice and close to Duval street ,just a short 2 block walk.
The cost was a little pricey for what you got.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheyenne30523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Location was great and grounds were very private and filled with lush tropical landscaping. Nice sun deck with lounge chairs but none around the pool deck due to limited space. The atmosphere is definitely geared towards the retired type of crowd as noted by the "no cell phone" signs posted everywhere and some of the staff could use some happy pills. Our room also did smell musty, the mattress had a big hump in the middle, the grout in the floors could be cleaned a bit, the toilet was wobbly and we had some issues with some of the wicker dresser drawers. The room was kept cool by a window AC unit and we had extension cords along the wall and one running under the area rug going to under the bed. We did enjoy our stay don't get me wrong but it seemed to us that the "pain stakenly renovations" as stated on the web site must have been completed some years ago.

Room Tip: Rooms opposite the pool are much more private and no WIFI in rooms unless you are close to the break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We extended our stay in key west as we liked it and stayed for two nights after already being in key west at another property ( which was fully booked so could stay on)
This wasn't a cheap property , but not as expensive as some ! Very well located , room very nice but needs curtains as the light shines into the blinds at 7am ! And I'm on holiday !!!! Clean room .
The pool was ok, need to maintain it better and I'm not sure why the sun beds aren't next to the pool ?? But in a different area . The photos online show nice padded beds - not the case
The beds were upstairs so a "dip" in the pool then lay back down wasn't possible without climbing stairs - not great for people with mobility issues . Little chairs round pool, but I didn't feel comfortable
Breakfast was ok, we came down late after trying to get back to sleep after our sunshine wake up , got a few things but then all the breakfast things were taken without asking if we were finished , not great really !
There was something I just didn't quite like about this place , maybe i didn't feel too comfortable with the sign in my room saying this is someone's house , respect it ! Staff ok , not rude , but not over polite . We just didn't take to the place after staying in another better B and B . At £170 a night it just didn't cut it for me !

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank whalemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adams, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We arrived around 7pm, a clerk checked us in.Our poolside room smelled so bad and sharply of mold/mildew, but we thought once the air kicks in it will go away. Not so, we both developed horrible headaches, did not sleep, air conditioner noisy, ineffective, cracked floor tiles under a dusty carpet, fan in bathroom super noisy. Requested and got a so called Garden room with a small, sunny, neglected porch, messy, tired plants, (I cleaned them up, watered them) ratty chairs, I requested a simple blanket since the comforter looked questionable, they gave us a nasty blanket with a big burned spot in it, and part of the blanket cut off, so we just used the sheet as a cover. Breakfast was plentiful, helpful, friendly employee kept the buffet stocked. Pool messy with leaves etc, sanitation questionable but still okay. We never saw an inn keeper, just a sorrowful looking manager who when outside was very skilled at totally ignoring guests to the point of being rude.It was very clear he did not like his job or the guests, I actually felt sorry for him...He did give us a little smile when we checked out.. wow.. I am not sure how this place can pass a health inspection, or if it EVER had one. I stripped our bed when we left, Could not believe what I saw. it was pretty awful, but also a rather strange, skillfully layered mess: Mattress encased in ripped greyish plastic, on top one of the ratty, lumpy, OLD comforters (both our rooms had nasty comforters, did not even want to touch them) loosely covered by an old blanket which was "studded" with escaped prickly feathers, then a really sorry excuse for a mattress pad and then the thinnest, most worn dingy grey sheets. If I had seen this whole mess under the sheets the first night I would have been sick, but on the plus side, the threadbare sheets seemed clean, we did not catch anything, We travel to a lot of B&Bs, they are generally fine, this one has to be the worst we have ever encountered. Our room was $250.- per night, but even for half that it was still a disgrace. With a lot of effort and investment by the owners it could be a great place again. We talked to some other guests, they mentioned the musty smell too, but apparently not as bad as our first room. We have to give praise to the people who put on the breakfast buffet and cleaned the rooms, they gave it their best with what they had to work with.

Room Tip: Don't know what the other rooms looked like, but the little outside area by the garden room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
175 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Just one block off Duval Street, but quietly situated behind beautiful landscaping and fencing, the Heron House has become our inn of choice in Key West. The rooms are clean and cool, the bedding fresh and comfortable, the pool area quiet and shaded. Breakfast each morning includes a daily hot special and stacks of newpapers. The staff is pleasant and immediately attentive to any issues. Happy hour in the breezeway is only on weekends, unfortunately.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.5 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#32 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.1 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#21 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#13 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Paradise Inn
The Paradise Inn
#17 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
0.5 mi away
Azul Key West
Azul Key West
#47 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heron House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heron House

Property: Heron House
Address: 512 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-6832
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heron House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private Retreat situated in the heart of Old Town; 1 block from Duval Street & 4 blocks from Hemingway House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heron House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing