We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grand Guesthouse
Ranked #19 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Terrific Place to stay!”
Reviewed September 15, 2005

We vacationed in Key West for 5 days and had a very pleasant stay at The Grand Guest House. We stayed in Room #4 and even though it was quite small, we were told that over the phone when booking our reservation so we knew exactly what to expect. We weren't planning to be in the room very much so it was exactly what we were looking for. And for $98 a night, it was an excellent deal! The room was nicely decorated with a tropical theme and was VERY CLEAN! Fresh linens and fluffy color-coordinated towels were provided daily. We enjoyed the spa/whirlpool a couple of times during our stay.

Our host, Alan, was very knowledgeable about the town and offered us excellent restaurant suggestions and walking tours. (We love Blue Heaven!) He was available whenever we needed recommendations. We can't say enough about Alan...he certainly made us feel right at home!

A continental breakfast was served daily in the lush garden area next to the spa/whirlpool. We enjoyed the delicious coffee and tasty muffins and breads!

We would definitely stay at The Grand Guest House again in the future. As long as you don't mind walking 5 blocks to Duval Street, it is a GREAT deal.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Key_West_Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    140
    30
    10
    5
See reviews for
52
450
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2005

Planning a trip to the Florida Keys? The Grand in Key West offers clean, cozy accommodations in a lush topical setting for surprisingly affordable rates. Located on a quiet residential street in Old Town within easy walking distance of Duval St., visitors can slip comfortably from their private palm-shaded patio to a nightlife rich with Cuban spices, colorful street dancers, lively music, and a wealth of galleries and specialty shops.

We found the Grand on a Web search and were tremendously impressed by the courtesy and thoroughness of the
receptionist who received our telephone reservation. That sentiment was amplified--in Key West style, of course--when we arrived in person.

Prices are reasonable. Off-season rates start at $98, shoulder season at $108, and peak season rates at $138,
including continental breakfast.

We had a wonderful time and recommend The Grand to others!

Helpful?
3 Thank NJCMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2005

My husband and I spent four days in Key West and, taking the advice of many other travelers on this website, stayed at The Grand Guesthouse. It was everything that was posted-extremely friendly and helpful staff, clean and cozy rooms, and good contintental breakfast. The only downfall that we saw was the distance of this B&B from the attractions. I do recognize that we went in the middle of the summer so even a mile walk felt like a hundred miles! We would have liked to stay closer to the attractions so that we could have cleaned up before meals but found that the distance also kept out unwanted noise. Overall, it was a wonderful trip and we would gladly stay there again (although our next trip will be earlier in the summer or during the winter months when it is a little cooler).

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srogers6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 20, 2005

The Grand B&B was absolutely fabulous!!!!

The staff was very personable and just wonderful to us and made us feel right at home.

They directed us to the most wonderful & delicious resturants and gave us great advice on what to do in the area.

Our room was quaint and just perfect for us. We didn't spend much time in the room since we were on vacation and wanted to be out and about.

The continental breakfast was good, enough to satisfy you until lunch time. The eating area was cute w/ talbes and chairs set up to make it feel comfortable and at home.

There hot tub felt great, it was never on because it was so hot, the sun warmed it up quite nicely.

My husband and I will be back very soon to Key West and when we come back, The Grand B&B is where we will stay.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 6, 2005

The Grand is a fabulous place to stay in Key West. The rooms are comfortable and beachy, and the atmosphere is cozy and relaxed. I loved its location on a quiet side street, making it a great place to retreat to. The breakfast is great, with a delicious spread. The hosts are friendly and very helpful in making sure you have the best stay possible. Not only would I recommend the Grand, I already have.

  • Stayed January 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2005

We stayed at the Grand the June 24 - June 26 and found it to be a great guesthouse for our needs. I booked a room with 2 queens, and was pleasantly surprised to find our room was actually 2 rooms, with a queen bed in each room. It was very spacious & clean. The decor was typical beachy, and even though the rooms are nestled in foliage, we got a lot of sun coming through the windows. The hosts were very friendly & informative, and when we checked in they mapped out where to go, what tours to take (and not take), restaurants & beaches.

The room had a microwave, sink, mini-fridge and coffee-maker (but curiously no coffee). Breakfast, which was from 8:30-10:30am, was laid out very well every morning with good standard fare: muffins, banana bread, bagels, toast, yogurt, fruit, hard-boiled eggs, o.j., coffee & tea.

The location on Grinnell St. was fine for us, it’s not in the middle of the action, but it’s not off the beaten track either. We could easily walk to restaurants & bars, and felt relatively safe walking home in the wee hours. When we asked about renting bikes, Alan quickly called our request in & our bikes were delivered to the Grand in a half hour. The island is so small, he recommended biking/moped-ing instead of driving.

Only a few minor criticisms: the Grand's pool is extremely small (we thought it was a large Jacuzzi at first glance), but given the property’s space, they did the best they could. As a previous poster noted, the envelope for gratuities was a little off-putting, it felt as if we were required to tip and tip well! The bathroom towels were decent, but the tub's enamel was worn and scratched. Everything else in the room was acceptable & pleasant, and I’d recommend the Grand Guesthouse to anyone visiting Key West.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pixie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 26, 2005

Just stayed at the Grand last week after picking it based on this site's reviews. As everyone on this site has indicated, the Grand is very clean, the staff are exceptionally nice & helpful & give wonderful recommendations, & the breakfast is simple & good. The drawbacks I would note are that I could hear the people above us walking around (they liked to do so late at night, which was the only reason I noticed); the hotel's written indication in the room that housekeeping tips are customarily 10 to 15% of the hotel bill (maybe I'm cheap, but I've never left a $40 housekeeping tip after two days); & some of the homes in the neighborhood surrounding the Grand are not well kept & the area gave us a bit an uneasy feeling. The Grand is w/i walking distance of the quieter end of Duval St, but be aware that it's about a 1/2 mile walk. Also there were mentions of great linens & towels on here, but I found them average at best. The towels were well used & were KMart's Martha Stewart brand, which is fine, but nothing exceptional.

The only reason I'm posting this review is because I expected a bit more w/regard to the accomodations based on this site's reviews. I rely heavily on this site when planning trips & appreciate the variety of opinions expressed. If rating the Grand solely on the owners, who were very kind, unobtrusive, & helpful, I would give it five stars, but judging it only based on the accomodations and cost I would say it's slightly above average as compared to a 2 star hotel (on a 4 star scale).

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.5 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Guesthouse

Property: The Grand Guesthouse
Address: 1116 Grinnell St, Key West, FL 33040-3206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old Town Key West, The Grand Guesthouse offers intimate accommodations for you to relax and recharge. We're a Frommer's Travel Guide Favorite, squeaky clean, comfortable, and affordable. All of our rooms feature local artwork and tropical decor, a small refrigerator, A/C & ceiling fan, cable television, a USB enabled alarm clock, and free wireless internet. A complimentary expanded continental breakfast is served every morning, and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Grand Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing