We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heron House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heron House
Ranked #57 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Dundee
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A gem of a place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We returned here after a visit a few years back. Was just as good as the last time. Our friends were delighted....." The best place we have ever stayed in", was some of the comments made. We had the same room as last time(43). Right beside the pool.........fantastic. It did smell a bit damp, but this is a very very humid area. This was not a complaint. It was great to get up and just jump in the pool. The staff were very attentive. Lovely breakfast each day. Just one street bck from Duval, so it was very central. Would we return........YES.

Room Tip: Come out the Heron House, turn left and left again. Great supermarket for wine and beer, they also a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greystane64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    119
    70
    28
    25
See reviews for
16
295
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

when I was searching for a room, I saw the reviews about the place and was not sure. I can be very picky about where I stay for vacations. let me just say Roman made our stay special. From the time we check in to our last day he made us feel at home. he's extremely helpful and friendly. being that he's been there for over ten years shows he really love what he is doing. the place is very clean, cozy, and quite. some places are in waking distance but I would recommend renting a bike. we will definitely return.Jane is sweet also. Thanks Roman, sincerely toni :-). ps we loved the pool perfect temperature

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinesha001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

As a whole we didn't mind the place because we weren't there that much. I will say a few things so others can make an informed decision.
Pros: Quiet space, location close to everything, enjoyed breakfast (nothing fancy), enjoyed visiting with guest. Rooms were comfy, but nothing fancy.
Cons: All indoor parts smelled of mildew, staff wasn't the most polite, older facilities with normal wear and tear.
Overall we were okay with our stay since we weren't around more than to sleep, but I wouldn't say it was the fanciest of all places to be. We may or may not stay here again but enjoyed our stay this time around.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank April B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Arrived for our sixth visit to Heron House. Was handed keys and told our room number. The entire staff is not overly friendly. Never has been. Owner from UK runs tight ship. We have never, ever been offered an upgrade or discount for being a repeat customer. Have since found a place that offers extras to returning guests. Room 44 bed is awful. Same room we were assigned the last visit. At least this visit the TV had been fixed, but the commode still rocks back and forth. While the location is great, the prices charged and the service received are average. The breakfast has now eliminated any "hot" foods. Probably for the summer. Asked but no one could answer.

Room Tip: If you want a room that open on to the pool, select room 1, 2, or 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MG2120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Daytona, Florida
Level Contributor
210 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Heron House was a very convenient location to all the happenings in the Duval Street area. Our room by the pool was lovely with a few minor issues. We agree with many of the other comments people have made however we spend very little time in our room.

Biggest drawback-no parking-it's find your own space or lot. We spent quite a lot of money for 4 days of parking.

I have never been to a hotel that doesn't address you by name arriving and leaving. The staff was not friendly. When leaving we were not even asked how we enjoyed our stay.

Our tv remote was not working. The safe activation was off. All of those things should have been checked prior to guests arriving. The sheets in one of the beds had holes in them, a real turn off. The hotels had stains from make up on them, again a real turn off The pool grout definitely needed a good cleaning. It is an old piece of property and we realize it is hard to maintain however if you expect top dollar, clean it up.

The continental breakfast was outside in a lovely covered area. It was adequate. For a great breakfast go to SARABETH's a few steps away.

We would probably find a different hotel or B & B next time. We still had a wonderful time despite the shortcomings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I would definitely stay here again and recommend to my friends. My mother and I stayed in room 2 which was just the right size for us. Everything was very clean, complimentary breakfast was fresh, and the gates made it feel very safe. The 18+ policy ensured no loud children playing to disturb anyone. Super close to Duval Street, Mallory Square and the harbour. Absolutely everything we were looking for in our Key West experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleRedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Bests: Roman, the innkeeper, was helpful, charming, and accommodating!
Location was good, in old town
Worsts: room 8 was too small!
Details need updating- frayed towels, threadbare bed linens, noisy air conditioner (which they did quickly work on which lowered the noise considerably!)
Bathroom way too small and not updated at all- drippy faucet kept the light sleeper awake
Good: basic breakfast was nice to have, but after a day or two (we stayed 4 nights), you will want to visit one of Key Wests's lovely breakfast/coffee places instead of eating toasted breads, jelly, cereal, and coffee/oj.
Nice to have a pool and hot tub, but both were approx same temp!
Parking is tough- if you find a good spot - not one labeled "Residents"!!!!- stay there. Rent a bike - Roman will hook you up, & they will deliver bike to you within minutes! Bikes are the only way to go here!

All in all, if I go back to Key West, I probably won't stay here again, but it was a very islandy experience and not bad. I'd stay in a more spacious room though for sure if I did!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasRangerroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#36 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.1 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#13 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#20 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Paradise Inn
The Paradise Inn
#17 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
0.5 mi away
Azul Key West
Azul Key West
#48 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heron House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heron House

Property: Heron House
Address: 512 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-6832
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heron House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private Retreat situated in the heart of Old Town; 1 block from Duval Street & 4 blocks from Hemingway House. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heron House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing