We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and great location”
Review of Heron House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heron House
Ranked #56 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Solomons, MD
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely and great location”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

It has a beautiful courtyard, lovely cottages, and a nice pool. The courtyard is private and secure from the public. It had bistro tables and wicker chairs. Many guests sat outside with glasses of wine prior to evening out. Everyone was friendly. The interior of the cottages are darling! Very clean, updated, and comfortable. Heron offered a full breakfast each morning. The guests we met were repeat guests, and some were booking a cottage for the following year. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room facing the court yard and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktyrrell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    123
    74
    30
    26
See reviews for
16
309
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rye, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My partner and I recently stayed at this wonderful Oasis on Simonton Street for 5 days. This bed and breakfast is outstanding, super quiet, beautifully landscaping, clean big spacious room.

We utterly enjoyed the visits from the resident cat welcome us to our room and visited with us every day. I alway appriciate seeing resident pet during our B&B's stays; they make you feel at home and welcome.

Restuarants, snack and provisions, bars, shopping all within walking distance. The Heron House staff is very accommodating, we arrived later than expected and everything was ready for us. Room keys in a lock box with a map to our suite. The B&B served up a nice breakfast each day with something for everyone. The pool is attractive and nice, deck / patio provided just the right amount of privacy. Thank you Heron House for a wonderful stay. We wish we could have enjoyed your facility longer but we will be back soon. Parking was a breeze we parked on Fleming Street during our entire stay without any problem.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a king bed and patio, if possible. We loved room 42 second floor and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Art N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Greeted warmly by host, Roman, our rooms were clean bright spacious and welcoming. Small tv, giant bed...very comfy. In key west this b&b is located in a quiet street away from the crazy cheesy Duval st. Easy walk to all the restos and tourist spots including the docks. Better to walk everywhere or taxi, bike...driving is a hassle.
Nice jacuzzi in main courtyard yard where guests chat and exchange food reviews. Breakfast coffee doesn't start until 8:30 so walk around corner to good bakery for better coffee...opens at 7!
Heron house with friendly host definitely a good choice. Enjoyed our stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Have been to Heron House 3 times in recent years but this most recent visit in Nov 2013 was disappointing. The property is not up to prior standards. Water bug in bathroom, slow draining sink, damaged umbrella on sun deck. Sun deck furniture rather old and worn. Buildings need power wash and paint. Sorry to see this as this was a wonderful property but it appears the owners are not keeping up with the maintenance. Will probably not return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I have stayed and visited in Key West before, and thought of trying Heron House, as I have stayed across the street at the Marquesa. I was disappointed in heron House. First there is no parking- and KW is a street parking/pay nightmare, so consider this. The pool side room, was small with a very noisy AC unit. The fiberglass shower bottom was cracked and patched up, bad handyman style. Think soap in your eyes and what am I stepping on? For the cost of the room, well, they could have done better or replaced the shower unit. It is quiet, has a lovely courtyard, and is walking distance to various key west attractions.

Room Tip: Don't get #3
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were originally scheduled to stay here and had booked our trip through hotels.com. Check-in is between 3pm-7pm and when we arrived at 5pm, the office was shutdown and NO staff available to assist. After an HOUR of calling all available telephone numbers, and hotels.com attempting the same, we were ready to be moved to another location. Finally, some guests exited through the LOCKED gate and we went inside as one last attempt for assistance. We found an envelope with our name taped to the side of the building with only a map leading us to our room. Once there, we found it unlocked with our keys on the table. We started to settle in when the proprietor FINALLY returned our call and insisted that if were going to be a late check-in, WE should have called (remember, we showed up right in the middle of check-in). We explained that a call or some additional instruction would have been helpful to facilitating our check-in. When the proprietor explained that he prides himself on great customer service and this whole issue was our fault, we decided we did not want to stay at a location where we were not valued and would be treated poorly. We called hotels.com back and they moved us IMMEDIATELY to the Crowne Plaza La Concha, and even provided breakfast each morning. A GREAT move and we were glad that we did NOT stay at a place that has no concern for their guests experience, or providing services that were contracted.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great spot on Simonton Street just a couple blocks from all the action on Duval Street. It's quiet, beautifully landscaped and immaculately clean. Pick your interest, sunsets, restuarants, bars, etc it's all within walking distance.

Room Tip: Many choices from budget to upscale
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
0.5 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#35 of 77 in Key West
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#11 of 77 in Key West
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.1 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#21 of 77 in Key West
1,472 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Paradise Inn
The Paradise Inn
#17 of 77 in Key West
1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heron House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heron House

Property: Heron House
Address: 512 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-6832
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heron House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private Retreat situated in the heart of Old Town; 1 block from Duval Street & 4 blocks from Hemingway House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heron House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing