We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and stinky”
Review of Heron House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heron House
Ranked #56 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 9, 2013

On first entering our "Junior Suite" (darky, dingy room with sofa and stained cushions) we were knocked back by the smell of damp / mildew. There is no central air in the hotel - the units were so loud it was almost impossible to sleep.

Breakfast was lame. Chewy croissants and hard boiled eggs that looked like they had been recycled several mornings.

Of the three days we stayed, there was no hot water for two.

The pool was tired and had mildew in the grout cracks.

The staff were unfriendly, never greeted us and made every effort to avoid eye contact.

The [only] good thing about this hotel is its location. It's easy to be somewhere else. And I would recommend you spend as much time as possible somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrLivingstone41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 465 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

The place was very charming. The rooms were nicely designed and decorated. The staff seemed to be very helpful. At least the first 24 hours we were there. My wife loved the wine and cheese before we went out for the night. We have been to Key West multiple times and always stay at the Hyatt. I was talked into staying at the heron house. At first I was very pleasantly surprised. Until about 4am the second night there. I felt myself scratching and itching like an animal while I was asleep. I woke up and found both my wife and I were covered in love making bed bugs. I'll stop there. If it wasn't for that night and the eggs I had trying to hatch under my skin for the next 2 weeks, the place would have been fine. Whether this was a one time incident, it was our last visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nopatients
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We loved the location(easy access to everything), and our own porch for privacy. What was disappointing was the constant smell of smoke. This was even surrounding the breakfast buffet because the condo located by the buffet had a smoker who would sit on his porch and smoke while we ate breakfast. No smoking in the rooms so smokers are everywhere else, the hallways, the pool, etc.

Room Tip: Upper level on the end for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Perfectly located a block off Duval Street. Peaceful and quiet, but very convenient to everything. The price is too much for the room itself, which was small, smelled strange (which you stop noticing within a few minutes), needed a paint job and had a below-average bathroom. It is clean though, with a comfortable bed. The breakfast is very simple, but pleasant and served al fresco. The staff is helpful enough, but not warm or particularly welcoming. They seem to do their job begrudgingly. The pool is adequate, surrounded by wicker furniture, no beach/lounge chairs. Would stay here again if we got a better price on the room, since we know what to expect and the location is great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LexiJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed in room 5 and loved it because it has it's own porch and is in a secluded area of the property. This is a great place for an afternoon escape from the key west craziness. It's around the corner from the local grocery store and a short walk to the middle of the action. Mini fridge in room was great. Parking in front is paid, but free parking on all surrounding streets was a breeze. Old town trolley has a nearby pick up/drop off spot - handy because you get two days use for the price of one day. This is a very quiet, adult place.

Room Tip: We loved room 5 because it is in a secluded area with a private porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeandLeesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great location and nice pool area but room was tired and bathroom was simply unacceptable at this price - more cheap motel than luxury inn. Room was furnished with an assortment of furniture (more thrift store than anything better!) and had a musty smell - hence the humidifier unit in the room! Bathroom was quaint but the shower cubicle simply needs replacing.

The greedy owners charged me $240 per night which is far too high for this poor quality of accomodation - even in Key West!

Breakfast is quite good although it is a pity the owners cannot afford to buy a decent toaster or two!

Close to Duval Street which is great - parking is very difficult!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Heron House as part of her birthday and diving getaway. The Bed & Breakfast style hotel was quiet and cozy. We enjoyed the fact that it was off the main drag of Duval Street, yet close enough to enjoy the short walk to the Duval Street area. Parking is a problem however, as it is with much of Key West. Hint: There is a parking lot about 3 blocks from the hotel that will allow you to pay for multiple days with in & out privileges. Although you really don't need to drive anywhere once your in the Old Key West. The hotel itself was generally nice, except the room was very musty smelling. That is really the only complaint we have. The breakfast part of the stay was good - not great - but met our needs. Staff is friendly and as attentive as you want them to be. The feel of a tropical locale in the middle of a city.....we would stay there again.

Bruce
Amesbury, Mass

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wbmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#5 of 51 in Key West
1,034 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#33 of 77 in Key West
474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#10 of 77 in Key West
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.2 mi away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#52 of 77 in Key West
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#22 of 77 in Key West
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heron House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heron House

Address: 512 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-6832
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $171 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heron House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private Retreat situated in the heart of Old Town; 1 block from Duval Street & 4 blocks from Hemingway House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heron House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing