We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Stay!”
Review of Heron House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heron House
Ranked #56 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Loved the Heron House. This was our first trip to Key West and we loved it! Great location, nice room and lush private quiet grounds. We stayed in the junior suite and it was perfect. Wonderful free breakfast! Will return to Heron House again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimZ596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 465 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

Don't book room 14 the smell of mold was strong, room 12 was better but still very musty,other guests told us there rooms where fine.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed for four days at the Heron House and it could not have been better. The location is great as you can walk to everything. On the down side, there is no parking therefore you have to park on the street which may be a couple of blocks from the hotel. (We did not have a problem finding parking) This is not a party location, it is more like a spa which was exactly what we were looking for. The rooms facing the pool are a bit on the small side, but we had a larger room away from the pool which was very nice. We would come again and ask for the same room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank SRuf_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This was our first trip to Key West and we did a lot of research for a B & B. We finally decided on Heron House for several reasons - proximity to Duval Street, price, internet pictures. Upon arrival, our bubble was burst big time. The person at the front desk (general mgr, I think) was extremely rude and never made any effort to make us feel welcome - even when we tried to talk him up about things to do, etc. he was very unhelpful. The room that we were in was nice - off the pool and downstairs - which I found out to be a HUGE mistake - the ceilings are paper thin - you can hear everything, including the bathroom!! And the rooms were not maintained well - we had 4 missing or burned out light bulbs, a refrigerator that was too cold in the freezer and not very cold in the frig, among other things. We settled in and decided to walk down to Front Street for some dinner. We stopped by the office and there we encountered Josh!! What an attitude this guy has and not a good one at that!! We asked him a few questions, hoping that his answers would be better than the first guy, but soon found out that the only words Josh knows are "Yep" and "Nope". RUDE, RUDE, RUDE! And come to find out that when speaking with other guests, his was just as bad with them. We are spending good money at this place - you would think that they could at least fake it and try and make us feel welcome. On our fourth day, which was suppose to be our last, we decided to stay one more night. We stopped by and inquired of Josh, and all he said was "your room is still available" took our cc and NEVER said thank you, go to hell, NOTHING!! If this is what these 2 guys think customer service is, then they both should be fired - maybe if they received this type of "service" they would be a little more courteous to people - after all, it is our $$$$$ that is paying your salary!! There are too many other places to stay, at the same or better rates, to have to tolerate this treatment. WE WILL NEVER RETURN TO HERON HOUSE AND WE WILL DO EVERYTHING TO DISCOURAGE OTHERS FROM MAKING THE SAME MISTAKE!!

Room Tip: pick a different B & B!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sally l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here several times over the years and always loved it. Returned this year and was disapointed. The property changed hands a few years back and has gone down hill. It was a labor of love for the previous owners and it was always it tip top shape and quiet. The front office was always doing whatever it took to make your stay memorable such as a welcome glass of wine at check in, offering to get luggage from car etc. This visite they didn't even offer to get luggage. Upon walking into room we were greated by the stong smell of bleach, we left room to go walk the city when we returned the smell changed to that of mold. After spending some time in at the property noticed the property was in need of attention every where you looked, "Outside" Fish pond was cloudy, moldy and rotted wood, areas that needed painting etc.Never the case before. "Inside room" Marbel floores and counter tops don't look as if they have been polished since the new owners took over, tub needed caulking, the no slip tub mat was yellowed and disgusting, toilet looked like it was caulked by a 2 year old, wallpaper pealing and what I fegure the reason for the smell the wall next to the bed was cracked and had wrinkled paint most likely from water damage that was just painted over. And finally the only parking is on street which wil cost you $24.00 a day. Very sad we loved this place. Skip it and Check out the Marquesa we stayed there after we checked out and it is a beautifull property with parking

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank sailone32003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed two nights at Heron House. The property was well landscaped and laid out. The pool was very refreshing after a day of sightseeing. Room was large and very nice. Could have used more ventilation in the bathroom though. The location was great: close to Duval Street but also central to a lot more in Key West. Staff was accomodating but could have been a bit more friendly. Overall a great place o stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JereG8763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

A nice quiet place. Rooms assigned was rather small. I know other rooms were larger. The staff was friendly. the location was good and a short walk to Duval st. and all the tourist attractions.
we booked again for November at time of check out, so that would tell you that we like the place. We travel to Key West five or six times a year. I'd recommend this place.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms tend to be the smaller rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MG2120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#5 of 51 in Key West
1,034 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#31 of 77 in Key West
474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#10 of 77 in Key West
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.2 mi away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#52 of 77 in Key West
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#22 of 77 in Key West
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heron House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heron House

Address: 512 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-6832
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $162 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heron House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private Retreat situated in the heart of Old Town; 1 block from Duval Street & 4 blocks from Hemingway House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heron House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing